Post Soup

Please excuse the complete non-cohesiveness of this post, but I have notes on a bunch of separate topics, none of which really warrant their own posts, so I’m just gonna go with a straight-up list and bounce from one subject to the next. It’s that kinda day.

1. It’s entirely possible that this show has just beaten me into submission with the endless crap involving Serena, Daniel/Nicole, JJ/Paige/Eve, and the like, but I very much enjoyed Stefano and Marlena’s confrontation in Italy. Not that it went anywhere, but at least it was two actors I know well and two characters with great history actually playing upon that. And this was fun to see.

G3qrUv0 MqqCYOr

They’ve referenced the possession storyline so rarely since it happened — and almost not at all when James E. Reilly wasn’t writing the show — so it delighted me to have Stefano throw that in her face. Also, how much better were the production values back then?! Look at the lighting and the camera angles and everything else.

2. I liked the tension in the editing as they cut back-and-forth between Stefano and Marlena at the castle and Chad on the phone in Salem, but it irritated me that Chad’s whole thing had to happen over the phone. At least they didn’t have him magically teleport to Italy, but good grief, this was such a blatant bid to get their money’s worth out of that castle set. What’s next? Jennifer tells Paige they rented a lovely Italian castle for her birthday party? Melanie decides to clear her head and decides the only place she can do it is the place where they found Tate?

3. The baby’s name is Tate. Which I don’t hate as a name in and of itself, but after Theresa’s whole explanation about how they considered naming the kid after Melanie (at least they didn’t call him Melvin!), they were just like, “So we decided on Tate.” Um, why?! Also, if this kid ever pulls a Lucas, disowns Brady, and takes his other parent’s name, he’s going to be Tate Donovan. So I might just start calling him Jimmy Cooper (where are my The O.C. fans?!).

4. Nadia Bjorlin (Chloe) got married this past weekend. She looked beautiful. But the most hilarious bit of the report is that Crystal Chappell (Carly) was in attendance. I’m gonna go out on a limb and guess that she arrived in the middle of the ceremony and declared, “I have an announcement!” and then vowed, “I’m not leaving until I say what I came here to say!” and then just gave up and let them say their vows, just like Carly did about 15 times in the summer of 2010.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

21 Comments on “Post Soup”

  1. Gavin Says:

    I enjoyed the Marlena and Stefano show, but it really could have been its own episode. After 30+ years, they warrant it. And it would have been nice for Marlena to let loose a bit more and list off the things that Stefano has done and really let him have it. Or show a clip and have them really dissect and debate it – yes, I shot you but I did think that you’d murdered my husband/kidnapped my children and so forth.

    I saw in my online travels a comment about Tate Donovan having once dated Jennifer Aniston – and now John Aniston has a grandchild on the show called Tate Donovan Black. Is that the writers being funny?

    • mykleraus Says:

      OMG, I didn’t even make that connection. I’m surprised they didn’t just go full-on ridiculous and name the kid Brad Pitt.

      They absolutely could have had a full episode of Stefano and Marlena squaring off. The flashbacks were sort of hilarious to me because it was just like they were both vaguely referring to things and then spacing out to mutually recall these long montages.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        With all due respect Mikey, I do believe you have been beaten into submission 😉

        The Stefano/Marlena bit, if you can even call it that, was deplorable. Major veteran Days actors, major Days characters (plus Joe is in his 90s for god’s sake and I believe he started out on All in the Family) and all they give them is a 5 minute sequence that was nothing but a hack-job of carelessly strung together flashbacks?! Then boom, back they do to Salem? Grant it, I’m sure it’s all Joe has time for … it’s not like he could have been there for a month-long kidnapping and torturing before Chad appeared onsite to save the day with Abigail….and Ben spying on them from the bushes.

        But I hear you. After months on end of the adventures of Babar, Beige, Dr. Tan, and the Brotherhood of the Traveling Burgundy Shirt, it’s like we’ll take anything at all to put us out of our misery … so I can understand if they dangle the carrot of a shoddy Marlena/Stefano montage in front of our noses, it’s like throwing large bread crumbs after months of no food. But, when compared to the what we used to see on Days, and what we should still be seeing, breadcrumbs are hardly a feast.

        I feel your pain Mikey. I just am bent on trashing this bit. 🙂

      • mykleraus Says:

        Nah, you’re right. Basically just seeing those two people sharing scenes that were about something other than Clyde/Nicole being a faithless whore/JJ fucking Eve was a gigantic relief. And the flashbacks were at least screen time that didn’t look like shit! That’s all I’ve got.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Totally understandable!

  2. otherweb1 Says:

    I hope his middle name is Brady, that way, his initials can be TBD and he can wear burgundy onesies.

  3. fluffysmom Says:

    TBD is the dumbest name for a coffeehouse. They should run a contest and let viewers give ideas for a better name.

    • otherweb1 Says:

      I am more shocked that they call it a club. I’m from NYC, where a club means a very dark spot that is open from 11pm-6am with deafening trance music, people blowing whistles and dancing in cages, co-ed bathrooms, floating eyeball holograms, vodka being poured over the bar and lit on fire, and an occasional guy walking around on stilts (true story) … hardly the kind of place you’d see a 90 yr old belting out the Candy Man song to an 8 yr old over milkshakes…unless they mean it to be a club in the sense of the Micky Mouse Club? Although, TBD did have that random shooting, so I’ll concede that it does meet at least 1 criteria for being a real club.

      • mykleraus Says:

        LOL about the shooting. But seriously — there are so rarely scenes set at night anyway. Nothing about that place looks like a club, except that maybe the wallpaper looks like how walls look when you’re tripping your face off. I still think we need ONE upscale restaurant instead of two “clubs.”

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Technically we still have Chez Rouge, albeit only by means of random mentioning by Maggie rather than by means of an actual set where actual scenes happen. Although I suppose sporadic verbal acknowledgement of Chez Rouge is less tacky than the two-seater Pub booth.

        Remember Wings???!!!! Named after the way we wore our hair back then!

        How about that cool underground stone wall looking jazz club … I think it may have been called the Blue Note or something with either blue or note in it?

      • mykleraus Says:

        I could almost go for a Chez Rouge that was just, like, a nice table in front of a fireplace. At least we’d have someplace consistent for these romantic dates that always wind up happening in hotel rooms and the park…

      • mykleraus Says:

        And that jazz club was named the Blue Note! You got it. I liked the ambiance of that place.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        I also still miss Marlena’s penthouse, and of course the loft! And how there’d be entire summers of out of town adventures … Aremid, that school trip to Puerto Rico where Curtis Reed terrorized everyone, Lawrence Alamin’s castle, etc. I can’t even remember the last time we saw the riverfront docks. I’m also getting nervous because the Horton cabin hasn’t show up in a long time either.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I really miss Marlena’s penthouse. It was the site of so many classic storylines. We haven’t even seen her replacement townhouse in years now.

        I sort of miss the docks/pier even though that one from 2009-2011 was SO BAD and so overused that it made me want to die. The Horton cabin hasn’t been seen since Abigail and EJ got it on, I don’t think. 😦

    • mykleraus Says:

      They might as well have just called it “We Don’t Care Enough to Be Creative Coffee & Tea.”

  4. Dylan Says:

    Lol did you see the look on Paige’s face after she threw the cake on the ground? It was BLANK. This reveal would be interesting if the actress played the part well. But this is pretty bad!

  5. Jayme Says:

    How far is Italy from Salem anyway? Is it, like, close enough to get kidnapped there for a few hours and almost be thrown out of a window while your husband’s/ex-husband’s grandson is getting a bone marrow transplant? Can you be back before 5? Should you pack one green leather blazer or 2?

    The scenes between Marlena and Stefano on the plane were hilarious. She was practically sitting on his lap the whole time. Zero tension. Girl, you’ve been abducted by your mortal enemy. GET UP AND THROW SOMETHING.

    • mykleraus Says:

      LOL with the fucking green leather blazer (or, as the Salemites would probably call it, A COAT).

      I was cracking up at how calm she was throughout the entire thing. And then she lands back in town and just starts yapping about Will’s marriage like she didn’t just get KIDNAPPED TO ITALY.


Leave a Reply

