A New Days Has Come

It’s safe to say we are in a new era of Days of Our Lives now.

rsz_screen_shot_2015-08-29_at_52435_pm

Serena is dead, and not a minute too soon — and not just because I’ve completely run out of elephant puns. Melissa Archer was completely wasted, which was very evident in her scenes with Billy Flynn (Chad). She had the potential to play a really fascinating, gray character, an equal to Sami and Nicole, but the writing just wasn’t there. But I have to say, I really appreciate that the new writers are using her exit to create story. It’s so much more interesting to have been thrown that curveball of Serena/Chad and then have it spiral off into an event that will generate drama for people we know and love (and also Clyde), rather than just having her leave town. There’s no way on Earth that Chad actually killed her, but the setup for this is compelling, and it could be a real shot in the arm for the show.

Xander’s exit wasn’t nearly as well done or even logical, and I hate that Theresa gets away with sending someone to prison for attempted rape (there’s something very icky to me about shows depicting a woman lying about sexual assault when so many women who have suffered it have to fight just to be believed), but at least he’s gone. I do believe both Paul Telfer and the character could have done much, much more than they did, but I’m okay with them just letting this one go.

And then — and then!

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 5.38.27 PM

Steve! That death glare Kayla shot him was too perfect. I want him to have to work to win her back, which will be a nice flip on their 2006 return, when Kayla was chasing after him and he didn’t remember being Steve and kept pushing her away (which I suppose was an echo of their original story). I fully expected his appearance to be the end of the episode, since I’d seen the promo for the week, but that surprise shot of Bo at the end was really too good not to be a Friday cliffhanger.

And in case you missed that incredibly subtle (I think that’s the word for it) conversation between Kayla and Caroline, Joey is 16 now.

Screen Shot 2015-08-29 at 5.38.04 PM

We only saw him for about five seconds, but he’s a cutie, and he gave off the air of disgruntled teenager perfectly. I’m optimistic that we’ll have another Casey Moss/JJ on our hands here. Though it struck me as a little odd how Kayla was like, “BTW, I haven’t heard from my 16-year-old son in a week, and I’m just now finding that disturbing and wondering if I should call his school.” Ummmm.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

20 Comments on “A New Days Has Come”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    kudos for your sexual assault comment. this is so true. liars in general are repulsive. repellent. and people we do not wanna be around. ever.

    re kayla’s comment about not hearing from her son….i thought she WAS talking to someone on the phone……i guess i imagined she was talking to his school because it got my back up…i must have mis-watched/heard !!

    • mykleraus Says:

      She talked to the school, yeah. But it took Caroline being like, “Your teenage son has been missing for a week? Maybe check with the school?” It seemed very strange for Kayla to JUST start thinking about it after a week!

  2. marypickford Says:

    I think Xander deserved a better sendoff. In addition to what you say, it sticks in my craw that he was outsmarted by Theresa.The positive is that the door is open for a return, and he will come back hungry for revenge!

    I just heard that Dena Higley said that they “inherited” the murder of Serena, and they just took it in in a new direction. So that was the plan for her all along. I wonder if Xander was originally supposed to hang around. He’s a more natural suspect for her murder, and Nicole would naturally be worried she’d be next.

    Incidentally, reading this was a breath of fresh air for me after the last couple days. I watched people on a message board go from celebrating the improvements to the show for about a nanosecond, then devolve into screaming at each other in fanbase wars and airtime issues.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Oh, that’s interesting about Serena’s murder! This feels very New Regime. I wonder what the original plan would have been…I guess they knew she wasn’t working.

      Do I even want to know what fanbases are squabbling? Ugh.

      • marypickford Says:

        I would guess that they tweaked how it happened, maybe adding in the Chad angle. The original idea probably had more to do with Xander and the Eric/Nicole/Daniel triangle.

        It was actually a bit comical how it happened. A Chad/Abby fan made some kind of general complaint, and a bunch of people jumped on him/her, because they look to be featured heavily in big supercouple type story this fall. Which I agree with, but all these shipper gripes were coming to the surface about Aiden being killed or “thrown under the bus,” Ericole being possibly backburnered, Dena having a “hard-on” for Rafe, rumors of PR leaving and a Rafe/Hope pairing being “crammed down our throats,” Paulson never getting a chance, Will/Paul being “forced,” etc.

        Everyone agreed that the show is better, but not everyone can get what they want. After months of a bad show and people having their hopes up regarding their little corner of Salem, that reality is sinking in.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Agh. Yeah. The show is never going to be satisfying if you come at it from the perspective of “I’ll only enjoy this is X and Y happen.” All I want is to be entertained!

      • marypickford Says:

        Well, obviously you’re crazy. 🙂

        I admit to some worry about Eric and Nicole. I do love them and there hasn’t been much indication, on screen or off, as to what their story will be – or even if they are the story at all.

        But I’d much rather have a good show overall, than a crappy show where my X and Y happens.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I’m a little concerned on the Eric/Nicole front, too, just because it has been SUCH a promising story, and I’m not sure what happens next. I do think that they’re writing Nicole/Daniel way too lovey-dovey and functional for them to be endgame.

  3. fluffysmom Says:

    It sounded like Kayla dropped Joey off at the bus station to go to school in Ohio. Apparently she didn’t bother to call or text and make sure he made it there. Kinda weird.

    I agree about being happy with an improved show. They can’t please every fan base at the same time. People need to realize that. I’d be pleased if Ben and Clyde receive a permanent exit.

    • mykleraus Says:

      She even said something to Caroline like, “It’s been a week, and he hasn’t returned any of my calls or texts.” Um, you’re JUST getting concerned now?!

  4. otherweb1 Says:

    HALLE-FUCKING-LUJAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    A new Days has definitely come!!!!! Or more like, the Old Days has FINALLY come back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I can’t even explain how stoked I am! I unfortunately saw a spoiler a few weeks back about Steve >:-| But at least I luckily didn’t know WHEN it was coming. I literally threw my hands over my face and gasped when he walked in!!!! And started half laughing half crying, and looking up saying thank you god, thank you god! LOL! This is what watching this show every single day for 3 decades does to you! Let’s just say my Steve reaction had the exact same intensity as my The Shave reaction, except on the elated end of the spectrum vs. the horrified! I can’t even imagine what my reaction would have been if I didn’t see that crummy spoiler! And there could not have been a more PERFECT opening line … “Hi Sweetness.” !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    And Bo!!! STEVE and BO in the SAME episode????!!!!!! Instant coronary!

    I’m still reeling from Steve and Bo that I don’t even know how to comment on the rest of the week, other than to say it has all been so fantastic and I get so stoked to watch every day now!!!! Vs. the past couple of years where I was always nervous to watch because I wasn’t sure how the old writers were going to screw things up next!

    WELCOME BACK DAYS!!!!!! 🙂 🙂

    • mykleraus Says:

      I don’t even have any kind of major attachment to Steve or Steve/Kayla, but I teared up when he walked in. It just felt like a signal that someone gives a crap about making sure this is the real Days of Our Lives. And thank goodness they had him open with, “Hi, Sweetness.”

      • otherweb1 Says:

        When Patch “died” back in the 80s, I recorded on my VCR the whole thing … like 2 weeks worth! And I watched it all back like 2 or 3 times! LOL. Grant it I was only like 16 yrs old, but still! And I still remember their song! I learned to play it myself on the piano! HAHAHAHA

      • mykleraus Says:

        I wish I’d been old enough to have paid attention during that whole era!

      • fluffysmom Says:

        Steve’s return has energized the show for me. I’m glad to see him asking questions about Bo. It’s about time.

      • mykleraus Says:

        It’s really breathed some energy into stuff. And our focus is FINALLY on some different things!

  5. rustyspigot Says:

    So Steve’s next person to go to is Hope? What about your sister, Adrienne? Maybe Caroline can have another prophetic dream who Steve will visit next.

    • mykleraus Says:

      That was… very weird, yeah. Does he even know Adrienne is around?!

    • ADW Says:

      I was thinking the exact same thing, why Steve hasn’t visited Adrienne, his sister yet? 😕 Will Steve tell Lucas that Adrienne and Justin are soulmates and will find their way back to each other again OR will he knock Mad Dog D.A. off his high horse? 😉
      Caroline should talk to someone about her dreams…It’s about freakin time somebody gets a brute squad to find/rescue Bo! Of course, leave it to Steve ask questions and know Bo better than anyone else. Remember Victor didn’t know Bo was his so until Bo was an well into adulthood and they didn’t start off on the right foot. Hope hasn’t been herself these past few years, hopefully that will change.
      Chad needs to have Marlena put him under hypnosis to help him remember what happened that night Sarena was strangled.
      I’m so exstatic to see vets have more screen time again: Victor, Stefano (standing up now), Kayla, Hope, Steve, Maggie, Julie, Caroline…we even saw Abe and Roman Nominal for longer than 2 seconds. 😀

      • mykleraus Says:

        It’s sort of hilarious how people are just now like, “Oh, maybe Bo didn’t just abandon his wife and children! Hmm!” I know the previous writers were in a crappy situation and wanted to leave it open for Reckell to return, but they didn’t do any of the characters any favors with the way his departure was done.

        I would love to see Marlena hypnotize Chad! It’s a good mix of dramatic and totally wackadoo.


Leave a Reply

