Punch Drunk Love

This might be the most visually stressful thing I have ever seen.

Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 9.13.50 PM

The outfit itself is barely working, but because it’s Kate, it is. But throw in that gift bag, and… yikes.

That said, Kate 100% redeemed herself with this sequence.

7a8gT0f

That entire fight was fantastic, from Adrienne calling Kate a whore right up through that punch. My god. I love how this story feels like something the show just sort of ‘found.’ Despite my initial weirdness over the idea of pairing Adrienne and Lucas, this is providing so much juicy character stuff for a lot of people. I still wish Justin’s side of it were stronger than him being a stone-cold cheating asshole, but maybe there’s more to come on that front.

Meanwhile, it looks like the Burgundy Shirt Epidemic has claimed another victim.

Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 9.15.33 PM

I guess it’s only right, since Chad does own Club TBD and thus that supply of surplus fabric. Maybe he’s trying to be a more relatable Man of the People and is dressing like the employees in solidarity?

But Clyde’s back in his, too!

Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 9.52.58 PM

Was this some spring 2013 (I presume that’s when these episodes were filmed) trend that I missed?

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “Punch Drunk Love”

  1. Jamie Says:

    That punch!! I had to rewind that one a few times, as I was shocked that she actually went with a closed fist punch and not the standard slap. Only Kate. I loved it.

    She should have smacked her around a few more times for wearing that hideous dress. I didn’t even notice what Kate was wearing in that scene as I was so distracted by Adrienne’s dress. Whoever picked that out for her should be fired immediately.

  2. Dylan Says:

    Great scenes with Marlena and Kristen today! Also thank goodness Clint is dead – Theresa had to have been so blind to not see that that guy was up to something bad. Also, so great for John to see the “view from the Golden Gate Bridge”- I had almost forgotten that they were in San Francisco and not just “in the woods”!

    • mykleraus Says:

      OMG, I was dying at “come see the view of the Bridge!” I thought Paul’s grandpa was going to throw John off the damn thing. Also, how weird was it for Justin to just wander into that clearing?!

      • Dylan Says:

        lol when Paul was like “what are YOU doing here?” Don’t the writers realize that San Francisco is a big bustling city and not just a small clearing in a forest? You don’t just randomly run into your ex’s father who you never met in some random corner “in the park”.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I KNOW! They couldn’t build a f***ing kitchen set or something?!

  3. otherweb1 Says:

    At first when I saw Clyde in The Burgundy Shirt last week, I seriously become convinced that there was some sort of inside joke amongst the cast members. Like Clyde, Shawn, and Casey were all passing the same shirt around to each other’s dressing rooms in some sort of “Tag! Your it!” game. But then, I saw Chad in it this week. But notice how Chad’s is a bit darker, more exotic DiMera Chic shade of burgundy. So I don’t know, maybe Billy wanted to inject a twist into the game? Which apparently has now spread to the lady cast members, because hello, not only is Abigail wearing that HIDEOUS white blouse with black lace mess, but she’s got a hideous Star Trek cut blazer over it … in TBD Burgundy. Seriously, this HAS to be an inside joke!!! Can the wardrobe dept of a multi-million dollar budgeted 50 yrs running show on a major network be THAT inept???!!!

    • mykleraus Says:

      It’s SO perplexing. I hadn’t even registered the blazer yet.

      I actually don’t hate Abigail’s blouse with the lace. I’m not sure why.

      • Andie Says:

        Kate’s blazer here was almost as hideous as the navy blue tweed plaid blazer which she wore a month or so ago; both blazers remind me of ugly stuff from the ’80s sans the giant shoulder pads. Adrienne’s dress had me thinking about the expression “ball and chain” 😄

      • mykleraus Says:

        I actually sorta like Kate’s blazer in this! Just not sure about matching it this way.

        I think Adrienne’s dress could work under certain circumstances, but it was all wrong here.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Maybe under the certain circumstance that it was 2005, which was when I think the gold chain pattern was in style? 😉

  4. Andie Says:

    Adrienne’s dress was too tight and was not flattering (see Sarena for clarification)…didn’t Nastia Luiken and some of her teammates wear leotards like that sometime in the ’00s??? 😉 They just added more fabric to make it a faux wrap dress. I thought Abby’s ‘Little Mouse on the Prairie’ blouse was horrid but, it’s not the worst monstrosity wardrobe has selected for her. The fact that she’s ditched the jodhpurs and got rid of that brassy butterscotch color w/ the 4″ black roots is a tremendous improvement. I agree the park set is boring; I guess nobody was available to do a backdrop of the Golden Gate Bridge, trolleys, and row houses on a hilly street–I wouldn’t have cared if they borrowed footage from the show Full House.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I wish they had used Full House footage!

      I’m just so sick of everyone wearing dresses every damn day, all day long. Does no one ever throw on slacks and a blouse? Or a sweatshirt? I cannot imagine getting dressed up to go watch my grandchild.

      • Andie Says:

        I know! I realize the allure of soaps is the “fantasy” aspect but, come on cocktail dresses to grab coffee? I want to see more jeans, slacks, leggings, yoga pants, athletic wear, etc. Do we have to see a baseball game or county fair to see casual clothes on all the ladies? I don’t care for much of Melanie’s wardrobe but, out of all the women 25+ she dresses the most realistic. Also, I want people walking dogs in the park/square and more pets in general. 😃

      • mykleraus Says:

        The fantasy thing works a lot better when people are going to glamorous places and doing glamorous things. That’s why I don’t understand why there isn’t an upscale restaurant on this show. Nice dresses make a lot more sense at Chez Rouge than they do for a coffee at the Pub or a quick meeting in the park.

        But Melanie does at least look realistic, yeah.

        I would LOVE for people to have pets, though I get that they’re tough production-wise.


Leave a Reply

