Career Day

Well, Tuesday’s episode was certainly subtle. (JK — this is Salem!)

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 9.39.07 AM

Nothing screams “transition episode” like everyone in town randomly deciding to switch career and/or life paths in the span of an hour. That said, I’m not mad at it. We need some fresh energy and new dynamics. Theresa has been stuck in this awful cycle of stupid schemes to get her hooks into Brady for months now, so to hear her profess an actual ambition was nice, even if it came out of absolutely nowhere. Abe sat Justin down to be like, “Hey, wanna be the DA?” and Justin was like, “Sure!” Nicole quitting her reporting job was less abrupt — I mean, as far as these things go — and that angle has never worked for me, so sayonara, Unnamed TV News Outlet! I was a little thrown when she made that comment about never having been happier than when she ran Titan… When the hell was that? When she had her husband “killed” for a few months? Kate’s side of things worked best for me, though I almost wish more had been made of her dumping Clyde. She alluded to having been with “losers,” but I wanted her to call out Curtis Reed by name and really acknowledge that she’d been duped again by the same sort of guy. It’ll be interesting to see how they cram these pieces into place, presumably to get Kate, Nicole, and Theresa all working together at Basic Black, but, um…

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 9.34.46 AM

I’m not confident that any of these women should be in charge of dressing themselves, let alone running a business that tells other people how to dress. Is there really a space in the market for that strange Venn diagram of streetwalker, Mad Hatter, and Paula Poundstone?

Speaking of Kate and Theresa’s outfits yesterday, I guess it was Floral Print Day:

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 9.38.39 AM

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 9.38.44 AM

Jennifer and Eve still haven’t learned not to walk through crowded public places with their eyes fixed completely on the ground. I guess that, no matter who’s writing or who owns which corporation, some things will never change.

(Please see me not mentioning Daniel’s goatee, BTW…)

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Career Day”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Speaking of prints…Anne’s dress. I’m not 100%, but I’m pretty sure it gave me seizures.

    And, I loved Theresa’s line “Basic Black doesn’t make wrap dresses, Anne!” HA!

    I know that there is no conceivable way that it should happen, but I don’t care. I soooo want to see Kate, Nicole and Theresa all work together to “run a company.” That would be entertaining.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Why is everyone always throwing shade at Anne wearing wrap dresses?? At least she doesn’t show up to work dressed like a hooker!

      • Jamie Says:

        I don’t hate Anne’s wrap dresses, I think they are a flattering look for her. I just think it’s funny how often they seem to reference them. That pattern though…

        Clearly, whoever is dressed Marlena doesn’t quite have the same eye for flattering looks. That black and white dress was NOT.

      • mykleraus Says:

        It’s hilarious to me how people are always calling out the wrap dresses but don’t mention how the rest of these women are running around like Tits McGee all the time.

    • fluffysmom Says:

      I’m excited about the prospect of Nicole, Kate and Teresa working together. It reminds me of the time when Sami, Nicole and Austin were working together.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Running “Austin Reed Industries” out of the living room (which is now Daniel’s)? That was fun/absurd and got cut way too short because Carrie returned.

        I agree — this could be fun.

  2. marypickford Says:

    I actually said the other day, after Nicole said she wanted to open a business, “Let’s hope it’s not a clothing store. ” Ha! Nicole looked good yesterday, but Kate! That jacket! I was appalled.

    I was disappointed in the Clyde/Kate scene too. I think both Clyde’s asseholishness and Kate’s dumping of him could have been better.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Kate can look bonkers sometimes, but Lauren Koslow can pull off edgier stuff. That jacket was just uggo, though.

      The breakup felt very perfunctory. Kate said the right stuff, but you could tell the new writers just wanted it finished.

  3. Mo Says:

    Kind of off-topic but speaking of rapid change how did Kyle go from smoldering rough trade yesterday to a red streak on the carpet in one scene?! They should have just left his pile of gaudy “drug dealer” jewelry. I’m going to kind of miss him though. He had more chemistry with JJ than Beige, er, Paige does!

    Don’t forget that Abe got his job back (again!) as mayor? And it didn’t take Justin long to assume his new role. He was already telling Rafe to throw the book at that DeMira kid today. And John is working for the ISA ? This reminds me of the time Brady and Shawn D. became mercenaries to go rescue Phillip from the “Unnamed Warzone”. Thinking something similar is going to happen to get Bo back. Maybe Caroline will her trademark puffy hiking vest in camouflage and join them?!

    I’m glad Theresa hasn’t moved on so quickly she forgot about Ann. I was worried they were writing her off! Like the always wasted “T” (Tad) and to a lesser extent Daniel/Jennifer cheerleader Maxine these side-characters provide a nice break from the same old faces.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Ahahahahaha, what if there was just a pile of rings and chains on the floor? Dead. I’m not 100% convinced Clyde really killed him — or, rather, I wouldn’t be shocked if Kyle pops up for one more burst of bloody revenge. We’ll see.

      That mercenary mission was INSANE. It was Shawn, Brady, Lucas, Rex, and STAN all going to Afghanistan-But-Not-Really to save Philip, who was a P.O.W…. in a war that Tony/André apparently was a major player in. This show…!

  4. lizlee Says:

    I kind of liked Jen and Eve’s dresses. They looked a bit retro/pop art. But what’s up with Jen and Kayla’s hair and makeup. Good grief! They both look so drab and messy in that department. When I remember Kayla’s beautiful hair and glowing face, Jen’s as well, back in the day, it makes me cringe. Yes, I realize they’re older, but come on! The hair and makeup people really need to do a better job. Both women are beautiful but you’d hardly know it.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I didn’t dislike either dress, but it was like someone realized florals were a thing and had to put everyone in them in one day. Jen’s makeup looks SEVERE to me. She looks so overdone for daytime hours. This show really has a way of making beautiful women (especially ones who haven’t hacked their faces to hell and back — I give Melissa Reeves a lot of credit for what appears to be gorgeous natural aging) look really bad.


Leave a Reply

