Who Killed Nick Fallon?

The river couldn’t do it, but a couple of bullets in the park finally took out Nick Fallon.

Screen Shot 2014-05-15 at 8.38.47 AM

We all saw the writing on the wall here. They’ve been playing Nick as a psychotic villain for months and months, and this is a pretty textbook setup for a Whodunnit? story. I’m reading a lot of comments about how disappointed people are and how this is a waste of a legacy character and a great actor, but I can’t really call it a “waste” — Nick’s murder has pretty instantaneously created a lead story where there was none. And in an exit interview, Blake Berris explained that it was his choice to leave; he actually extended his contract by six months to play out the rest of this story, and the show double-checked that he wanted to leave before actually killing Nick. Might as well get something more useful out of his exit than “Nick left town!”

I thought Monday’s episode, in which Nick actually died, was really well done. The tragedy of Nick’s decline — not just his death, but how he became this person — has been nicely addressed. Could any of us have predicted this ending for the geek who showed up in Salem eight years ago? Of course not. Somewhere along the line, pretty early in his run, the decision was made to keep Nick a loser, and then to darken that up with mental illness. I think he could’ve been a strong next-generation lead, but this direction has been equally valid. Those scenes of him breaking open with Julie about demons, with the references to his mother, Jessica, and her own struggles with mental illness, and then calling Marlena for help just before he was shot… that stuff was so, so strong. And I love that we got to spend time in the hospital with Julie, Maggie, and others trying to figure out how Nick Fallon’s story turned into this.

Even with Susan Seaforth Hayes’s over-the-top caterwauling (“OH MY GOD, NICK! YOU’VE BEEN SHOT!!!”), Julie has been used really effectively here. I love what they’re doing with the varied Horton reactions to Nick’s death: Julie is pissed and on the warpath; Jennifer and Hope are regretful that they didn’t reach out more; Will, Lucas, and Abigail are conflicted and possibly guilty. This could be some of the best Horton drama we’ve had in a long, long time. (Aside: I’ve read so many comments about how this is meaningless because Nick’s mom, Jessica, and his grandparents, Marie and Alex, aren’t a part of this. I disagree. Could their presence enhance the story? Of course it could. But for all intents and purposes, none of them have been active characters with distinct viewpoints for decades. I don’t think we’d be getting much out of Marie that we aren’t getting from Julie. Visits would be terrific, but they truly won’t make or break this story for me.)

So who killed Nick? I’ll move the rest of the discussion behind a cut, because it’ll contain some casting-related spoilers.

Screen Shot 2014-05-17 at 10.21.33 AM

Oh good. Detective Bump-it is on the case!

If we’re going through the suspect list, a few possibilities stand out to me. Sami, EJ, and Gabi are all leaving the show over the next several months, which makes them strong possibilities for the killer. I don’t think EJ would have done when he’d already hired a hitman. Sami thought the murder was taking place, so why would she have gone out and shot Nick on her own? Gabi is my frontrunner. We just saw last week that she’s been pretending to be under Nick’s spell out of fear, and she seems to be near her breaking point. Plus her going to prison for murder (or going on the run) would leave Arianna with Will and Sonny, because I don’t think they’re sending that baby away with her.

Having Lucas in the line-up makes me nervous, though. He’s not on contract, and this regime doesn’t seem that interested in him — even though I love the way they’ve used him in a recurring capacity — so he could be an easy fall guy. What might give him a reprieve is that, with Sami leaving, Will is going to need a parent in town. I mean, in theory. Right? They’re not going to have both his parents go out in dramatic fashion within months of each other. Or maybe they would. I dunno.

What are your guesses? I’m sure we’re in for months of finding out that Person A went to shoot Nick but got interrupted, and then Person B showed up with a gun but lost it and Person C found it and fired it but the bullet missed Nick, and so on and so forth…

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “Who Killed Nick Fallon?”

  1. eramer Says:

    Oh yeah, I totally think Gabi did it. Although I’m also wondering if each bullet came from a different person.

    I’m REALLY going to miss Nick, and really going to miss Blake. Hoping he moves onto bigger and better things soon ❤

    • mykleraus Says:

      He’s going to do well for himself. He’s so talented.

      I totally think we’re going to get a “I shot him!” “No, I shot him!” thing. It alllllways happens with these stories.

  2. Nicole Says:

    I think sonny did it

    • Dylan Says:

      How could it have been Sonny though? He brought the gun to their house then he didn’t touch it until he brought it back to Victor’s house the next day. And it seemed like Will talked him out of it. Anyway, I guess it could have been Gabi. I highly doubt that Lucas did it. He didn’t even know that Nick was blackmailing them about throwing him in the river!

      • mykleraus Says:

        Lucas wouldn’t make that much sense, but you know they could pull a “I was protecting my son!!!” thing.

        I agree about Sonny (based on what we know so far) — it doesn’t SEEM like he had that gun out at that time. But I’m sure there is plenty we don’t know yet.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I haven’t given him too much thought as a suspect, honestly. I am sure this gun thing will blow up in his face, though.

  3. Jim Says:

    I think it’s Ben, Jordan’s brother. There was a small scene where Jordan stated he had a gun. And, maybe he’s hotheaded enough to shoot Nick to protect Abigail, the woman he loves.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I feel like he’d be an easy answer — but maybe too easy. Ben goes to jail, nothing really changes, you know? It would kind of feel like them chickening out on having a ‘real’ character be the killer.

  4. Molly Says:

    So many people think it’s Gabi but I don’t. That would be too easy of a guess as she almost killed him before by hitting him over the head with a rock and then dumped him in a river with Kate and Sami. She felt so guilty about it so I just don’t see her killing nick. It is so out of character if it’s her

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’d be a lot less likely to think it were her if I didn’t know the actress was leaving. I hope they find a way to surprise us, though.

  5. otherweb1 Says:

    It’s ALWAYS someone you’d least expect, or not expect at all! So I’m thinking it could be Rafe! Either that, or someone who was NOT in the square. Marlena?? Perhaps someone who we didn’t even know was back in Salem … yet! (i.e., Melanie?)

    • mykleraus Says:

      Oh god. You’re so right. I read a spoiler that Chad reappears (as a recast?) — I wonder if he did it to protect Abigail or something.

      • otherweb1 Says:

        Gabbi is the natural for “the person you’d least expect.” And it also would be a good way out for her leaving the show. Either by going to prison or by not coming back from this Argentina modeling gig so that she never gets caught. If that’s the case, it would be so great to see Sonny and Will raising the baby alone. BUT, the fact that it’s so easy for Gabbi would be the last person to be suspected is what could make it obvious that it’s not her. But maybe it will end up being her, because I don’t know how else they would explain her leaving Salem and her daughter …

      • mykleraus Says:

        It seems like the cleanest way to write her out, for sure. And she can always be brought back, with Arianna having the baggage of “My mother went to prison for murder!”

  6. Andie Says:

    Now that football season is upon us Blake Berris has more time to star in some more Bud Light commercials like this one from last fall evidently he’s a Seahawks fan LOL

    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=9geri1mv0M4

    I wanted to see Nick’s parents and some other long lost Horton’s too. It seems Julie, Maggie, and Hope were the only true mourners.

    Hmmm I could possibly see a recast Gabi come back in 10 yrs but, not beforr aged a rebellious, trouble making Ari to 18 or 20 yrs old by then.

    • mykleraus Says:

      How had I not seen that commercial? Thanks for sharing!

      And yeah, if the show is still around, I’m sure Gabi will be part of Ari’s teen angst.


  7. Who killed nick Fallon


Leave a Reply

