Like Mother, Like Thirsty Daughter

JJ had basically the same reaction to finding Paige in his bed as I would’ve had.

Screen Shot 2014-10-18 at 9.28.05 AM

Although I have to hand it to her: if that was my boyfriend, I’d be breaking into his house and climbing into bed with him, too. (I’m just going to ignore the fact that she got into bed with her jeans on, and also that she seems to think birth control works instantaneously.)

Thumbs-down for getting Casey Moss to do a scene in boxer briefs and having it be in the dark, though. Who is running this show?!

This is also probably the worst conceivable tonal match for the first part of this post, but it pertains to Friday’s episode as well, so whatever: Lucas and Sami’s scenes were beautiful.

Screen Shot 2014-10-18 at 9.24.15 AM

You could feel the history between the characters and the performers the minute Lucas walked into that room. I do enjoy how this regime has written Lucas as sort of a grown-up little shit, making snotty comments and not having the time for anyone’s bullshit — as opposed to the Austin-Lite they tried to make him in the mid-to-late-2000s — but he showed great maturity here with how he handled both Sami and Allie. So well done.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Like Mother, Like Thirsty Daughter”

  1. Andie Says:

    Did Paige let Parker scribble all over that tank top she had on under her shabby hippie gear?

    Sami’s shirt was on inside out you can clearly see the tag. Haha. Sami’s black shirt looked like it belonged to “Dread Pirate Roberts.”

  2. Dan Says:

    I’m playing catch up. The show is reminding me of some of the finer moments of Higley’s last run. The scene with Allie losing it because of her guilt that she still had her father killed me. It’s the first time the show has made me cry in a long time. It was one of those small, unnecessary moments that enhances the story so much. Lucas’ quiet return has also been wonderful. His interaction with Sami and Allie was a highlight.

    There were a couple of scenes before Paige pounced on J.J. that I really liked. Because of J.J.’s fear that he is going to become his father, I like how J.J. has been tormented by the Kayla-Paige interactions, while Paige has been drawn closer to J.J. by his support and love for his family, particularly Kayla. It makes J.J.’s overall arc very strong, again very Higley era. I’m not overly thrilled with either actor, but both are growing on me.

    Also, I believe Paige is naïve enough to think birth control works instantly. However, J.J. should have used that as a reason to postpone sleeping with her.

    With nowhere else really to comment on it, I thought the Chad / Nicole scenes were really strong. Again, another time where the show utilized its past well to enhance the narrative.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I like the intentions they’re writing with — a lot of it seems to be coming from character and history. The JJ/Paige story isn’t working for me as a story, but I appreciate what they’re trying to do. Honestly, I think a Paige recast would go a long way. This young woman plays everything like she just took Valium, and sometimes you can see her making those choices even though the writing seems to be trying to make Paige the anti-Belle, with how she wises up to things quickly and doesn’t sit around waiting to be saved. The story is close, and I like that they’re playing this with JJ, but something isn’t quite clicking for me.

      All the fallout of EJ’s death has been phenomenal. They’re taking the time to play so many “unnecessary” but wonderful beats. This is where this writing team really shines.


Leave a Reply

