I’ll Have to Mullet Over

Because I am super-cool and have so much going on in my life (JK, last night I ate Ben & Jerry’s and sat with my dog), I have recently been binge-reading Spoiler Free Days, a site run by WHIS commenter marypickford — whom I remember fondly from the heyday of Television Without Pity discussions — and featuring analyses of storylines from an old (better) era of Days. I’ve only seen clips and random episodes of a lot of stuff from the late 80s and early 90s, so to see it presented and discussed in order and in such specificity is really a treat. I recommend checking it out.

HOWEVER.

I had heard about the character of Emilio, played by Billy Hufsey of Fame (the TV version), uh, fame, and how he was a dope and sang embarrassingly and had a bad mullet. I’d seen pictures of him in what I thought was his full be-mulleted glory. But it turns out those didn’t even scratch the surface of the matter.

Look at this mullet.

Screen Shot 2015-07-09 at 9.48.21 PM

LOOK.

Screen Shot 2015-07-09 at 9.48.35 PM

How did we, as a society, allow this to be a thing?!

I know man-buns are the subject of much mockery right now — and I think they’re overdone and look good on about 20% of the guys who are actually sporting them — but there is no way we’re going to look back in 20 years and they’ll look THIS ridiculous. Right? Right?!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “I’ll Have to Mullet Over”

  1. Jamie Says:

    Ahhhhh…Emilio. I had such a crush on him. Yes, that hair is completely ridiculous now (it was a bit much even then…he wasn’t the lead singer of Poison!), but he was so sexy back then!

  2. marypickford Says:

    Emilio! You can’t fully appreciate the mullet when it isn’t paired with a ripped denim vest exposing oiled pecs. It’s a sight to behold.

    Thanks for reading my blog. I remember you from TWoP too. I miss that place!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m really loving your blog.

      And I cannot process this mullet. I watched the clips of him and Jen ending his engagement, and at least he looks like a human being who might realistically exist in society there. This is just… next-level.

  3. Dan Says:

    Emilio and the Ramirez clan. The Rafe and the Hernandezes of the 1980s.

    Never seen much of him, but he had an interesting trajectory as a character. Wasn’t he involved with Jennifer, Eve, and Adrienne at different points? That might be an interesting source of conversation for those ladies.

    BTW, back when the awful Eve / J.J. story started, I thought it might have been interesting to bring in Jo Johnson for a few episodes as a way to reveal Eve’s prostitute past to J.J. Eve confronts Jo for killing Nick, which is witnessed by J.J. and he starts investigating his grandmother’s murderous past. Of course, in the process, he learns that Eve was a prostitute. Then, he talks to Jennifer about it and J.J. agrees to keep quiet in order to not hurt Paige. Meanwhile, Eve still manages to work to keep them apart and then J.J. would use Eve’s prostitute past to allow him and Paige to be together.

    Of course, I would have also had Jo interact with Adrienne about her marriage, address the death of Vern, and build some relationship between Sonny and his grandmother.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Emilio was definitely involved with both Jen and Adrienne. He also got with Melissa before he died. I’m not sure if he and Eve ever had a thing, but I’m sure they interacted plenty.

      Jo would have been a great addition to the JJ stuff. They’ve mentioned her and Vern a few times randomly in the past few years (not really since JJ stopped being “bad,” though). They got a decent amount of airtime back in 2006, so I’m kinda surprised we haven’t at least gotten a Jo cameo in recent years.

  4. otherweb1 Says:

    OMG I was IN LOVE with Emilio! I think what’s even scarier than what these mullets look like to us today, is the fact that THEY DIDN’T EVEN PHASE US BACK THEN!!!! lol!

  5. otherweb1 Says:

    Let’s see, mullet-wise, we had Bo, John, and Emilio for sure. I think Frankie might have had a quasi-mullet at one point. What would really be interesting is to see the guys from today with one. Can you imagine Brady with one??!!!! JJ??? DANIEL? RAFE???!!! LOL!!!! WILL!!!!!

    • mykleraus Says:

      WILL WITH A MULLET. LOL.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        If anyone deserves one it’s Will! That should be his punishment for being such a shithead. And then as further punishment they should put him on public display in Horton square for everyone to gawk at.


Leave a Reply

