It’s Been a Long Day Without You, My Friend

What’s with Justin announcing to Adrienne that they got a letter from Sonny, while Will bemoans to Marlena that he hasn’t even heard from his estranged husband yet?

Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 8.23.44 AM

Will everyone just calm down? Either Sonny slipped that thing under the door before he left town 20 hours ago, or he used Amazon Prime to send them a note saying something like, “At my layover at Newark now. United sucks. P.S. So does Will!”

In semi-related news:

– Justin and Eve. I think I could get into it. If nothing else, it’s a fresh dynamic and a fun diversion. I was a little confused by their scene at first, wondering if they were supposed to know each other (they should know each other), but then he called her by name. Let’s see where this goes.

– Didn’t Victor tell Adrienne, like, yesterday — the same day Sonny left town! — that she could stay in the mansion but was in no way allowed to bring Lucas there? And then she turns right around and hangs out in the living room with him. What if there had been a staged attempted rape in progress?! This is one situation in which meeting in the park would actually make sense, so of course they didn’t.

– Lucas’s new buzzcut:

Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 8.23.28 AM

I dig it, I think. His hair had actually been looking pretty cute lately, but I don’t mind this. (Apologies to Bryan Dattilo for the screencap — since they pulled Days off Hulu, I’ve had to use the NBC.com player, and it’s horrible, and I didn’t have the emotional strength to try and replay the scene to get a better one.)

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “It’s Been a Long Day Without You, My Friend”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    buzzzzz cut: nooooooooo. horrible. and what is with everyone in town staying at victors with his stupid rules and regs???? can;t anyone find their own places??? are they not adults?
    is victor’s place the new salem inn? why am i freaking out over this??

    • mykleraus Says:

      It drives me insane how so many people on this show are always so eager to live in the homes of people who hate them or whom they hate. How is that fun?!

  2. Mo Says:

    Its never good to have to explain things FOR the writers but I wondered if maybe “Salem Time” didn’t jump ahead a week or so early this week? The last “morning” when Ben and Abby were eating pancakes maybe? All of a sudden they were getting letters from Sonny, Ari was talking, Will had pulled himself together enough to talk to Abby about something other than himself, Caroline was getting out of the hospital and Nicole had the time to plan and execute a civil lawsuit. It seemed like a lot had gone down “off camera” to the point it made me wonder if it wasn’t awhile later.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think you’re on to something. Usually it’s very clear that it’s the next day, but something about that felt like a jump.

      • ADW Says:

        Speaking of “jump” some footage of Adrienne and Lucas’s bungee jump would have been far more compelling than just having them taking about it in that trite parkette set afterwards. Adrienne’s hair still looked perfect. Seriously, whatever happened to “adventure.”

      • mykleraus Says:

        That drove me nuts. I know they can’t show bungee-jumping, but don’t tease us like that, then! In the grand scheme of things, it’s not a big deal, but it just reminds you of what they can’t show.

    • ADW Says:

      I fail to try to comprehend the skewed Salem Time anymore. Seasons are also muddled as characters often dress inappropriately in the winter.
      Ari is 4 years younger than Parker yet she seems far more receptive and has spoken more than him at this point.
      I’m digging Lucas’s shorter hair too. I think Bryan Datillo is eternally cute. 😀
      Justin and Eve were in town at the same time first time Eve was in Salem; I’m pretty sure Justin and Eve crossed paths but, I don’t recall how. Overall, I’m digging the unlikely interactions: Eve/Justin, Chad/Sarena, Xander/Theresa-even though they met once very briefly. Also, some characters actions have surprised me lately such Chad telling Abie the whole truth in front of Stefano. How many thousands of times has Stefano disowned his kids? I think I can chalk up some of the abrupt twists and turns to the shift in the writing/production team. It was blantant bc there was some lack fluidity and some poor time management in some areas such as Sonny’s departure. On the other hand, I appreciate some jaw dropping moments that had me stunned such as Theresa’s “rape” stunt on the couch w/ Xander; its refreshing to see after so much predictability in the past several months. Now Paige needs to hurry up and scamper off to Stanford or any place else soon. I like Paul and I’m sad to say his future in Salem seems ominous to me. Paul is just sort of just hanging there at the moment as he occasionally is bonding with John and missing Sonny. I think they could utilize Paul as a solid 2nd tier, supporting character, he coach the High School baseball team and work for Basic Black. I just hope he doesn’t get paired up with Will because that would make me violently ill–too bad I think we finally saw the last of Derrick. Thanks Will, you single handedly drove away half the gays on Days. 😡

      • mykleraus Says:

        I worry what they’re going to do with Paul, too. A Paul/Will pairing sounds vomitous to me right now, but I think Christopher Sean is fantastic and want them to find something good for him to do.

        I knew Eve and Justin had to have at least MET, considering they were both in town for years together, so I was thrown when that scene started out like they were strangers. But then he said her name, so it’s all good. I always think those unexpected interactions inject a quick dose of excitement into the show. If two people who rarely interact wind up in a scene together, I’m paying attention. It’s such an easy (and affordable!) way of keeping the show fresh.

        Salem time is ridiculous. I should learn my lesson, but I haven’t after 20 years…

  3. underyourwing Says:

    the bunging jumping reference was about as believable as caroline going on those rides at disneyland…..sorry. the budget sucks obviously. in the old Days they had outdoor helicopter shots and all kinds of cool shit…..
    now we get mentions of stuff you know would never go down.
    so to speak…..

  4. underyourwing Says:

    you are so right……ruminating over the past does no good.
    eyes ears mouth and spirit Forward…..Ho….


Leave a Reply

