The Coat That Saved Salem

For as much as I rag on the terrible wardrobe and makeup and hair and basically everything aesthetic on this show, I figure it’s worth noting when the costumers actually stick someone in something that I like.

Screen Shot 2013-12-28 at 12.40.37 PM

I’m obsessed with this Burberry jacket. Like, would run out and buy it immediately if I had illegal DiMera money and/or a cosmetics corporation that I never actually worked at.

EJ might actually be the best-dressed character on the show. They tend to stick him in suits way too often — not that he doesn’t look good in them, but it’s like the man has a damn uniform — but when they put him in non-suit clothes, they almost always get it right.

Just in case you thought you were on the wrong channel, though, here is Abigail’s friend, who appears to be planning to use her college degree to get cast on a reboot of Jersey Shore.

Screen Shot 2013-12-31 at 6.34.33 PM

Between the leopard print and the hair and the makeup and… I don’t know where to start. So I probably shouldn’t.

Another positive note, though: they’re finally addressing the fact that Abigail has to be close to finished with her college degree. I would certainly hope so! She’s been in college since 2006! How is it possible that med school in Salem only takes three months, but a bachelor’s degree takes 7-8 years?

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “The Coat That Saved Salem”

  1. fluffysmom Says:

    I thought I was the only one who wondered why Abby had been in college for so many years. I think she was already starting college when Ashley Benson was still playing Abby. Glad she is finally graduating.

    • mykleraus Says:

      She was! They really did some weird aging there, I think mostly to accommodate Chelsea’s story. The girls were 14 in the fall of 2004, when they showed up, and then by mid-2006, they were going to Salem U or at least taking classes there. I know they established that Chelsea was 18 somewhere in there, so Abigail was magically 18 too, even though Ashley Benson was like 15 at the time.

  2. fluffysmom Says:

    She was in college as long as Will was in high school.

  3. Erin L. Says:

    I was really expecting that girl to burst out with “I’m Chloe’s long lost daughter!!! I have come to bond over spray tan and eyeliner!”

  4. Simon Parris Says:

    Haha I love this post. I was thinking that the use of EJ’s coat backs up your theory about the river set. Just like the river needs to be shown again so as to justify its cost, so EJ has has worn his warm coat indoors several times so as to justify its cost. Plus EJ wears the lapel flipped up so that we can all clearly see it is a Burberry coat. I have one too but would new flip the lapel up like that! Nor would I wear it indoors!

    • mykleraus Says:

      Hahaha, I’m so glad you found this one. It also cracks me up that he’s wearing the damn thing inside, when half this town is running around outdoors in December in cocktail dresses.


Leave a Reply

