What Happened in Salem: Week of July 13th

As Abigail received some troubling test results…

Stefano told Chad that the reason he’s so eager to see his son back with Abigail is because Abigail is about to inherit a very valuable piece of land in Ireland from her dying former nanny, which is one of two things: a cover story so stupid that Chad must have a brain tumor for real if he buys it; an actual story so stupid that the writers must have brain tumors if they expect the viewers to buy it.

Check out the entire recap to find out What Happened in Salem this week!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

20 Comments on “What Happened in Salem: Week of July 13th”

  1. Dan Says:

    So much to deal with.

    I liked the flashbacks of Adrienne and Justin, as well. I like that it covered their entire history together including both the present run and the 80s/90s run. It was also nice to use their wedding vows, which I hadn’t heard before. When they focused on Adrienne’s need for trust in those vows, I considered how powerful the current story is. Adrienne grew up with Duke, a man who beat her mother and raped her. Playboy Justin was probably her first serious relationship and because of her history with men, I could see why Justin couldn’t be trusted. This incident with Elsa has probably brought up some of Adrienne’s deep seeded issues. As usual, Kurth and Evans were phenomenal.

    The Ireland story has me scratching my head. I do remember Jen and Abby returning in 2000 or 2001 on the boat in Ireland. I think that’s when Colin Murphy arrived. I have no problem with them establishing that Abby is going to inherit this legacy, but it feels like Stefano has pushed longer than this story should have for this secret. Anyway, I thought the whole point was simply to have somewhere for Abby to hide during her pregnancy, but let’s see where this is going.

    Despite my lack of interest in Paige, I like that J.J. is becoming involved with the feds. It’s a story I typically wouldn’t be for, but I think it will work for J.J. As a reformed bad boy, this will put him in an interesting position. Also, since he is taking down Clyde, there is likely to be impact on the Abigail/Ben situation and I like when things get messy. I suspect we are finally getting the story we would have gotten with J.J. had the original Ben/Jordan story been completely greenlighted. In the audition script for Ben, Ben and J.J. were involved in making music together while Abigail was concerned that Ben was involved in the drug scene. I think this was the conflict we were suppose to get a year ago instead of Paige and J.J. and their epic love story set during community service.

    Mansi’s doing great with Abigail’s personal agony. Flynn is doing great with his personal torment over loving Abigail and hating himself for it. Even Wilson isn’t bothering me that much these DAYS.

    Eve’s plot to convince Jen she is nuts is a bit slow, but I hope it works. I would love to see both women given some meaty material to deal with.

    The Nicole angst is wonderful. I hope it continues. I liked the beat of Nicole threatening to have Aiden file a civil suit against Serena and Xander. I also just really like Xander and hope he gets away. Why can’t miracle man Daniel magically learn that Xander has a brain tumor and save him? Because, then, we know what Daniel’s next storyline would be…

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m not really reading specific story spoilers, but Abigail needing to hide out in Ireland during the pregnancy makes sense. This whole land thing confuses the hell out of me — why does Stefano care?! I’m hoping this is a Tomsell thing that gets swept away quickly. (Also, couldn’t Abigail go to Downtown Africa with Bill or something?)

      They’ve definitely injected actual life into the Abigail/Chad and Nicole/Eric storylines, though. I’m appreciating that. It actually feels like there are stories to tell there and not just content to fill space between commercials.

      • Dan Says:

        I wasn’t reading any specific spoilers. I just figured they were using the Ireland plot point for Abigail to go away and figure out her pregnancy. Given that Bill was just mentioned, he has a history with bastard children, sending Abigail to Downtown Africa as a way to reintroduce him for the anniversary.

        I’m assuming there is some sort of natural resource under the land that Stefano is looking to take advantage of. I’m just thrilled that Stefano isn’t aligning himself with ISIS to take down John and Marlena.

      • mykleraus Says:

        LOL. I’m sure he will be by January…

        I have no idea what to make of this Ireland thing. It’s really tough for me to believe that Stefano DiMera would EVER want some natural resource so badly, after all the shit he’s done.

  2. Gavin Says:

    Hurray for flashbacks but it would’ve been nice for them to make more of them, especially given Adrienne and Justin’s duration on the show. But I guess they weren’t going to be all “remember that time you knocked Anjelica up?”

    • mykleraus Says:

      Hahaha. “Remember the time Emilio caused your building to collapse?” (or whatever the hell happened there).

      • Shea Says:

        I think it would be “remember that time you tried to kill Emilio in the Curtis stables after you discovered our affair but you wound up getting caught in your own trap and could have been paralyzed for life”…..that would be a little too much for Judi to deliver when she has her cry on.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Yes! There we go. Thanks.

        And I dunno, if anyone could pull it off, it’s probably her…

  3. ML Says:

    Has anyone addressed the fact that Clyde had his eyes done recently? One day he was regular ol’ Clyde, and then they must have reupped his contract or something, because he suddenly appeared onscreen one Monday looking, shall we say, VERY alert.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Ahahaha! I had noticed something was off, but I hadn’t thought of it that way. You’re totally right.

    • otherweb1 Says:

      OMG YES! I mentioned this a few months ago when I noticed Clydes eyes looked strange when he was doing a breakfast scene with Kate at TBD and it clearly looked like he’d just gotten out of surgery just a few hours before! His eyes were all wet and red and more puffy than usual. At first I thought maybe he had the flu, but I went back to an episode from the week before, and sure enough, he got an eye job! I think it’s SO sad that he did this to himself. He was a GORGEOUS man with his real eyelids … now he honestly is ugly. Same with Ariane Zucker … I always loved how she didn’t sell out and had natural boobs on the smaller side and she looked so natural and stunning. It was such a disappointment when she did the big reveal of her new way-too-big-boobs with some outrageous top she was wearing at Daniel’s. It’s sad how these people do this to themselves.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Now I can’t focus on anything other than his eyes. Haha. He’s a very good-looking guy, too, my feelings for Clyde aside. I’m all for people doing whatever makes them comfortable/happy (as long as it doesn’t affect other people in any direct way), so if this stuff makes these performers feel more confident, great. I think facial work is a VERY slippery slope and can go awry really quickly.

        And I’m just glad Nicole isn’t wearing so many boobtastic outfits these days.

  4. otherweb1 Says:

    The highlight of the week was DEF Adrienne and Justin!!!!! The flashbacks were AWESOME!!!!!! Wally and Judy are like the stars of the show right now as far as I’m concerned. Along with Lauren Koslow of course, and Kristian Alfonso, although unfortunately, Daniel Cosgrove just isn’t matching her! I hope we get a TON more of Justin and Adrienne, and also LOVE Justin and Kate! One problem though, and it’s a huge one … WHY was Adrienne wearing Hope’s dining room curtains?

  5. fluffysmom Says:

    This was a painful week to marathon watch after being on vacation. Judi and Wally were definitely the best part.

    • otherweb1 Says:

      What I love so much about Justin and Adrienne, is not only are they two powerhouse actors, but their characters are so rich with history, Judy and Wally match each other and have chemistry through the roof, and the storyline is actually compelling, emotional, believable, down to earth, etc.

      Why can’t ALL the storyline and acting teams be like that?!

      OK, well, we had that with James and Allison. But while Lauren is fantastic and can carry any storyline, her SLs aren’t all that compelling or emotional … I’d like to see them just STOP with the REPETITION of her corporate beatdown SLs and have her face something that really pulls her apart emotionally.

      Kristian is outstanding, but it’s like she’s a one woman show … she doesn’t have a partner to match her, it often feels like she’s carrying Daniel Cosgrove along with her.

      Will and Sonny COULD be the ultimate in emotionally compelling, but Will is just too much of an annoying doofus, Paul is starting to get stale, and Sonny acts just too detached.

      Grant it Adrienne is a blubbering fool … but it works!!!!! I’m excited for everything that’s in store for us with her, Lucas, Justin, and maybe even Kate. The only thing that could make it better is if they made this an A list frontburner SL. And if they need help doing that, then they should skim some off the top of Guy Wilson’s and True O’Brien’s paychecks and add it onto Wally and Judy’s!

      • mykleraus Says:

        They’re great, and aside from still not understanding WHY Justin cheated in the first place, the story is really organic. It doesn’t need all the insane machinations of some of these other stories because it actually makes emotional sense.

        I think Daniel Cosgrove COULD pull off an actual storyline, if given the chance. He got months of “act like you might be crazy but don’t commit to it because this is all just a fake-out” and then “okay, now you’re normal and in love.” I hate that they haven’t integrated Aiden more or given them something to do together besides occasionally quibble over Clyde.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Yes! That makes sense! It’s probably because it’s an ACTUAL story … see, viewers CAN be fans of a show that shows normal stuff. We don’t need people running around poisoning people’s fro-yo smoothies all the time. Speaking of which, I imagine last week’s smoothie poisoning scene will be the first and last time we see the outdoor fro-yo counter?! And perhaps the last time we see Paige even working there?

      • mykleraus Says:

        That outdoor counter thing was so painful. “We’ve set up a stand outside our fake shop because it turns out the door doesn’t open. Oops!”

    • mykleraus Says:

      OMG. You poor thing. That sounds like torture!

      • fluffysmom Says:

        IKR I should have just read recaps for the rest of the week and watched Friday’s show.


Leave a Reply

