Two More Cast Additions

One old face and one new face are in at Days

35457

Per Soap Opera Digest, Thaoo Penghlis (Tony and Andre DiMera) is once again filming at Days! And there’s another soap vet joining in a new role.

Thaao Penghlis, who has played Tony and Andre DiMera on and off since 1981, and was last seen in 2009, is back filming at the set. In other news, A Martinez (ex-Cruz, SANTA BARBARA et al) has been cast in a new role that will have many connections in Salem.

My gut tells me that Penghlis is going to appear in some kind of ghostly form for the 50th anniversary this fall. Tony and Andre have died, been resurrected, died again, and been retconned to hell and back, to the point that I’m not sure I would even be interested in them resurrecting him yet again. There was that rewrite in 2007 that made it so Tony had been trapped on the tropical island for 20+ years and thus wasn’t responsible for any of the evil deeds that Andre, impersonating his cousin, had perpetrated — but it also meant Tony himself had no history with Kristen, John, or almost anyone in Salem at that point. Then they went ahead and killed him in 2009 again anyway! I’m tentatively interested to see what they do, but another magical resurrection to have him plot vaguely and then die yet again doesn’t sound great.

A-Martinez233

A Martinez, who’s an alum of not only Santa Barbara but also General Hospital and One Life to Live, could be an interesting addition. Part of me wonders if he’ll wind up being Rafe’s father, which I wouldn’t hate. Seems like this could be another Clyde-type role, which is not what we need right now.  But I’m curious to see what they have in mind for him.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Two More Cast Additions”

  1. rustyspigot Says:

    Is Mother Hernandez going to end up being a mummified body in some root cellar?

  2. Tony Says:

    Can’t wait to see Tony / and or Andre interact with Chad

  3. Dan Says:

    Tony’s return basically resets us back to 2008 again, and I don’t know how I feel about that. I like how Higley positioned Tony, feeling like an outsider while Stefano groomed EJ to take over the family business. I think Billy Flynn is great, but I just don’t see that dynamic necessarily working with those two. It would be neat to position Tony as a sort of anti-Dimera allowing Chad to consider what a life would be like outside the influence of his father.

    With that said, I’m not sure I see the point in Tony’s return. I’m guessing we are simply pulling out the stops for the anniversary. I suspect he’ll have a 1 to 2 episode guarnatee with a six month contract.

    A Martinez is a strong actor. I’m curious to see what they’ll do with him. They certainly need more males of a certain age.

    • mykleraus Says:

      On a sentimental level, it’ll be good to see Penghlis/Tony again. I would be fine with this being some type of dream appearance for the 50th, though he says he’s on contract, so who the hell knows? I honestly don’t remember a lot of “Real Tony”‘s 2007-09 material, aside from him and Anna running competing advertising businesses (?), so I don’t have a great sense of who he is at this point.

  4. marypickford Says:

    I wonder if Tony/Andre’s presence could be a way to pave the way for Joe Mascolo’s eventual exit? I know he’s the Phoenix and all, but he can’t live forever …

    • mykleraus Says:

      I was thinking that, too. I do think Stefano will appear until JM is no longer able to film. They seemed (seem?) to be positioning Kristen similarly, too.


Leave a Reply

