The Room of My Dreams

I don’t think I’ve ever been so happy to see an ugly living room in my life.

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 8.27.26 AM

Look! That’s the real Kiriakis living room, not that scaled-down knockoff study version we’ve been getting for the past several months. I don’t know what Kimberly did to warrant Henderson bringing her here instead of to the tiny room, but God bless.

Speaking of Kim:

Screen Shot 2015-05-29 at 8.27.57 AM

I’m delighted by the way they’re playing her history with Victor as part of the baby Tate (ugh, that name) story. The flashback to the 80s was awesome, and I loved Victor explaining it away to Brady as, “It was a different time.” Great stuff. Patsy Pease seems a little more on-the-ball this time around — probably because she’s adjusted to the insane, no-rehearsal-or-retakes-allowed shooting schedule — and it’s all just been wonderful.

Now explain to me how these scenes can exist on the same show, let alone in the same episode, as all this lame Serena/Xander/Nicole crap. I swear, that story is just an endless loop of Nicole wearing various ugly, slutty dresses in her office and talking to herself in-between visits from people who have no reason to visit her. Riveting!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “The Room of My Dreams”

  1. Gavin Says:

    It was great to see 80s Kim. We used to say she ran the Patsy Pease School of Watery Eyes back then. Lesson 1: tear up all you like but don’t spill. 80s Victor looked kind of like David Attenborough. I loved that storyline – including when Shane and/or Kim were trapped in the crocodile pit. Good times.

    As with the Marlena/Stefano flashbacks, I wish they did a bit more than just show the old clip and then vaguely dismiss it. We still hear constantly about Marlena and John on the conference room table and Sami’s not even on the show anymore, so it’d be nice to have a bit more “you do this…, yeah, but you did this…” dialogue. Would sure beat all those Nicole monologues.

    • mykleraus Says:

      She really felt more on-the-ball than she’s been in any of her guest shots in recent years.

      I hear you on the flashbacks. They really hand-waved that one away. And it would take up more screentime cheaply!

  2. marypickford Says:

    I loved seeing Kim as well. I thought she seemed more relaxed than I’ve seen her in other appearances, where sometimes she seemed to chew the scenery a bit too much. Here she was even a bit snarky, like with her line about living in a houseful of backstabbers and gossips. 80’s Kim could be snarky sometimes. And I too loved Victor’s grand dismissal of it all: “it was a different time.”

    I bet we’ll see a lot of flashbacks this fall with the 50th!

    • mykleraus Says:

      She definitely had some bite to her this time. I guess she’s had okay material in the past visits (reuniting with Shane; fretting over Theresa), but this time felt much better-incorporated or something. She was in the right rhythm.

      I think the Marlena/Stefano flashbacks and this nod were both part of a “50th anniversary year” mentality the show has going.

    • otherweb1 Says:

      Kim’s hair was waaaaay too red! I liked her better as a blonde. Plus, Melanie, Serena, and Kim all with the same bottle of red? Uh, not cool!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Kim’s had that really brassy red for several years — I think maybe when she came back for Grandpa Shawn’s funeral, even. I really think they could tone it down several shades and she’d look a lot less harsh.

  3. otherweb1 Says:

    O-M-G!!!!! Somebody give Jesus a big hand!!!!

    I almost didn’t believe it when she entered the front door and walked straight in through the double doors. I kept thinking “Wait a minute, did the study get moved to the ground floor?” I’ve just been so disappointed by the show this year that I was incapable of believing they were giving us back the K living room! I kept having to double and triple check the set to make sure it really was happening: “Drink cart in the middle … check. Little desk by the door … check. Giant fireplace on the right … check. OMG, it IS the living room!”

    Now someone PLEASE tell me this means the D living room and Pub are next??!?!!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think they have to be coming back. The DiMera living room isn’t a HUGE deal to me right now because so little action takes place at the DiMera mansion these days, but I need the Pub!

  4. fluffysmom Says:

    I swear we had living room furniture from this same fabric collection in the late 80’s or early 90’s. Yikes!!


Leave a Reply

