Actor Out

Can’t say I’m super-surprised about this one, but I am disappointed…

eokwgqj4srw8gwje

Daniel Cosgrove, who plays Aiden Jennings, apparently told fans at an event in Montreal that the show isn’t going to renew his contract, which is up in September. (Sorry, no hard source for this yet — but I do believe it.) As soon as we found out that Peter Reckell was returning as Bo, I figured this was going to happen, but I’m bummed the show is taking the predictable route. He’ll probably be around long enough to go psycho, try and make Bo look bad, kidnap Hope, and then either get killed or hauled off to prison. Yawn. I was really hoping for something more long-term and nuanced with this story.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Actor Out”

  1. ACSMD5 Says:

    Wow, I agree with you and I hope you aren’t right! As much as I hate how the whole Bo/Peter situation has played out and even though I believe Bope and the legacy of all the supercouples should be preserved, it should have made for a great long story for them. Hope has always been a strong character, in my opinion, and to have her just go back after Bo put this “mission” before his family, is ridiculous. The fact that it shouldn’t have been written that way is another issue but it is what it is. I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I hate how they chose to write Bo out, because the lack of communication is tough to come back from. But I think it would work to say that he got a lead that either Jack or Zach was alive, and he got in over his head, blah blah. At least it puts a heroic slant on where he’s been. I have a fantasy scenario that he comes back and is a bit of a pariah because of how he abandoned Hope and Ciara — maybe he even hooks up with fellow outcast Eve for a bit, allowing Kassie de Paiva to play with the big kids — and Hope stays with Aiden. Of course she and Bo are still drawn to one another, but he hurt her and Aiden is a safe, nice guy. Bo finds out that Chase killed Meredith and, thinking he’s helping, exposes the truth — only to have Hope be furious at him for causing all this trouble, while Bo is shocked that she knew and kept it a secret. You could spin a real story out of that for a while, eventually reuniting Bope without flat-out kicking Aiden to the curb. (Hell, maybe he and Eve get together and leave town eventually.)

      • marypickford Says:

        I like your scenario. 🙂 I think they have a good nine months of story between Bo’s arrival and Aiden’s departure, so I am not going to assume they are just going to slap Bo and Hope back together. Or maybe that’s just the incurable optimist in me.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Good point. If he films through September, he’ll air into the spring of 2016, so there could be time to tell a full story.

        He’s one of the few new characters who has worked, so I wouldn’t mind having him stick around. They could try a pairing with Eve or Jen or Belle…

  2. fluffysmom Says:

    I think Daniel Cosgrove annoyed me so much on BH 90210 that I haven’t been a big Aiden fan. I know a lot of people will be disappointed by his exit. I agree that he could be tried in another pairing. There are multiple possibilities for him since he’s not related to anyone other than his son.

  3. marypickford Says:

    Now I’m hearing he said he was already done filming … not that he’ll be there through September, which is what the story was initially. I’m so confused!

  4. Tyra Says:

    Anyone who was as disappointed as I was when I heard this news can try to get TPTB’s attention by signing this petition! Daniel is a great actor and just because the writers were too lazy to write a good Bope Haiden triangle, doesn’t mean there’s nothing else for Aiden to do!!
    https://www.change.org/p/days-of-our-lives-dena-higley-josh-griffith-greg-meng-renew-daniel-cosgrove-s-contract

  5. fluffysmom Says:

    You could post the link at MyHourglass too. There are lots of Daniel Cosgrove fans there.


Leave a Reply

