What Happened in Salem: Week of August 3rd

University Hospital continued its legendary streak of botched paternity tests…

Abigail said she would consider Ben’s marriage proposal, which is exactly the romantic answer a man imagines receiving after his father stuffs a ring in his hand and tells him proposing would be a good idea. Chad warned his own father, international supervillain Stefano DiMera, to stop being so damn concerned with Chad’s non-relationship with a junior hospital administrator, because he won’t stand for the interference; Stefano countered by threatening to tell Abigail about some heretofore-unknown indiscretion Chad had involving someone named Ravello. The lab tech whom Clyde threatened started to run the paternity test, only to be interrupted and have to rush out mid-procedure. His helpful (nosy) colleague came into the lab, saw the test in progress, and decided to finish it. As the results were delivered to Kayla and Abigail, an incensed Clyde insisted that the technician fix this situation. He called Kayla in the nick of time and re-ran the test, which told Abigail that Ben is the father.

Check out the full recap to see What Happened in Salem this week!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

16 Comments on “What Happened in Salem: Week of August 3rd”

  1. Gavin Says:

    Serious question: have Kate and Marlena been “friends for years”? Obviously they’ve known each other for years but I wouldn’t have described them as friends. But then I did miss a chunk of years in the 00s.

    • Jamie Says:

      They were friends from way back. When Kate first came “back” to Salem, she had known Marlena and they were good friends. Since that time, I’d describe them more as frenemies.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Pretty much. They’ve played fast-and-loose with that friendship ever since Lauren Koslow took over the part, that’s for sure. I don’t think I’d refer to someone as my friend if they’d had my daughter sent to Death Row, but hey, what do I know?

  2. Jamie Says:

    “I thought your knees would’ve been the first to give out” – That Victor…he can slut-shame with the best of them. LOL

    So, Chad was going to a board meeting and asked Kayla about seeing her there and she said “I won’t be there, my department doesn’t have anything on the agenda.” I thought Kayla was the chief-of-staff, is that not so? Wouldn’t the chief-of-staff pretty much be at every board meeting?

    I like how Chad is the only one in Salem who calls Abigail Abbey. But, when she was talking to herself, while waiting for the test results, she called herself Abbey. Awwww. I thought that was kind of sweet. She LURVES him.

  3. otherweb1 Says:

    Barring having to suffer through the ridic Chloe scenes, I am shocked to say that I oddly had a really good week with things! The only outrage I can report on is Caroline wearing the same color lilac in the same scene with Theresa. Oh, and Kate’s “outfit,” which has me convinced there was a thunderstorm in Salem that morning that obviously knocked out the lights while she was getting dressed.

    Billy Flynn needs to brush up on how to play drunk, but I’ll give him a pass. I may be in the minority, but I really truly dug the Abby/Chad/Ben story all week. Grant it it’s a bore that it’s a WTD SL and yet another paternity switch. I guess it was Kate Mansi’s play of all the emotional turmoil … it just gave me the good old feel of Days. By no means do I think the week was 5 star, but it gives me hope of what hopefully is to come with the new regime.

    • otherweb1 Says:

      Although, it’s dawning on me that it was probably sweeps week? If so, then I’m bummed because that might be the only reason it was a pretty good week and now things are going to go right back down the crapper.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Kate’s hair was blending into her top. I was dying. I do like her hair wavy, though!

      I think Billy Flynn is doing a great job. There was a little fake-drunkenness to those scenes, but the emotions worked. That story is definitely working now, at least.

  4. underyourwing Says:

    well, all i can add is i would like to smack clyde in his unctuous face with a 40 pound dead mackerel.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I am SO SICK OF HIM, but at least him manipulating Ben’s personal life is more useful than having conversations in the woods about “the trucking business”…

      • underyourwing Says:

        what i would love to see in the woods his is decomposing body.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Well, now that Nicole has Parker to unload all of her innermost thoughts on (poor kid), she’s passed the park-bench-soliloquy baton on to Clyde.

      • mykleraus Says:

        How fucked-up was that?! “Let me talk to you (while you stare into space) about your step-grandpa who used to be my husband and how he’s hired a homicidal maniac as his gardener!”

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Poor Parker … his step-mother is also his ex-step-step-grandmother …

      • mykleraus Says:

        It kills me that this marriage will be the SECOND time Nicole has been Melanie’s stepmother!


Leave a Reply

