50th Anniversary Preview

People.com just posted an exclusive first look at the Days of Our Lives 50th anniversary celebration. Watch the video at the link, if you’re so inclined (there are lots of spoilers in it), and then come behind the cut for discussion…

Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 1.46.27 PM

Screen Shot 2015-08-27 at 1.46.06 PM

First of all, because I’m a total sap, I’m weeping at this. But it actually feels meaningful and epic! The music, the pacing, the onscreen text — why don’t the weekly promos look like this?! For once, we don’t have that bored NBC announcer intoning, “Happy Bicentennial, Hope,” before falling asleep. This is so fun!

Things we can infer from this:

  • Bo has been in captivity and breaks free.
  • Hope doesn’t immediately accept Aiden’s marriage proposal.
  • The killer attacks Marlena.
  • Julie breaks a bottle over someone’s head — is that Sonny?! And they’re in Hope and Bo’s living room!
  • André has Sami abducted, or at least momentarily snatched and brought to him.
  • Someone in a nightgown (Jennifer? Abigail?) swings around and stabs an attacker in the Horton living room.
  • Chad and Abigail are 100% getting the supercouple edit in this clip, and I like it.

I’m pretty sure all of the above are new clips that have yet to air, but I could be wrong. I’m so excited by this. Even the fact that they took the time and effort to put this together says a lot about how the show feels about what’s coming up. I don’t want to be much more spoiled than I am by this promo, which really teases more than tells anything big, but it’s been a long while since I was this pumped to watch what’s coming up on Days.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “50th Anniversary Preview”

  1. Tony Says:

    So this is all tomorws episode ? Lol jk . Enough to remind me why I’m excited for what’s to come without giving too much away

  2. Robbiemac Says:

    Can anyone tell me if any of the characters are married in real life? Doug and Julie perhaps? Thanks!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Doug and Julie (Bill Hayes and Susan Seaforth Hayes) are married IRL and have been for decades. I can’t think of any others off the top of my head. Arianne Zucker (Nicole) used to be married to the first Brady (Kyle Lowder) and has a kid with him, but they’re divorced and she’s now dating Shawn Christian (Daniel). I think JJ and Paige might be dating IRL, too…

      • Robbiemac Says:

        Thanks for the info! So Nicole and Daniel’s steamy scenes haven’t been all acting, huh? JJ and Paige seem made for each other, I guess. It seems to me that Chloe and Shawn D are together IRL, too. Those two ought to make really cute babies!

      • mykleraus Says:

        I wonder if she has to shave him in real life, too. (Ew.)

        Chloe and the second Shawn D. were together for a LONG time — and they were really sweet together — but they broke up and she recently married someone else. I’m glad she’s happy, but the thought makes me a little sad!

  3. marypickford Says:

    This preview pumped me up too! I couldn’t resist watching. Julie smashing someone over the head! Bo held captive! I was even excited to see Shawn D, even though I never really liked him. And Billy Flynn is going to rock this storyline too. Mixing it up with the big shots!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I LOVE that they’re giving BF material with this weight. They’ve needed to do this for the ‘kids’ for a long time.

      I was crying by the end, no joke. Seeing Shawn and Bo and Steve… Marlena’s quote at the end… it was too much.

  4. Mo Says:

    I’m pretty sure that’s JJ getting hit over the head with the wine bottle! More pot brownies?! This was very cool. Let’s just hope it’s the shows shot in the arm it needs and not its swan song!

  5. Jamie Says:

    CHILLS! Every time I watch it, and there have been many since yesterday, I get chills!!!! Oh man, it really reminds me of DAYS in it’s prime and how much I miss the show it used to be! Hope we get at least a small part of that old magic back!!!


Leave a Reply

