The Walls Are Closing In

Well, this was… I’d like to say unexpected, but given the way Paul has been doing everything short of scrawling I LYKE GURLZ on the wall of his hospital room, it was pretty clear there was something going on under the surface.

Screen Shot 2014-11-29 at 7.27.43 AM

But I’m pleasantly surprised that they went for an exciting twist from the get-go here. Paul and Sonny having a history (at least, I presume that’s what this means — that or he just locks random men in rooms and kisses them, which is not okay) jumpstarts the story nicely. Plus Sonny is all vulnerable, since Will is too busy to send his husband a damn text message. And I’m still impressed that we’ve come so far that a male-male kiss can be the Thanksgiving cliffhanger.

In other news, did Oprah recently visit Salem? “You get an apartment, and you get an apartment, and you… lose your living room and get a weird little study!”

Screen Shot 2014-11-29 at 8.05.53 AM

It’s nice to have a few new sets (even if there’s no universe in which Ben deserves an apartment of his own while people like Marlena and Hope are homeless), but I’m already tired of Chad just spending his whole life hanging out in this random room. On the plus side, it has erased the need to have someone yell, “I’ll get it, Harold!” every single time the doorbell rings.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “The Walls Are Closing In”

  1. Dan Says:

    I really like the new Dimera set. It works for me. While it’s not a huge story, I’ve found this “Chad is the not so secret co-CEO” story really well done. The relationship beats have been really nice from the Victor reveal to Sonny, to the Sonny / Chad conflict, to the Kate / Chad confrontation, to Melanie realizes that Chad is truly a Dimera after all. It has all been really nicely done. What the show needs is just a major driving story…

    I was pleasantly surprised Wednesday when Paul not only recognized Sonny but went in for an immediate liplock. I never thought this show would give any true development to a gay triangle, but kudos for going there. When CM was still around, it seemed like they would actively try to give Freddie Smith the more dramatic material post MarDar. I’m thinking Guy Wilson might actually make me believe Will is more than a petulant child in need of time out.

    I’m sort of disappointed we didn’t get a “Happy Thanksgiving, Will” commercial out of this complete with Paul and Sonny kissing.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I don’t mind the DiMera set, per se, but it’s just weird to me that Chad always happens to be in there and visitors come to him. The living room was a way more natural place for that, obviously. But I have been trying to find a spot in a post to praise the setup of this whole thing with Kate/Clyde/Jordan/Chad/Abigail/Ben. The actual construction of it is great. I’m not 100% sure what the story or rooting value is supposed to be, which is where I think it’s floundering, but the dynamics give me hope that these writers know what they’re doing.

      LOL about the commercial. I was dying at the “Mommy won’t be happy!” one with Eve and JJ last week…

      • Andie Says:

        I don’t dislike the Dimera set either but, it’s so cramped and lacks “natural lighting.” Evidently, they’ve taken from the rich (Dimeras’) and gave to the poor (Eric and Ben). It’s clearly shows which chatacters and s/ls they are most invested in right now.
        As far as Paul, I think Sonny was the reason he came to Salem; Paul googled “Tommy John’s suregons Salem USA” Daniel’s name popped up bc he’s one of two suregons in town. Daniel should stop fretting about “racoon eyes” and start wearing his goggles in the tanning bed, his ability to spot bone spurs on MRIs is diminishing bc he’s burning his retinas. 😜

      • mykleraus Says:

        It makes sense to consolidate the amount of space DiMeraville takes up right now, since Chad is the only one on the canvas. I’m sure the living room set will be back, like the Phoenix himself, when the time is right.

  2. Jayme Says:

    I’m just glad they FINALLY ran out of fucking wallpaper for those sets. I hope this new club on the ‘south side’ ends up replacing Club TBD because those walls give me nightmares.

    Ben’s apartment makes sense to me, especially if they’re not giving Abigail an apt of her own. At least she can hang out there and talk to people her own age, instead of sitting on that dusty Horton couch with a tea towel on her lap talking to her mother about how slutty she is.

    Paul’s got heat! I’m into it!

    • mykleraus Says:

      DEAD.

      This has me falling out of my chair: “instead of sitting on that dusty Horton couch with a tea towel on her lap talking to her mother about how slutty she is.” It’s true!

      I can’t look at TBD. I have no idea what the design scheme is. It’s like four different places smashed into one room!


Leave a Reply

