What Happened in Salem: Week of May 11th

The highlight of the week was undoubtedly a whole bunch of flashbacks to times when this show was more entertaining. But in the present day…

As Theresa prepared for the operation to give bone marrow to the baby, she and Brady told Melanie that, although they’d considered naming him after her, they had ultimately decided on the name Tate. Theresa vowed to be with Brady again, while Brady fondled a ring that he just happened to be carrying around with him, presumably to spring on Melanie (the young woman he has been dating for three months) at some point soon.

Read the full recap to find out What Happened in Salem this week!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

24 Comments on “What Happened in Salem: Week of May 11th”

  1. underyourwing Says:

    there is no way in hell they would have that baby exposed like that after a bone marrow transplant….it’s stuff like this that drives me to the nuts.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Right?! Did you notice how Theresa randomly had on a swine flu mask in the last scene, even though everyone had been barging in and out totally unprotected for hours?

  2. Jamie Says:

    Tate. Like Tater. Like potato. Awwwww, she named the baby after Paige! That was sweet!

  3. otherweb1 Says:

    So much to say about last week:

    1. What the hell happened to Clyde’s face? I kept having to wonder if it was a different actor? Did he get some really bad plastic surgery or was he just very sick?

    2. Jeremiah should come to Salem and make more appearances. I like him. He could be roomates with Rory.

    3. Why all of a sudden does Xander’s room (or any room at all at the Salem inn) have a couch? Did they think we wouldn’t notice they only put it in there because we wouldn’t buy Nicole getting close to him on a bed? Since when do they care what we will buy or not? The couch was just more of a gaff … I would have been less outraged by them sitting on the bed.

    4. And yet another memory lane fail … the Marlena/Stefano flashback sequence was just horrible! I remember a time, maybe 10 yrs ago, when flashbacks were not only more frequent, but they were executed beautifully and had actual emotional impact!

    5. If not a family name, my next guess that the baby would get a yuppie name like Brooks or Logan. So there you have it, Tate. That’s gonna suck spend the rest of my life having to hear everyone over-pronounce the 2nd T. I can’t even remember what Theresa said the name meant. But Jen continues to blow me away with her portrayal of the beaming mom, so all else is forgiven.

    6. Chad’s socks when he was sitting on the couch chatting with Melanie. Can we get a screen shot of them? All I can say is What?! and Why?!

    7. Ok, so I can understand why JJ didn’t burn the pot … but toss it in the lake? What, to only have it float to the surface or wash ashore? Is flushing down the toilet of a public bathroom no longer trendy?

    8. The highlight of the week was Arianna interacting with Paul. I think that’s the 1st time that baby has ever laughed on the show. Who can blame her for being so happy and mesmerized in the arms of that adorable teddy bear Paul? But … Sonny and Wil are about 1/2 the size of Paul, so how on earth did Sonny have a shirt to fit him? And ONLY because it’s Paul, I liked how the shirt was an almost perfect match to Sonny’s!

    • mykleraus Says:

      1. I didn’t notice anything about Clyde’s face. I’ll have to look. He’s always looked ‘off’ to me since he shaved the beard.

      2. I wanted Jeremiah to beat the sh*t out of Will. He’d go way up in my book if he did!

      3. The couch in the hotel room was weird. They could have made it a suite with a little living area.

      4. I said this elsewhere, but I loved the flashbacks just because I love flashbacks. The whole thing did feel very “We’re going to show some flashbacks and remind people of when this show was more interesting, so uh, I guess let’s write some vague dialogue to set them up?” The Stefano/Marlena scenes were good by present-day standards, so I was at least awake.

      5. They didn’t even explain how they came up with Tate. I thought that was weird. Thank god they didn’t go with MELVIN, though…

      6. I’m on a hunt for those socks now! Will report back.

      7. Couldn’t he have flushed the pot down HIS toilet? I don’t think the Salem PD is getting a damn warrant for the entire sewer system…

      8. I thought it was funny how Paul couldn’t close the shirt at first. I thought they were going to leave it that way…

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Clyde used to have a beard? I always thought he was handsome with especially nice eyes, but last week he had these GIANT swollen bags under them. I figure it can’t be cosmetic surgery, because you’d have that to remove bags, not to give you new ones that weren’t there before.

        They explained the meaning of Tate from the babybook. I forget the meaning they said, but the cheesy point they were making to Melanie was that they were qualities that she has. So I’m guessing Tate means whiney and babyish with inflatable hair and head, shoulder, and facial tics.

        The socks were ridic. Based on the socks and the Bozo’s Big Top tie Xander had on the week before, I’m guessing there is a new wardrobe prank going around where they are raiding Will’s closet.

      • mykleraus Says:

        He had a beard when he first showed up. I actually sort of liked it. Maybe the actor was sick/tired when they filmed this stuff (they probably shot all his scenes on one day, too).

        Inflatable hair, lol. Yeah, it was something like “light and cheerful” or whatever. It still felt very stupid and random.

        Xander’s tie was RIDICULOUS!!!!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I just saw the socks! I actually really like them. I was expecting them to be like leopard or something, hahahaha.

  4. otherweb1 Says:

    And omg … just when I thought the elephant had finally left the room … it’s back!!! Ugh, no! Please don’t tell me we have to suffer again through Parker playing with it?!

  5. otherweb1 Says:

    One more random rage from last week to get out of my system: “Ben Weston” appearing on Abby’s cell phone. See, now this is further proof that high-school cheerleader contest winners are writing the scripts. Never in the history of Salem has both 1st and last names appeared on cells. It’s always 1st name only, glamourous professional headshot, and 555 number (which consequently, I have noticed lately are all 555-01xx. At first I thought the xx denoted what veteran rank they held in actor/character, especially with Hope’s number being 555-0104. But then Ben or someone appears as 0105, thus destroying the rank theory.) Anyway, not only has Salem cells never shows 1st and last name, but even if they did, in order for Ben’s to change from Rogers to Weston, ABIGAIL would have to change it herself … it wouldn’t just change on it’s own!

  6. fluffysmom Says:

    I think JJ should have given Rory the bag of pot. Rory would have taken care of it in no time.

    LOL at the wardrobe pranks from Will’s closet

  7. underyourwing Says:

    the more i see will the more i want to smash his face. can’t someone kill him?? he is such a doofus. of course he couldn’t tell sonny the reason ?Paul? clocked him is because he called his mommy a whore! make him go away. or as sammi put it to EJ once when they were in bed about someone else “HE HAS TO GO” !!!
    loved that.
    also kinda unrelated but it has been in my head….no one here probably recalls this as i am older than dirt BUT

    the 1st time i saw Stefano ever was when he played a disgruntled neighbor of Carrie Snodgress’s in Diary of a Mad Housewife ( with Frank Langella>>>>> in his OMG he is Edible STAGE<<<<… & Richard Benjamin.) He bitched about her putting a umbrella stand by his door because… well… he was a dick….. this movies was made in 1970 kids…so there ya go. you CAN watch it all on you tube if you wanna. its great but hard to watch…..a classic film.

    • otherweb1 Says:

      Joe Mascolo also made a appearances in Jaws and the Incredible Hulk! I don’t remember those stints, but I do remember when he was on All in the Family in the 70s! He was one of only a few characters in this history of the show to sit in Archie’s chair! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ipjqxCQLQ8

    • mykleraus Says:

      Now THAT’s a useful history lesson! I should look it up. Thanks!

      • otherweb1 Says:

        I was watching an All in the Family re-run one time, and was like OMG, is that Stefano? Then I looked him up in IMDB and he’s been ALL over the place in the 70s and 80s. Kojak, Baretta, Hill Street Blues, etc. He’s got quite an impressive CV. Hence my further disdain over the flashback attempt.

  8. fluffysmom Says:

    Joe Mascolo appears in multiple scenes in Jaws 2. It’s always weird to him speaking without his Stefano accent.


Leave a Reply

