The Hand That Rocks the Cradle

No, literally. Monday’s episode ended with a mysterious hand rocking a mysterious baby in a cradle (actually, I’m not certain there was rocking, but “The Hand That Touched the Crib” sounds like a much more boring movie, so let’s go with the first one).

Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 8.37.45 AM

Cute baby! And it’s doubly cute because its appearance means this story might actually get moving.

Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 8.37.37 AM

I know I’ve complained about Melanie lately, but Molly Burnett seems like a real team player, so God bless her for sitting there and spouting that ridiculous dialogue to try and make it sound medically plausible for Theresa’s fetus to have been removed from her body and implanted into someone else’s — all the while managing not to topple over from the weight of those Christmas ornaments on her ears!

(Also, how random was that extended conversation between Maggie and Melanie about how Sarah is considering being a surrogate for a friend? It served a plot purpose in that it got Melanie to ponder another woman carrying Theresa and Brady’s baby, but it’s so rare for this show to give any real attention to offscreen characters that way. Things that make you go Hmmm…)

Meanwhile, any time I start to get annoyed with Eve on account of her role in this idiotic JJ/Paige story, remind me to think about scenes with her and Theresa.

Screen Shot 2015-03-31 at 8.37.04 AM

Kassie dePaiva and Jen Lilley are nailing this reluctant-sisterly-bond thing. It really adds dimension to Theresa, and it gives me hope that there’s a place for this Eve outside that odious Young Love From Hell storyline.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “The Hand That Rocks the Cradle”

  1. Dylan Says:

    I also like the relationship between Theresa and Eve. I wish they had more scenes together.

    Ugh I couldn’t care less about this stupid story with Melanie and Theresa. It’s just not even plausible enough for me to believe. Kristen is infertile! And she’s probably almost fifty years old! What a joke.

    On a brighter note, I loved that scene where Chad told Sonny about Paul giving him the blood – great reaction on Sonny’s part. Freddie hasn’t been given enough time to really shine but lately he’s been doing a great job. However Tori is on my last nerve! At first I was excited that Paul would have more people in town connected to him but she’s so annoying. Also, other than the phone call when he came out to her, I don’t really sense much of a connection between them. Anyway hopefully that changes with this paternity storyline.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m really having trouble with the complete medical implausibility of this storyline — especially since Kristen’s 2013 exit was set up for her to be pregnant with either Brady or Eric’s kid, and they totally dropped it in favor of this weird sci-fi version. The drama might prove to be worthwhile, but the setup is distractingly ridiculous.

      Tori is terrible, but she’s such a robot that I sort of look forward to her scenes. It’s actually alarming how wooden her delivery is.

  2. Jamie Says:

    I haven’t even thought about the implausibility of this fetus stealing story, I think that’s how numb I’ve become to the implausible stories on DAYS. Where the DiMera’s are concerned, I stopped looking for plausible a long time ago…

    I loved the scenes with Eve and Theresa. That was the only decent part of the episode. (except for Paul in the wife beater). Jen Lilley has really grown so much in her time on the show, it has really been great to watch. And, finally Eve gets to “mother” someone other than that walking potato.

    I think it would be interesting if Sarah showed up in town WITH the baby she was supposed to be carrying for her friend. A “I can’t give the baby up, so I’m on the run with it” story would be fun to see. Especially with how her righteous half-brother Saint Daniel would react. I can already see that brooding/constipated look on his face…

    • mykleraus Says:

      The upside of this baby story is that it’s going to move Theresa front-and-center, which is much needed. JL has earned her place as The Next Sami, or at least Sami In Training.

      I was wondering if there was any way that Kristen could’ve had Theresa’s fetus implanted in SARAH, but of course the timeline makes no sense (not that anything else does)…

      Also my favorite thing about Sarah is that she cannot have sex with Daniel.

    • otherweb1 Says:

      “That was the only decent part of the episode. (except for Paul in the wife beater).”
      And Paul answering his hotel door in the wife beater … with his fly unbuttoned … because everyone answers the door like that.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Everyone’s constantly answering the door half-dressed. Ben paused the other day before opening the door to put on a shirt… which he did not button. WTF?

  3. otherweb1 Says:

    Teresa definitely needs more airtime! She’s fun! I love her! And the best part, is she does not get on your nerves like Sami. And yes, she definitely earned it!

    Instead of Paul, I think Will should focus on running Tori out of town, and better yet, leave with her! She is as painful to watch as Guy Wilson, not to mention the MULTIPLE scenes they are in together! Torture!

    That’s weird, that one month old baby doesn’t look like it was born 3 months premature, because didn’t Teresa get pregnant around Sept?

    • mykleraus Says:

      Theresa’s great. Jen Lilley has really grown into the role. I want them to give her more to do than walk around sassing people. And no, the timing of this baby makes zero sense. Though I’m glad they didn’t drag this out for three more months just to be accurate, since it’s not like they ever care about that anyway.

      Tori is so bad that I kind of love her. She reminds me of Charity Rahmer’s Belle. I want them to put her in all sorts of big dramatic scenes.


Leave a Reply

