Somebody Grab a Towel

I wasn’t aware this show trafficked in symbolism.

Screen Shot 2015-02-06 at 9.42.48 AM

But what else would you call Derrick ordering green tea (just like Paul!), only to turn around and spill the tea on Paul and Will’s affair to Sonny moments later?

(I’m out of my mind.)

This week has definitely had more momentum and a greater sense of tension — meaning, an existent one — than the past few. Paul’s coming-out to his mother and grandfather was very well done, especially in how the entire conversation between him and his grandfather was done in Japanese with subtitles, and for once, I was actually on the edge of my seat waiting for Derrick to connect the dots for Sonny. And then the curveball with Sonny being attacked — really well done. This is a bonafide mess, one that could have fascinating ripple effects, if they bother to play it out.

And all jokes aside about Derrick being this horny busybody, something about him totally works. Spencer Neville isn’t the greatest actor the show has ever seen, but he plays everything with this impish quality, and Derrick’s quest to Just Get Laid is sort of hilarious. I wouldn’t mind Sonny lashing out at Will by getting with Derrick, who then sets his sights on holding on to his man and the Kiriakis fortune. He could be sort of a male Nicole, if they play their cards correctly.

Now to end on a downer note: Guy Wilson is not working as Will. I’ve wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt, and I’ve found him to be “fine” at a lot of the lower-key moments, but he’s been embarrassingly bad so far with the big emotional stuff. Maybe he’d shine in primetime or film, with more time to prepare and more direction and less material to plow through, but on a show where the writing is usually pretty surface-level, it’s up to the performers to dredge up those extra layers, and he’s not bringing them at all. I should not be more riveted by the plot-device dayplayer than I am by the legacy character driving the story.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Somebody Grab a Towel”

  1. Dylan Says:

    Derrick cracks me up. How did he even guess that Paul, Sonny and Will were all gay anyway? Must have an amazing gaydar.

    I agree. I don’t know what’s going on with Guy Wilson. He doesn’t show much emotion in his face and there’s just no heart/soul in his acting as Will. This is much more clear to me now that Paul has joined the show and the actor clearly has charisma which Wilson lacks. Chandler was awkward but at least he developed a personality in the role. Also the chemistry between Wilson and Freddie Smith/Sonny is not very good, and they are turning Will into someone even more self-involved than when Chandler was in the role.

    I’m really thrilled about a lot of other aspects of the show right now though. This Hope & Aiden story is getting really interesting and I find myself looking forward to next week, something that has not happened in a long time. This Will/Sonny/Paul storyline is also getting really good, and I am fascinated by Paul’s character and his family. I hope that his mother and grandfather come to town. I still hate Clyde and all this Jordan/Rafe/Chad BS but it seems to be taking a backseat which I love.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Things are definitely picking up, or they feel like they are. Clyde’s absence has helped a ton, honestly, because that means we’ve had fewer random scenes of him conspiring with people in the woods, and I actually didn’t mind most of the Jordan/Chad/Abigail/Ben stuff this week.

      Chandler was awkward, but it was an authentic awkwardness. He felt like a kid going through all that stuff. It worked. There’s something very plastic about Wilson’s Will; he feels like he’s out of a 50s sitcom in some ways. He’s not Charity Rahmer Bad (few are), but he’s not adding a damn thing to the material, either.

  2. Jayme Says:

    That is, unless, the plot-device dayplayer is ALSO an underwear model. In which case, team Derrick! And the idea of a male Nicole is brilliant. They’d probably be the best of friends, chasing after the same guys and deadlifting together.

    I feel bad for Guy Wilson. I really thought he’d step it up with the Paul story, but aside from his breakdown with Kate (which was painful to watch. Not in a good way) I don’t even get a sense that he’s that tormented by having slept with him. JJ, by contrast, obviously feels tortured and hates himself for what he did. And as convoluted as his story is with Eve, at least the actors are going for it.

    Paul has really broken out as a character. I hope it does turn out that he has a family connection in Salem. Then he and Derrick can finally be happy, get married and Nicole can be the best man.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Deadlifting together. Ahahahahaha!

      Paul is totally working. Best new character launch since I-don’t-know-when, especially considering that he has no established connections in Salem (bar his past with Sonny). I’m actually very impressed.

      The contrast between Guy Wilson and Casey Moss really puts it into focus. Moss is selling absolute garbage, while Wilson has solid material and is struggling to convince me that he isn’t just a guy Acting on the screen.

  3. rustyspigot Says:

    Will’s prayer in the chapel was cringe worthy bad.Thankfully, Victor came in to stop the bad acting… sorry (console Will). I loved that Victor ordered a hit on someone while in the chapel and the whole ordering God around.

  4. rustyspigot Says:

    I’ll go out for drinks with you, Derrick.

  5. otherweb1 Says:

    I’m pissed that Derrick has seen WAY more air time in one week that T sees all year! Would a producer PLEASE get T into a gym and drinking monster milk, then cast him in a bigger secondary lead male role! Please??! He is SO adorable!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I don’t get the aversion to using T more (unless the actor wants to stay recurring so he can do other stuff). I would be 1000x more interested in a love story between him and Abigail than I am in her and Ben.


Leave a Reply

