Stream-of-Consciousness Tuesday

Now there are just random children wandering around the woods proclaiming what a Good Man Daniel is? Ugh.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 4.43.03 AM

I have to hand it to the writers, though. If there’s anything that makes me want to go back to the days of Eric yelling at Nicole for what a terrible person she is, it’s having to watch Daniel scream at her about throwing a football wrong.

And then you have Marlena, bopping around the hospital with hair that looks like she let one of the grandchildren do it —

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 4.33.59 AM

— and telling Jordan that she knows Jordan has something burdening her, and if she wants to talk about it, of course whatever she told Marlena right here in the middle of the hospital with a zillion (okay, five) people milling around would be totes confidential.

For what it’s worth, though, Marlena and Abigail’s confrontations with Anne were pretty hilarious, especially Anne telling Abigail, “I know you have the morals of an alley cat!”

It sure was nice of Sami to leave her bountiful amounts of leather behind when she left Salem.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 4.48.42 AM

So far I’ve seen Abigail in this skirt and Kate in leather pants. What’s next? Jordan administering Paul’s physical therapy in a leather minidress? Julie brings Hope some healing crystals while wearing chaps?

I kind of like Paul so far, though. The actor has an ease about him, and it’s fairly clear what they’re telegraphing with all this ~*~flirtin’ with da ladies~*~ stuff. Also, I hope his nipple is getting separate appearance fees.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 4.40.04 AM

There’s no way this guy is going to pitch again, because even this show doesn’t have the audacity to try and pass off that 8-square-foot bench area as a Major League Baseball park, but he’s lucky (God help my soul for saying this) that Daniel did his surgery. If Lexie were still at that hospital, she’d have taken one look at that bone spur, called time-of-death, and shipped him down to the morgue before the anesthesia could wear off.

Every time Judi Evans appears as Adrienne, she has one more hint of Bonnie Lockhart about her, no?

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 4.38.55 AM

This hair is terrible. If she shows up wearing a bolo tie next week, I’ll barely be surprised. Also, why are they even bothering with this “there’s tension in Justin and Adrienne’s marriage” B.S.? I know we haven’t seen Justin in a while, but I don’t have the energy for another “middle-aged woman’s husband goes offscreen and she gets upset and gets a divorce” storyline, especially since they basically had this story (“story”) for their 2009-10 return. Dear show: I promise not to get upset if you just run a chyron that says, “Wally Kurth is doing a lot of General Hospital right now, so Justin can’t be here.” Look! General Hospital loaded up on my Hulu right after Days, and I had the chance to screenshot this.

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 5.11.43 AM

There he is, with the first actress who played Days‘s Anjelica Deveraux (with whom Justin had an affair and a child!) and who now plays his mother on that show. So that’s horrifying.

One final thought: what is this weird room in the DiMera mansion in which Kate is now receiving visitors?

Screen Shot 2014-11-19 at 5.07.32 AM

It looks like a shrunken-down version of the living room set. (Okay, I know it’s tough to see in this photo, but just go with me.) I can’t tell if this is supposed to be Kate’s room, which has a loveseat and a fireplace and no bed, or what. Did they have to knock down the DiMera living room set to make room for Ben’s apartment? Ugh.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

20 Comments on “Stream-of-Consciousness Tuesday”

  1. Erin L. Says:

    I was trying to figure out if that was the DiMera living room for the entire episode. So distracting.

    My theory is Paul is gay and he will be Sonny’s next love interest. All the flirting is a show.

  2. Andie Says:

    Ugh 😝 they never pass up an opportunity to show Dr. Dan as a good semertian/demigod outside the hospital whenever pissible. I was wondering who that Randy kid is and how he’s knows Dr. Dan, my guess is he must be Maxine’s nephew. A 7 year old boy who can’t tie is own shoes is pretty bleak.
    I don’t get how Marlena was hesitant to take on Clyde as a new PAYING patient because her schedule is so full when she has all the time in the world to dish out FREE advice to Jordan or Abby. Clyde has “Doc” thanks to Paul Norita for not needing a shrink; Paul’s issue is his shoulder not his head. Yes, and Da Nile is not just a river in Eygpt. That nightmare Paul having seemed rather horrifying and I doubt it was about Godzilla! He must have other skeletons/demons buried in the closet. Speaking of being in closets, I think you are on to something with Paul’s sexuality, I never thought of that. 😉 I found it funny Paul flirted like crazy with all the women he came into contact with except for Maxine and Marlena.
    Haha that screen shot of Wally’s Mom on GH makes her look possessed.
    I can’t tell if that was a shrunken down Dimera den or Kate’s cougar cave she uses to work??? My therory over head is low so, they lowered the ceiling and closed in the walls to make room build a new set. It’s sad Ben and Jordan get nice apartments when none of the old vet Brady’s have homes anymore aside from Eric and Caroline living above the Brady Pub.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Aiden’s homeless. Nicole is homeless. Jordan lives in a hotel. All these grown-ass people are living with their parents and grandparents. And yet Ben gets an apartment?! Ugh. I do suspect the DiMera “study” (or whatever) is about making more room on the stages, though.

      And LOL about Marlena not quite having time to fit Clyde in. Girl, you just walk around all day asking people for intimate details of their lives anyway. Which, come to think, might be because she is ALSO homeless…

  3. Dan Says:

    I haven’t been keeping up, but I think this room is the Dimera study. The show is introducing a bunch of new sets so they had to change some of the larger ones. I’m not sure we will be seeing much of the living room anymore because of its size.

    • Andie Says:

      Why don’t they modify Victor’s house? I’m suprised Maggie hasn’t given that stuffy, old, out dated place a makeover?

      • mykleraus Says:

        I’m always alarmed at how the Kiriakis and DiMera mansions are basically just mirror images of one another at this point. The decor is soooooo similar. What I wouldn’t give to have one person on this show have mid-century modern taste or SOMETHING different!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Have they said what the new sets are? I have to say, as much as I’d miss the DiMera living room, I’m so ready to see SOME new locations.

      • Dan Says:

        Lauren Koslow mentioned in an interview that they have added a bunch of smaller sets to the show, and, as a result, they have retired or redesigned some of the others. I’m curious to see what happens.

        Personally, I like the idea of smaller, multiple sets, but I do hope they feature more homes. I’m fearful everyone will end up living at the Beacon Hotel…. err the Salem Inn.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Ah, gotcha. Thanks. I worry about the GL-ification of Days, too (though even with this slimmed-down production model, at least it doesn’t look like Peapack). I don’t think it would be a terrible idea to have an apartment building where all the youngsters — Theresa, Ben, WilSon — had their own apartments, but they could have a base living room set and redress it as needed. That would at least be more palatable to me than when GL was clearly just changing the pillows in hotel rooms and having EVERYONE be hotel-dwellers.

      • Andie Says:

        Check out Eric’s has a new earth toned drab, looking apartment furnished by the bounty of Heavenly Father and Walmart. When he told Marlena he was moving I about jumped for joy but, then he said “I’m moving a few blocks away.” Of course, he’s not leaving; Sarena his is ex from Africa is coming to town. What a major let down, she’s not Sarah Horton or a long lost Brady or even a Dimera kid.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I JUST did a post on Serena and how I wish she were really Sarah Horton!

  4. UnderYourWing Says:

    who the F was that kid and why was he even there looking like a dummy watching a ping pong match…between ping and pong.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I can’t get over the fact that they are just having anonymous little kids wander into scenes to tell us how awesome Daniel is. Ugh.

      • Andie Says:

        I have a hunch that we will see that little kid in a regular role on Days on the future…Just as I was saying, the people who don’t check the “Caucasian, Non Hispanic” box don’t seem to get much air time these Days, but then low and behold there is affirmative action. Paul arrives in Salem; Randy has more screen time than Abe and Theo in the past month.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Where are Abe and Theo?! It’s so weird how little we see them, considering how well Caroline, Adrienne, Lucas, and other long-time recurring players are used.

  5. Dan Says:

    I don’t hate Daniel, but even I had to fast forward through the Nicole/Daniel yoga/football scenes. And I love AZ and it feels like ages since I’ve seen or heard about her getting significant airtime.

    Despite that, I enjoyed a lot of the other stuff. The Kate/Chad material is wonderful. This show does such an amazing job with building real, honest relationships between people that I can still tune in even when the stories are close to non-existent. Chad telling Kate he learned from a master was great, and I really just enjoy the back and forth between them. On a lesser show, Chad and Kate would hit the sheets for February sweeps. Which leads me to….

    Am I the only one who is disappointed in the J.J./Eve affair? This should have been epic, but, instead, its been a bit of an epic letdown. The lack of build towards the affair, the build of the fallout going towards Paige, and the lack of chemistry between KDP and CM makes for a bland story. When I missing the DAYS of Mia McCormick, we have a problem. With that said, KDP has been awesome with Jen Lilley. Their sisters-in-crime relationship is wonderful. I just wish both women had better stories.

    I did like Brady asking Maggie to be his sponsor again. In many ways, I’m seeing shades of the show I use to love during the Higley era, but I’m in desperate need of some solid storytelling. I like both Lilley and Martsolf, but their pairing doesn’t work for me. Both do angst well, in my opinion, and they should have really played to the strengths of the actors. AZ and EM use to do the forbidden love thing so well during the first half of the baby switch (pre-Arianna Hernandez).

    I like how Paul has allowed the hospital staff to interact. I’ve really enjoyed seeing Marlena in a more professional role, which will be necessary since her ‘golden child’ is now in California. I hope they continue to use Marlena in the hospital storylines.

    The Lucas / Adrienne scene was all sorts of a hot mess. I’ve come to respect both actors and characters enormously in the last couple of years, but these scenes really highlighted some of the more annoying aspects of the characters. Sometimes, Judi Evans plays Adrienne as too much of a shrew when the subtext always suggests that Adrienne’s vocalization of her fears comes from her own very real pain. Ultimately, Adrienne is right about Will. If he was just going to write a script, he could have done that from Salem. This is 2014. There is tons of technology to accomplish this especially when this show itself is being written that way. Also, I loved that they had Sonny on the verge of tears while looking at the photos of Arianna. This man has raised this little girl; shame on Will for not sending her back to Salem if he is spending all his time working. Lucas feels a bit out of place sans Sami and Will.

    I’m hoping Adrienne’s comments re: Justin were just a justification for her own behavior. With that said, the show really needs to introduce about three or four males to cast over forty.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Oops, I responded to your Eve/JJ comments in the Serena post, but I guess it all goes together anyway.

      I’ve been worried about Nicole and AZ’s place on the show for a while, but now that we know Serena’s role, it’s pretty clear they’ve just had Nicole in a holding pattern. This stuff with her and Daniel feels like such filler. I don’t mind their friendship, but I don’t like it as such a focal point. Let them be each other’s talk-tos, that’s fine, but stop focusing on whether Daniel deigns to bless Nicole with his company.

      KdP and Lilley are working really well together. I like how tentative their bonding is. Kim’s upcoming visit should be an interesting wrench in all that, too.

      The Kate/Chad stuff has been really strong. Billy Flynn has totally taken me by surprise. He feels like a viable young male lead. And they’re smart to play on the existing Kate/Chad bond.

      I totally hear you on the Adrienne/Lucas stuff. Judi Evans does have a tendency to play up the loud, shouty part of the writing — she’s often playing just what’s on the page instead of imbuing it with anything deeper. (In her defense, she probably has no idea what the point of any of it actually is…) I’m glad Dattilo is being kept around, because as soon as Will’s back in town, Lucas will be very useful. But this weird limbo of them sort of having to play the offscreen story of Will and Sonny’s marital trouble is awkward.


Leave a Reply

