Will It Work For Brain Cramps, Too?

Oh my god! Yesterday was like 2010 all over again.

There was a mention of Dario (whom I literally had forgotten existed)! There was that phone call with Invisible Mama Hernandez, who was apparently very distressed that her daughter is going to prison for murder (but not so distressed that she’ll come visit, since she “fell hanging the drapes” one time three years ago and didn’t come to Salem for her son’s wedding, her other daughter’s funeral, her granddaughter’s birth, her son’s coma, etc.)! And then there was this:

Screen Shot 2014-06-05 at 12.14.29 PM

It’s been so long since we had a product placement that I feared we’d never get one again. But there it was, like Old Faithful or Marlena gasping — Midol Complete! Nothing will ever measure up to the majesty of Caroline shilling Wanchai Ferry frozen Chinese food (do yourself a favor and watch that), but I’d sure like to see them try.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Will It Work For Brain Cramps, Too?”

  1. GnuHopper Says:

    Coming soon…Stephano and Victor discuss their love of Depends! (hee!)

  2. Farah Says:

    Camilla has been throwing it out of the park these last few days. My heart actually broke for Gabi. I say this as a proud hater of all things Hernandi. I don’t know why they tried to make that family happened. Hopefully, Rafe (and Bordan!!!) are next.

    • mykleraus Says:

      She’s been awesome. I’m really impressed. And yes – let’s let Rafe and Jordan have a “nice” wedding in the Town Square and GTFO forever.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        I totally hear people on the whole Snoredon, Borden thing … BUT … I hate to admit that there is some potential there. I”ve been convinced for a few weeks that Ben and Jordan killed one of their parents. Then this week’s TBD convo between them revealed some pretty heavy clues that Ben murdered either their dad or the mom’s boyfriend. And Jordan threw down some pretty subtle, but huge, hints that she knows how Rafe feels with having a sibling who murdered someone. So, if it’s true what I suspect about Ben and Jordan’s secret, and if Jordan and Rafe get stepped up as one of the couples to start filling the EJ/Sammy gap, then the JOrdan/Rafe story has potential to get some meaning with them both being siblings of murderers who killed to protect their families, and Jordan supporting Rafe since she’s been there and done that. It could also add depth to Rafes over-the-top Mr. Nice Guy blandness. And between Jordan “saving” Rafe after his coma, followed up by her saving him from murder in his family, I hate to say that it’s all the makings of a future super couple … But then again, there have been plenty of times where I was convinced I nailed how a storyline would play out, and I was wrong. In the old days, it was easier because the writing was so pleasantly consistent. These days these mediocre writers are too all over the place with things. Anyway, just some food for thought about the possibility their might be some home for Jordan and Rafe.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I see what you’re saying. I think the pieces are there. The execution has just been so shoddy so far. I like Chrishell Stause — I just wish Jordan were better integrated, and Rafe isn’t core enough to be her only solid connection. They need to play up her professional ties (Daniel, Marlena, Maxine, Jen) and get those two integrated more.

  3. otherweb1 Says:

    WTF?????!!!!! It’s funny because ever since they let Allison Sweeney direct, started having offscreen convos, etc., I’ve been wondering if their next dipshit move would be to start doing these commercial things again. OMG I was having flashbacks to the 1st time I think they ever did this back in the 90s. I’m still traumatized by Hope opening up a gift box and the camera zooming in on a JC Penney gift card!!!! Except back then, it was just the visual … it was not included in the dialogue!!!!! And twice! Across 2 separate scenes! Right, Midol Complete. We get it! I give the actors credit for doing it with a straight face. This better not become a regular thing! But hey, if it gives them the money to buy back the set for Hope’s house and hire back Jason Cook, Austen Peck, and Jay Kenneth Johnson, then I can accept it. And look on the bright side, it’s not like they made that AWESOME Hope/Aiden moment happen offscreen and instead all we get to see is Hope telling Jen at the Pub “Aiden told me I’m one great lady!” And if there is any storyline justification for it (which there obviously is not), but if there was, at least it gave an opportunity for Abby and Paige to bond over girl stuff because Abby is looking like hell because she’s bloated … not because the guy she had an affair with put a hit on her cousin to keep it a secret, only to have her cousin murdered by her best friend.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I don’t remember the JC Penney one!

      I honestly think these are so funny and want them to do more. It’s just SO ridiculous and there’s no way to do it elegantly. The Wanchai Ferry was seriously the nadir of scripted television. “I know you just shot your fiancé in the head… but I have some frozen Chinese food!!!!”

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Ah, lucky you for repressing the JC Penny memory! I’m still suffering from it all these years later! At least Chex, Wanchai and Midol had some relevance in the sense that EJ and Sammi are entitled to some picnic snacks, Caroline can’t deny customers the chowder because she used it all up feeding the grandkids, and Abby definitely needs something to curb her perpetual high-and-mighty bitchiness and man-hating hen pecking. But Hope randomly whipping out a box of Cheerios at the pub and having a conversation (an elaborate one) about it with Bo .. THEN offering it to Henderson … made ZERO sense.

      • mykleraus Says:

        “The doc says I have to get my cholesterol down, and boy, are these Cheerios a delicious way to do that!!!!”

  4. Erin L. Says:

    As soon as Abigail said she was bloated and cramping I cringed because I knew what was coming.

  5. fluffysmom Says:

    Caroline feeding Sami’s kids Wanchai Ferry was the best! At least the girls discussed Midol Complete with a straight face. I wonder who will get to shill the next product placement.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I have to say – I was impressed with how True O’Brien (Paige) managed to get through that without looking like she wanted to die. Kudos, young lady.

  6. Joanna Says:

    So jarring. So rad! Keep those product placements coming, they are spectacular!


Leave a Reply

