Blessings and Curses

This will never fail to make me cry:

Screen Shot 2013-12-27 at 4.32.20 PM

The Christmas episode was incredibly well done, no? It always delights me to see the Horton living room so full, and as corny as it probably was, the whole speech (and Maggie addressing the viewers and using the phrase “all the days of our lives”) made me so happy. Bonus points: it didn’t even make me want to punch Maggie in the throat, which is rather unusual these days. Oh, Days, you are like a second, very unreliable, insanity-inducing family to me.

You know what else made me cry?

Screen Shot 2013-12-27 at 3.46.50 PM

I cannot with these two young adults sitting around bemoaning their mother’s love life like a pair of old biddies. I have a well documented blind love for JJ, but it just about died the second he grumbled, “I’m upset that Mom is going on a date WHEN SHE’S STILL IN LOVE WITH DANIEL!!!” Who is he, Shawn Douglas circa 1997? Is no one safe from this blight?!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Blessings and Curses”

  1. Joanna Says:

    Those Tom and Alice ornaments get me every year! I love the whole tradition, really. Jack’s ornament, on the other hand, not so much. Jack is probably not dead (again) and I won’t be tricked into crying over fake-dead soap characters.

  2. oldenm Says:

    Yeah they really need to give Daniel a rest.. he’s so boring to watch. And now even JJ is obsessed with getting Daniel & Jennifer back together.. worst couple ever! Wait till Jennifer finds out that Daniel and Nicole are “together” or whatever!

  3. Dan Says:

    I get why they went with Daniel and Jennifer over Jack and Jennifer. There may have been story to tell if they had managed to lure Crystal Chappell back and then eventually worked Chloe/Parker in down the line. There was certainly an incentive to use Jennifer as she was a Horton with two children of the age to play their own storylines. Eventually, when Jack does return, there will be a lot of mess to play out.

    Ultimately. the problem is that Reeves and Christian don’t do middle age angst well. They do light romantic comedy and bond well with the children in their orbits. They should stick to lighter matter. Personally, I would marry them off and let them handle lighter family matters until the day Jack returns to tear it all apart. Given what has happened in the past year, the show needs a stable middle age couple to tentpole the community. I can already hear the moans about using Dannifer as the tentpole couple.

    That said, I would have killed to see a much longer arc with Jennifer going to trial for killing Nicole’s baby.

    Given where we are at now, I think it would make sense to let Kristian Alfonso try to play some of the middle age angst, but that would also require a substantial shift in story structure. In order for this to work, there would need to be someone else in Hope’s orbit to play off of besides a romantic partner. I think giving Doug and Julie a substantial bump in presence would help, but I think now might be the time to introduce J.T. Reiber to really give Alfonso something to sink her teeth in.

    Christmas was lovely. I even enjoyed the stuff at the Bradys, which I thought was really nice. Nicole stopping in and Sydney calling her Mommy Nicole just killed me. Sami realizing Nicole had gone to mass with Eric was just another delightful moment. It was a nice break from the wacky murder hijinks.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Totally agree about J.T. That’s such a perfect dangling thread to ignite something for Hope. I was kind of hoping Liam might be for her (despite being introduced via Jen’s story), but he’s so damn dull that I can’t imagine he’s going to be anything more than a short-term figure. We’ll see.

    • mykleraus Says:

      You’re pretty much 100% right about Jen/Daniel. I think a lot of automatic hatred for “Dannifer” is bitterness that Jack was killed off — but I’m pretty much down for whatever creates good story. My dislike of them is more what you point out: that the story often does not work. Their “middle-aged angst” is so external and fabricated; the characters are both nice and work well together as a functional couple as long as no one is interfering, which isn’t very interesting. Probably the ‘best’ conflict they’ve had was the JJ stuff, because Jen stood her ground and chose her son over this guy. Everything else has been outside forces working to break them up. There wasn’t even conflict over Parker — just over things Chloe was fabricating. I do think they’re getting closer to making this about character now that Jennifer *thinks* Daniel is a sleaze who banged Theresa, but the problem remains that the show is too scared to acknowledge him as such. They seem fixated on making him noble and heroic, when it doesn’t really fit with his history.


Leave a Reply

