All Up In Your Business

You know what always gets me in an amorous mood? Two senior citizens grilling my maybe-partner and me about the status of our relationship and then forcing us to kiss in a photograph!

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 9.49.33 AM

How fucked-up of Julie and Doug was that?! I expect it out of her, but then Doug just went along with it like this was perfectly normal behavior, and neither John nor Marlena flung their bowls of clam chowder at them and told them to cram it.

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 9.49.54 AM

“The rumors were flying!” “We were getting so many voicemails!” Who has even seen John and Marlena together long enough to figure out whether they’re officially reunited, let alone notify a pair of globetrotting loons like these two? I’m so sure that Maxine was like, “I’d better let Julie Williams know that John went an entire 43-second scene without telling Marlena she’d betrayed him!” I can’t make up my mind as to whether these were rewritten or newly inserted scenes. They definitely didn’t feel organic to any particular story — and neither did this pairing of couples — but it could’ve just been the outgoing regime’s way of plugging in some scenes to fill Hogestyn and Hall’s contract guarantees while making up for the way they’ve completely fumbled their reunion.

Speaking of fucked-up…

Screen Shot 2015-07-23 at 9.57.42 AM

You don’t even have to be as big a perv as me to have read those JJ/Kyle scenes in a, er, different way than I think the show intended. Kyle’s all, “Turn around,” and then gets to frisking JJ. Kyle sinks out of frame, we cut to another scene, and then we come back and JJ is all, “Satisfied? I do admire how thorough you are!” Not to be gross, but there’s a show I’d consider watching.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

21 Comments on “All Up In Your Business”

  1. marypickford Says:

    Didn’t Kyle make a reference to foreplay before all that too? What did we say on TWoP? Homo-yay? I forget, something like that. 🙂

  2. underyourwing Says:

    spot on post! exactly. THAT. so sick of everyone on that show butting the fuck into everyone else’s BIZ…..they grilled them like they were hamburgers……

    regardevous: Kyle: doesn’t he have a kinda sort John Cassavetes thing goin’ on…or is it just me?

    • mykleraus Says:

      I could see it. At times I get the impression that he’s purposely deepening his voice — he sort of stiffens up when speaking in an awkward way. I like him way more than Ben, Clyde, Serena, WILL, or a bunch of the other dead weight, though!

      • underyourwing Says:

        i do too….too bad they made him a ‘bad’ guy…..they should keep him on this mess of a show.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Why is it that the tertiary or limited-arc characters tend to work so much better than the leads they try to push on us? Anne, Rory, Bev, Maxine, T, Kyle — they all came about organically and have me much more interested in a lot of the other crap going on.

      • Dylan Says:

        Is there anything interesting happening on the show at all right now? All I see is boooooring…. I stopped watching the show entirely a few weeks ago and it seems like even the Will and Sonny storyline is going nowhere, despite the fact that Sonny is supposed to leave soon.

        I completely agree, I always find myself wanting to see the tertiary characters more than the (generally unbearable) contracted ones!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Ummmmm, not really. The Abigail and Nicole storylines both finally got semi-interesting, mostly because you can tell they’re being pushed along for the purposes of writer transition. It IS sort of fun watching Daniel finally be the obvious third wheel in a triangle…

  3. Gavin Says:

    That scene with Doug/Julie/John/Marlena! The four of them crammed into that tiny booth ignoring all that delicious looking cake. And, yeah, who would ring Julie while she’s away about John and Marlena? And then that kiss! It made my stomach turn.

    I’m sure there is some history between the four of them that warrants such a supposedly strong friendship. Maybe back in the 70s, when Doug and Julie still had storylines, some involved Marlena? Even so, I can’t remember the last time I saw any of them interact – and now John and Marlena are top of Doug and Julie’s BFF list? Crazy. But actually, I also loved it.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I remember them interacting in broad, general ways, and they’re all Days mainstays, so the interaction is nice. It could’ve been at least semi-organic if they had run into each other at the Pub and sat down to catch up. As it was, it was as if Julie had organized a lunch date to harass them about their relationship status. So forced.

  4. underyourwing Says:

    thank dog for that!!! srsly.

  5. otherweb1 Says:

    Every time Julie gets going I think of the comment EJ made a year or two ago about how she’s gone on one too many murder mystery cruises!!! LOL!!! As long as I ignored the content and dialogue and 2-seater, I was able to really enjoy the scene as 4 veteran actors/characters/couple all in the same scene. But please, couldn’t the prop girl have at least eaten 1/2 of everyone’s cake??!!! It looked completely ridic to have them eating food, then the dessert comes out that no one’s touched and John and Marlena leave without even touching it. WTF?

  6. otherweb1 Says:

    LOL on the perv interpretation of the JJ/Kyle scene. I hadn’t come anywhere near to going there! But now I see I definitely had reason to! Thanks for pointing it out! lol.

    OK, so Kyle …. I have to say good job to casting for getting someone who can look so slimeball … the god awful necklaces and ring are icing on the cake, even if they are yet another example of bad costuming.

    Anne was priceless with bad mouthing Abigail and then Clyde telling her she may be his daughter in law. Bev def needs to be more central … telling Paige off! “If you’re gonna cry about it” with the motion to the eyes with her hand. Priceless! I’m nervous T is gone because the first reference to him in months was just a phone call about why he couldn’t make the basketball game because he’s whipped.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The styling for Kyle is spot-on. The hint of facial hair, the jewelry — it tells you who the character is very quickly. Which makes me wonder why they can’t do that with the regular characters!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Oh, and T is gone. 😦 The actor confirmed it. I think he chose to stop booking days on Days. He also just had a baby with his girlfriend, which seems so weird to me because he looks 18.


Leave a Reply

