Wrapping Up

Say, Adrienne? Been shopping in Anne Milbauer’s closet again?

Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 10.01.55 AM

It’s a good thing she and Theresa are in separate storylines, or there might’ve been a shade-filled run-in in the living room. I’m enjoying Lucas and Adrienne’s chemistry — which feels more friendly than sexual, but I think that works given both their current places in life — but I’m not sure where any of this is headed. “Will they ever make it to the Waffle House?” isn’t the most compelling storyline for a soap opera, even if it is the throughline of most of my weekends.

The show continues to be much more watchable, albeit a little scattered. People are sort of popping up and disappearing mid-episode — which I don’t mind, but it always makes me wonder if I missed something. I didn’t expect Kyle to be killed and dragged away between episodes, but at least stuff is moving. God help me, but I’m actually finding this JJ storyline entertaining now.

Screen Shot 2015-09-03 at 10.08.35 AM

Finally we get a use of Clyde that actually works! The actor has always been good, but all these nebulous one-sided phone calls and vague threats have not been compelling. Weaving him into this drug storyline is great. And he’s so much better as a hands-on thug than some crime lord who stays in the shadows. He was downright terrifying in those scenes with JJ (and I loved his reaction to the JJ/Eve affair). The sense of impending disaster for all these people is palpable, and I love it.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Wrapping Up”

  1. fluffysmom Says:

    I really liked Clyde getting all excited and impressed that JJ hooked up with Eve. Clyde was probably jealous. I’m finally finding Clyde interesting. If only someone would go gunning after Clyde and Ben could get caught in the crossfire.

    I enjoy seeing Lucas more often now that he’s involved with Adrienne but I don’t see them as end game.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I don’t think there’s any world in which Lucas and Adrienne are endgame. I’m trying to see it as a showcase for two actors I enjoy and a chance for two characters to get some screentime.

      Clyde really has been more interesting! His reaction to JJ/Eve was all kinds of complicated, in a good way. He seemed sort of impressed, for sure.

  2. Mushka Says:

    I think that I’ve been in the minority on this one, but I have to say that I have always loved Clyde. I mean, he’s a completely despicable character, but I think the actor is phenomenal. And I agree that he’s become much more interesting lately. I love that he’s a criminal who gets his hands dirty. I found myself genuinely surprised when it was revealed that he was the one pummeling Aiden in the hotel room. Wow!

    Also, I never comment, but I wanted to say that I really enjoy reading your blog. It’s always funny and insightful!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thanks for commenting and for your kind words! Appreciate you reading.

      James Read has always felt underutilized as Clyde. He’s clearly a very strong actor who could be an asset to the show. His “romance” with Kate always felt half-baked to me — mostly because they never had her question him on things that Kate Roberts totally would! — and all that wandering around in the park making business calls that meant nothing didn’t help. Beating up Aiden in the hotel room was actually the first time he REALLY worked for me, and this JJ stuff was great, too. I still want him to pay for what he did to Jordan, because I thought it was skeevy for the show to let him more or less get away with that, and also strange that they didn’t pay it off. But the actor could have been playing a much stronger character all along.

      • Mushka Says:

        Oh yeah, I agree! There was so much build up with the Jordan past, too, that it was weird and gross that the show didn’t really do anything with it after it was revealed. He pretty much did get away with it, which is terrible. Ugh! But at least now his villainy is on full display (it felt muted and confusing before, like, “I know he’s bad, but is he really really bad? Is he trying to change, or something? And what the heck is going on with him and Kate?”), which is a scary thing to behold. I’m really looking forward to where the JJ/Clyde stuff goes.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Yeah, exactly. With him going to therapy and the fact that Kate seemed unconcerned with his past, it seemed like they wanted to make him more gray, which is pretty unacceptable once you’ve had the guy gloat about how he raped his 15-year-old stepdaughter!

  3. marypickford Says:

    Oooh, I loved Clyde in those scenes. And his reaction to the news about JJ and Eve was awesome. I give credit to the current writers for making good use of a bad storyline!

    I thought Adrienne looked cute in that dress. But I am still baffled as to why we didn’t get a Steve/Adrienne scene that day.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Adrienne looked great. It just jumped out to me after the commentary on Anne’s black-and-white wrap dress the other day. I actually thought JE looked terrific in her athletic gear in the park, too. I wish they’d dress everyone down more! I know the glamour in daytime is supposed to be aspirational, but when we’re seeing these people every hour of their never-ending days, some variance is nice.

      The re-positioning of Clyde has worked really well. He’s a very strong villain — not a misunderstood dad, not a lovable maniac, just a VILLAIN who can scare the crap out of people. I’m glad to see him used so effectively now.

    • Gavin Says:

      I’ve also been waiting for a Steve/Adrienne scene. Also wasn’t sure if Maggie greeting him like an old friend was appropriate? Like that Steve treats Victor like the old crim he was/still is.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Yeah, WHERE is our Steve/Adrienne interaction?!

        I wasn’t sure how to feel about Maggie greeting him. I guess their last real interaction was when he was married to Kayla and part of the whole Bope/J&J squad, so I guess it makes sense, even if he did walk out on Kayla sometime between 3 and 16 years ago…

  4. fluffysmom Says:

    I really wanted Kate to have a bigger revelation about Clyde and his similarities to Curtis. It could have been very interesting.

    I’m enjoying seeing a variety of Salemites interacting for a change. I hope it continues.

    • mykleraus Says:

      That’s one of the best things about these transition periods — the writers kind of throw everything up in the air, and we get to see where everybody lands. Some of these new interactions have been a real breath of fresh air!


Leave a Reply

