Christmas Week Round-up

Apologies for my lack of posting this week, but I’ve been playing catch-up via Hulu at weird times, as I’ve been preoccupied with family/being sick/reveling in presents/etc. Luckily — and much to the alarm of my family — I’ve also been taking screenshots of Days all week, so my desktop is now littered with freeze-frame shots of middle-aged women in terrible clothing and Christmas ornaments with the names of fictional characters on them.

Oh, and a photo of a nice young mother getting a visit from her infant daughter in prison.

Screen Shot 2014-12-23 at 3.14.44 PM

I appreciated that they took the time to do a Gabi cameo, because it enhances Will and Sonny’s story and is important to who baby Ari will grow up to be. Also, it’s nice that the Salem Penitentiary (“Statesville,” or did I make that up?) allows visitors to use Paul’s hospital room for family visits. I shouldn’t complain, though — as long as they didn’t come up with a reason to hold the visit on a park bench, I’m fine.

It was also a pleasure to see Doug and Julie this week, for very different reasons.

Screen Shot 2014-12-25 at 3.57.21 PM

Doug got some actual strong material, what with his opposition to Hope being with Aiden (which I wouldn’t have minded lasting more than one episode!). And they had him reference how he came into the Horton family because he was Bill Horton’s cellmate in prison! Stuff like that always gets me.

As for Julie, it’s just hilarious to me how they play her as this wacky crone. Julie was the original Sami, and I’ll be damned if I can’t see everyone at the Brady Christmas in 2050 trying to dodge Sami and her obnoxious nattering. They also did a great job using her, Maggie, and Melanie to keep Nick Fallon’s memory alive. That all went down in the last year, and it would’ve been odd to have it forgotten.

I’m also always a sucker for the damn ornament hanging.

Screen Shot 2014-12-27 at 8.22.00 AM

And Sarah still exists! They keep mentioning her — why can’t they bring her on? I also loved that corny moment of Maggie giving her speech and then turning to the camera to add, “…all the days of your life.”

Screen Shot 2014-12-27 at 8.48.23 AM

What can I say? I’m an easy mark. I’ve seen a whole bunch of complaining online about how “terrible” this Christmas was, but I feel like that’s mostly based on the fact that Bo, Steve, and Jack aren’t around or that Marie didn’t pop in for a visit. Taken in the context of the actual show that is currently being broadcast (as opposed to fanfiction in people’s heads), I thought this week worked very well and included a lot of touching character moments.

Well, aside from one thing.

Screen Shot 2014-12-24 at 11.34.56 PM

First of all, are we sure that Eve didn’t fall, hit her head, and wake up with amnesia that makes her think she’s 18? Because that would explain a) why she’s banging a college student and b) why she’s wearing the jacket she last wore to a Whitesnake concert in 1987.

I get the intention behind Eve and JJ having sex again, but I did not buy it at all. It felt forced and tacky — and I’m all for illicit sex if it works, but this did not. My only real hope is that this has to be the final nail (so to speak) in the JJ/Paige coffin, and they can use this to tear JJ down and then move him along to something more interesting. On the plus side, it did give us the unintentional hilarity of Paige chasing JJ around town and him practically screaming like she was Michael Myers every time she cornered him with that deranged, empty-headed grin.

While we’re on the subject of Christmas week fashion:

Screen Shot 2014-12-24 at 11.33.59 PM

Daniel can’t be bothered to get a haircut, but he sure can throw on a jaunty scarf to hang out in his apartment!

And then you had Jennifer’s literal ponytail for her Christmas getup.

Screen Shot 2014-12-27 at 8.12.11 AM

Maybe these two idiots do belong together.

I also enjoyed Abe getting to play Hospital Santa. Not like he’s had anything better to do since Lexie bit the big one.

Screen Shot 2014-12-27 at 8.39.02 AM

And then you had Abigail reading the Christmas story and cheerfully announcing, “I work here again!” Nothing like having the slut who got fired for sleeping with a board member (and then promptly, upon being rehired, locked her door to have sex with her new boyfriend at work) read the story of Jesus’s birth to children!

Oh, and Joey is alive.

Screen Shot 2014-12-26 at 10.39.50 AM

This child seems both lively and completely insane, so I hope they use him more.

Merry Christmas!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Christmas Week Round-up”

  1. Andie Says:

    🎄Happy Holidays!🎊 I was thrilled to see Doug, Julie and Gabi again. Did you notice Gabi’s ball was broken too? I wish there were more Hortons in town though and they gave Daniel a rest. I’m glad little Joey still exists, he’s adorable and funny and needless to say so much better actor than the quiet, quirky kid who plays Parker. I hope to see more of him and I hope Kayla get a s/l again soon. Speaking of middle aged women in bad clothing, that backless, sheer and velvet-trim black dress Jen had on Xmas Eve seemed too risqué for church and a family function; Jen looked like she modeling the funeral lingerie collection at Fredericks of Hollywood. LOL on your comments on Eve’s jacket, Jack’s royality money is definitely going to good use 😄 XXXmas Eve and Little Jack Jr. Horny I could have done with out.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Funeral lingerie collection, lol. Jen didn’t look bad, but that was NOT a church dress! I guess these people have to use their red carpet attire someplace, since they only ever go to each other’s homes, the park, and the mall…

  2. Dan Says:

    I don’t know if you are aware because he’s never credited, but Joey is played by Jadon Wells, the son of Dan Wells (ex-Stan, DAYS). I think this is the first year they’ve acknowledged him onscreen, and it’s definitely the first time he has spoken.

    Julie tends to be a bit of a mess. She works best as meddlesome busybody, but I’m glad we only get her in small doses. I had little use for her during JER 2.0 when she was all up in Bonnie Lockhart’s business. That became grating real quick.

    Like yourself, I wish they would have allowed Doug suspicions to linger. I would have had Doug been openly cordial to Aiden, and when Julie pulled himself aside to compliment him on his change of heart, I would allow Doug to admit that it was all show for Hope. Doug’s scenes were really well written and I like how they connected not only Doug’s own past to his reactions to Aiden, but Doug’s reaction to Bo. I thought it was a really nice way to have a character to have a negative reaction without coming off as insane.

    My one issue with all of this is you can tell there is a disconnect in the writing. Given Meredith’s questionable death, Doug’s reaction isn’t all that unreasonable and Doug actually came to Salem to seduce wealthy widow Susan Martin of her fortune. At times, the show has played the ambiguity (Aiden’s call to Bree), but usually everything is swept under the rug. It’s very obvious that there is interference.

    Gabi’s return was nice. I’m glad they’ve used it to highlight what a jerk Will is.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I actually don’t know if there is interference with Aiden. To me, it’s very clear that his hands are clean but they’re trying to play up some “mystery” by having all his scenes be vague. The scenes talking about money with Chase and that phone call with Bree have been written around specifics so much — that “You know what I’m capable of!” was supposed to sound ominous, but I’m pretty sure it’ll just turn out that he means he could sue her. I feel like Bree is going to turn out to be some psycho who had a hand in Meredith’s death.

      I remember reading that Dan Wells’s son had been cast (last Christmas?) but totally forgot about it, especially since we never see Joey. I’m glad they trotted him out. Kayla seems to have more of a presence the past few months, which is nice.

      • Dan Says:

        I think this is our third Christmas with Joey. Tomsell brought him back right away, but I don’t think they had him speak the past two years. I think it’s clear Higley was the one who was big on kids. Those little ones were always on during 2008-2011. I have appreciated the smaller moments with the characters (Allie during the Nick arc / Ciara stealing the envelop during the Nick prison rapist storyline / Sydney asking Mommy Nicole to stay with her on her last night in Salem). Unlike some, I get why we don’t see Kayla and Joey much, but I wouldn’t mind if they decided to show either of them more.

        Which brings me to a rant I’ve been looking to make. I wish they would make up their mind regarding how close is to the Brady clan. Initially, I was kind of upset that Paige went around dealing with Kayla and how each of them acted like neither knew the other. Kim and Kayla are close, wouldn’t Paige have at least met Kayla once? Hell, Serena apparently had. Anyway, then I remembered that Kim and Shane didn’t reunite until 2010 (Kim having spent nearly two decades married to Phillip Collier) so I was willing to forgive the non-Brady connection in Paige’s life. Then, we suddenly have Eve referring to Kim as Paige’s grandmother and I lost it again. Can we make up our minds?

        I feel comfortable in saying that the Aiden story has been altered. They’ve pretty much dropped the alcoholism angle and they’ve written Hope/Aiden the way they were writing Sonny/Will as a vestige of the Super Couple era. I can see Ken Corday having his hand in this, but, he should realize, there is no way to appease the super couple era. If Aiden’s a jerk, Bo needs to come back to save Hope. If Aiden’s a saint, then there’s no conflict. If they play ambiguity, the audience immediately is going to complain Aiden isn’t good enough for Hope. I wish they would just continue to ignore the viewers and tell a solid long story. This is why I would dump the ineffective EPs who have not shown they have been helping in the longterm.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I hadn’t really thought of the Paige/Kayla thing, but you’re right. She’s never really referred to Paige as anything other than “JJ’s girlfriend,” and Paige always think of Kayla as “JJ’s aunt,” but they do have a family tie. The grandmother thing was a little loose and weird, but I can sort of mentally fudge it because Kim has been married to Paige’s grandfather since Paige was, like, 14 and had kids with him already, so I guess it works. WAY weirder to me is that Theresa didn’t recognize Paige until we found out that Eve was Paige’s mom.

        I think they’re taking the no-conflict route with Aiden and Hope, which bums me out. It’s all right there. But even the drinking was handled pretty quickly. They’ve basically introduced a lot of potential Big Obstacles and then backed off them before they became too substantial.

  3. Tony Says:

    Taken in the context of the actual show that is currently being broadcast (as opposed to fanfiction in people’s heads), – love this line

  4. Jamie Says:

    I loved seeing Gabi again. I’m glad to see she’s doing well in prison, and not getting beat with stockings full of oranges, like has happened to others in the past…

    I always LOVE a Horton family Christmas, I look forward to seeing them hang the ornaments on the tree every year. And, I know someone is going to deliver a corny line, but I still eat it up and get a little misty eyed while watching. I thought this year was actually pretty good, here have been years where it has been much worse.

    I was glad to see the shout outs to Nick, and liked that they weren’t all positive. Melanie going over and touching Nick’s ornament and then looking down to see Gabi’s on the floor (awwwww!) was a very touching moment.

    Now that the holidays are over, can we pack Doug & Julie up in the attic with the rest of the ornaments until next year??

    • mykleraus Says:

      I thought it was pretty well done. I just watched Christmas 1997 and 1998, and one of them only had Maggie, Mickey, Mike, Laura, and Abby at the ornament hanging. I think people really sentimentalize the past.

      • kathy Says:

        Good point about fans sentimentalizing the past. People get so concerned where the ornaments are placed on the tree, who gets an invite, is Maggie still a Horton or should she go to the back of the bus. Most of the boards talk about filler like it is a new thing.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Yes! Like, it all adds up to something important, but an entire Christmas doesn’t suck JUST BECAUSE Daniel was sitting on the couch next to Doug or because Mike and Bill didn’t come home for it.


Leave a Reply

