The Day That Never Happened

We need to talk about this.

2pyw26e

First things first: LOL.

Once you finish watching that over and over… okay, I’ll wait… still waiting… okay… let’s discuss Monday’s episode. You know, that episode of James E. Reilly Days, a.k.a. Passions, that we were all subjected to.

Actually, calling it Passions is a bit of a disservice, because the first half of the episode was fantastic. It was over-the-top in the best way — raw energy and emotion, with those shockingly long scenes between Sami and EJ. Alison Sweeney and James Scott both brought it during that extended fight sequence, as Sami went from confused to shocked to furious to devastated. I wish we could get scenes of that length and depth more often.

Screen Shot 2014-04-22 at 6.07.15 AM


Screen Shot 2014-04-22 at 6.07.20 AM

I’m trying to remember when I figured out it must be a dream. I think when EJ found Abigail’s pregnancy test. The whole show went into hyper-speed in a really weird way, and suddenly everything seemed surreal and before you knew it, that GIF up above was happening. And then I got really annoyed — because it wasn’t just a dream. It was a fake-out. I remember watching entire episodes in 2004-05 that had Shawn escaping from Jan’s cage and making it home to Belle, only to wake up still in the cage with the story not having progressed at all. It was a flat-out stall tactic then, but this regime doesn’t seem to tell stories in that way.

So what’s really interesting to me is the why. Either a) they needed to fill in an episode with something cheap-ish that could sort of stand on its own or b) they wanted to put this stuff onscreen because we aren’t going to get this sort of fallout when the secret does come out. I can’t decide which feels more likely — with Days, “cheap” is usually the answer, but it seems incredibly sloppy to do an episode like this and then have Sami and EJ’s wedding turn out to be the same sort of thing. So is Sami not going to find out? Is she going to accept it in some surprising way? There was some great, nuanced stuff in that fight, and I sort of have no clue how the actual fallout can top that.

On a lighter note, EJ sure did a good job of predicting what everyone was going to be wearing in real life. “Yes, I’m terrified that my fiancée will find out I cheated on her, but I bet my mistress’s mother would look great in a kicky red dress!” Someone get this man on an Oscar red carpet show. And the only thing maybe funnier than Sami flinging Abigail over the bannister was her shouting, “Congratulations, COOKIE!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “The Day That Never Happened”

  1. Jayme Says:

    I was totally convinced this was the real deal…until Marlena burst through the doors. You’re telling me she was able to tell it was Abigail in that photo from 20 ft away? This woman is twice my age and I can barely read a menu without squinting a little.

    I was ok with the fake out though. Call me old fashioned, but I like my big reveals all dressed up, not in some boring ass blouse/sweater/flats combo you’d wear to the bank.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, true. Though remember how they cheaper out by having Stephanie get exposed to Nathan not at their wedding, but while she was trying on her wedding dress in their living room? I put nothing past the cheapness of this show.

      And LOL about Marlena. “Is that Abigail?!?!” I love how no one questions WHY there are creepy surveillance photos of two people kissing.

  2. Erin L. Says:

    I am quite disappointed that it was a fake out. Because there is no way they can top those scenes with Sami screaming “YOU BROKE ME!” I actually found myself holding my breath and holding on for the emotional rollercoaster that it was. The actors were brilliant and that doesn’t happen often enough on this show.

    I did love that it was a full ep with just this one story line. I think that’s what made it even more emotional because they didn’t bounce to Jen and Dan’s undying yawn love in the middle of it.

    I knew when she picked up the envelope they were never going to let the cat out of the bag that early but when it all started I thought ‘Well maybe we don’t have to watch the pussyfoot around for 6 months.’ I also figured it out when he saw the pregnancy test and Abigail said “Your FATHER’S DR!?” She didn’t know the Dr. was his dad’s employee so that how I figured it out.

    This smells like a Daytime Emmy reel to me.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Total Emmy bait. I really thought the Sami/EJ portion of it was pretty fantastic. My only gripe was that it felt kind of small, sudden, and easy — Sami sees the pics in two minutes and it’s out? But the actual scenes were wonderful. And yes — staying on one storyline does make a big difference sometimes. Though I dread the day they try that with Rafe and Jordan!

      • William Says:

        Speaking to the cheapness it actually wasn’t all that cheap for them. Allison mentioned that for the episode they had a table reading, and worked for hours with the director actually rehearsing the scenes. I held my breath through all of those scenes but Marlenas terrible acting took me right out of that high drama.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Haha. Marlena was my first hint it was a dream, actually. “There’s no coming back from betrayal with SAMI!!!!!”

        I think it was at least an economical episode in the sense that it was way fewer lighting/camera setups, the cast was very small, etc. I guess the stunt thing with Abigail going over the railing was out of the norm, though.

  3. Bren Says:

    This was clearly so that AS can nab an Emmy before she exits the canvas, but I don’t even care because it was damn good and showed how talented she and JS are…and why DH has never won an Emmy and hasn’t been nominated for 30 years.

    • mykleraus Says:

      They were both fantastic. It’s a little weird to me that they had to create a dream to make this possible, though — will the actual fallout NOT be this good?!

  4. otherweb1 Says:

    I might be the only one who thought the acting was totally cheesy? Some of it was actually painful to watch. In my opinion, Allison Sweeney CANNOT act … at all. James Scott is a GREAT actor … except when he has to play scared/vulnerable, then he looks ridiculous and totally unprofessional. He plays conniving and commanding best. Anyway, I knew it was fake early on when they started shouting and kicking and throwing things around … because Days just doesn’t write like that … even when storylines/payoffs culminate and blow up, they are still written very deliberately and the movement is still siphoned off rather than just blown open in a fast and furious blast. Then of course when they got to Abigail’s house it was even more obvious that this was an EJ dream. I believe it was written in for nothing more than sweeps week material … but it’s also possible that since the premise of it was EJs imagining how Sammi would react, then maybe if/when she really finds out, she will forgive him. Also, EJ needed to imagine this reaction because it served as his final motivation to hire a hit man on Nick when he got the photos of him and Abby. And I suspect it will serve as more motivation EJ will need down the line to make sure the Abby affair stays secret. I wonder if he’s going to eventually do something bad to her, because his patience is wearing thinner and he’s getting more rough and even physically violent with her. I can’t wait to see how EJ and Sammi leave Salem …. my guess is they will go off happily married and sail a boat around the world like Hope and Bo did. Then come back in 5 or so years. I don’t think they are going to leave broken up.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I’m thinking they will leave together, too. I have a feeling there will be some kind of twist to it — like they pretend they aren’t and then meet up in their final scene or something — but if they’re both leaving, why not? Let ONE couple have a damn happy ending. We have enough half-couples running around Salem.

    • pau Says:

      Ali Sweeney is a great actress, these scenes were awesome in the way she showed lot’s of range. She is also full of charisma and was really too kind to waste her talent for so many years on this cheap (really cheap) daytime soap.
      p.s: Alison Sweeney CAN ACT. End of story.


Leave a Reply

