The Week The Whole World Changed

Okay, maybe that’s overstating it a bit, but boy, is Salem feeling different in the span of a single week! Exhibit A:

Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 10.32.53 AM

The exterior of Hope’s house! We haven’t seen this in forever. You can tell they did it on a smaller scale, using the greens to box everything in, but instead of looking cramped, it looks lush. The lighting helps, too. If this is any indication of the new producers’ work: thank you!

In fact, everything with Hope and Aiden this week was terrific. It went back to the darkness of their trip to the Puget Sound (a body of water where everyone in Portland has a second home, apparently). I’m still not crazy about the idea that Aiden is going to turn out to be a lunatic after all — and that isn’t a spoiler, just speculation based on that anvilicious conversation between Hope and Julie about what a good man he is — but there was a grit to him this week that I really enjoyed. This feels like a “second act” relationship for both him and Hope, which I appreciate. She’s carrying the weight of her great love with Bo, and he’s dragging around the wounds of his own past. And while I’m beyond sick of Clyde and his vague “business” dealings and his oddly detailed surveillance of everyone’s children and grandchildren, he at least felt threatening this week, much like he did around the time of Sonny’s stabbing.

There were also some great, extended scenes that weren’t really about driving story, which are always welcome.

Screen Shot 2015-08-22 at 10.29.36 AM

Friday’s scenes with Caroline, Victor, and Maggie were absolutely compelling to me. None of it was new ground, exactly, but it was addressed in such a complex and emotionally mature way. There was clearly an undercurrent of story motivation there, seen in Victor’s e-mail exchange with the doctor and all the talk of hearing from Bo, but mostly, these were just interesting scenes addressing the complicated relationships among three people with decades of history. The John/Marlena scenes felt the same way: obviously moving some pieces into place, but instead of just racing to the destination in the most perfunctory manner, they took their time to explore the conflicts between the two of them and how their years of experience affect their perspectives moving forward. Really watchable stuff.

Of course, this was the same week that featured this atrocity:

Screen Shot 2015-08-21 at 7.52.05 AM

At first, I was worried Adrienne was the first victim of a new serial killer who performed autopsies on people who were still alive, but nope, just an ugly dress. All it makes me think of are boobs and murder — which, I guess, could work as an alternate title for this show at most times. Boobs & Murder, starring Sami Brady! Anyway, I’m just going to tell myself that, even though the wardrobe department doesn’t seem to have been replaced, this awfulness was a leftover vestige of the outgoing regime and there are less sartorially displeasing Days ahead (yeah, right).

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “The Week The Whole World Changed”

  1. Farah Says:

    This is the most excited for Days since 2011! I’m also really scared. I’ve watched Josh Griffith and Dena Highly’s previous work. They always start strong, and then it devolves into Josh getting boring and needlessly dark, and Dena getting stupid and campy. I don’t know how those mix. Lol. I guess, we’ll have to wait and see.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m VERY excited for the upcoming/ongoing changes. I’m also dubious about the writing transitions, just because it seems very difficult for any regime to sustain momentum. TomSell’s late 2012-early 2014 was very, very good soap, and then it nosedived pretty fast. It seems like, at the least, we’re going to get a few months of fun stuff. Fingers crossed for beyond that.

  2. ADW Says:

    The best part about this past week other than more writing for the vets was no Dr. Taniel Bogus in site. This was only the second time ever where has was off screen for 5 consecutive “Days.” 😀
    I agree Adrienne’s dress was such a hideous bloody mess, she looked like a waking maxi pad.

  3. marypickford Says:

    I may have let out a squeal when I saw the outside of Hope’s house. I think I’ve even seen Adrienne wear that dress once before, so someone saw it on screen and said “Oh, that’s nice.” Scary!

    I’m determined to enjoy the show as much as I can for the next 6 months to a year. I think (fingers crossed) we’ve got a good ride ahead of us for at least that long. Like you say, I think headwriters have a shelf life, they burn out or run out of ideas. I hope that won’t happen with this team, but a good soap for even 6 months is better than nothing.

    • Farah Says:

      Even in Days golden period (the 80s) they changed head writers pretty regularly. In that time they at least had the same focus. None of the head writers in the past 15 years have had that. The show has felt so schizophrenic.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I really miss the long-term plotting. TomSell were actually doing great with that in 2012-13, with the Kristen and Nick stories, and then we backslid into a whole bunch of generic mess. I’m really hopeful that the new writers came in with some sort of longer-term vision for the canvas as a whole.

    • mykleraus Says:

      That’s my feeling — the transition will be fun, so I’m going to enjoy that. And good setup can really give the show momentum for another year or two.

  4. Robbiemac Says:

    I just wanted to say, mykleraus, that I so appreciate your posts! They are succinct, thought-provoking, and you obviously use spell check! I agree with you most of the time and even when I don’t’, I find myself loving your quick wit! Thank you for this forum for us DOOL fans to stay in touch, up-to-date, and providing a laugh or two in the otherwise tense “other world” in which we exist!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Thank you! It’s a huge compliment that anyone even bothers to read this. Half the fun for me is interacting with people in the comments, so thanks for participating.

  5. Jamie Says:

    Somehow, I ended up 9 episodes behind, so I’m still playing catch-up. I’m watching Thursday (8/20) as I type this.

    Adrienne’s dress. When I was a kid we had these big plastic/vinyl mats with pictures in black and white and then you could color on them with markers and (supposedly) wipe them clean. That’s what her dress reminds me of. Like one of those mats that someone had colored in part of it and then got bored.

    Can we start an online petition to keep Xander on the show as the gardener? And, for the contract to stipulate that he remain sweaty, angry and shirtless the whole time?

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yes about those coloring mats!!! That’s so spot-on. I’m dying.

      I have to say, I’m not mad about Xander hulking around shirtless and sweaty all the time.


Leave a Reply

