Weekend at Nickie’s

So I began this post on Thanksgiving Day… but then, per usual, my wifi wouldn’t work at my parents’ house, and then I went into a food coma, and suddenly it was five days later and I just have a bunch of screenshots and scattered notes.

First things first: those scenes by the river were rather well done, and I couldn’t stop marveling at the fact that there was real water (as opposed to the time Chloe tried to kill herself by jumping off the pier and clearly landed on a gymnastics mat two feet below the frame), but damn if it all wasn’t impossible to screenshot well.

Screen Shot 2013-11-30 at 6.03.20 PM

But look! Real water! Moving!

And Nick is totally not dead, right? I’ve seen a bunch of internet speculation and clues based on Twitter and all sorts of things, but this is so obviously a setup for him to come roaring back and wreak havoc. I really like Blake Berris, and I think Nick could work well as a next-generation villain (and we’ve never really had an evil Horton before), so I’m totally on board with this. I can’t wait to see how this blows up in Sami and Kate’s faces.

I honestly had a little trouble buying that Sami and Kate could be this stupid, despite their well documented histories of total idiocy. Sami just got saved from going back to Death Row. But the camp factor kind of helped, like Kate telling Gabi, “Oh, you’re just new at this,” and Sami proclaiming, “He seemed dead! I’m not a doctor!” and Kate standing there chomping on mints like this was a regular evening on the town (which it basically is, for her).

Screen Shot 2013-11-30 at 5.58.56 PM

Never change, lady. Never change.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Weekend at Nickie’s”

  1. Shell Says:

    Oh I was cackling like I was trying out for Macbeth during the body-dragging scene. Gabby in complete shock/hyperventilating/hysterical was such a hilarious contrast to the Sami and Kate Show. The two woman moaning about shoes and bickering irreverently while crushing underbrush with Nick’s HEAD, while gabby wandered behind with a vague expression was just comical. I could go ‘camping’ everyday of the week!

    • mykleraus Says:

      It was beyond insane. I think leaning into the camp factor really helped, and Gabi is such a relatively normal character that she worked well as a contrast to Sami and Kate. This story actually has me excited following Kristen’s exit, which I thought would take some time to accomplish.

  2. Erin L. Says:

    I freaking loved this! I was astounded that there were actual ‘cars’ that Nicole and Kristin were driving and now a RIVER!?!?! With real MOVING WATER!!! AND A COUPLE SHOTS ACTUALLY UNDER THE WATER!!!! It’s as great as when it was raining!

    But really though, the dynamics between Kate and Sami and Gabi were fantastic. “Oh honey this is just another Tuesday for us…now grab his legs and throw him in.” *whilst munching on mints*

    I kinda like how Sami is poised to become the new Kate. She is sticking her nose into her children’s love lives just like Kate did to her for so many years, which Sami despised, and now she doing the same thing to Will and Gabi. (or the writers are just recycling old scripts again…cuz ya know it is Days)

    I couldn’t wait to get home from work and watch all last week. Usually I wait to watch it on hulu while I am at work the next day but I just couldn’t wait! I haven’t felt like that since the Rafe switch. Now if they could just axe this boooring Danifer story I would be happy.

    Oh and Kate’s Blue Hair is back. It was red for a while but its blue again. I think it may have been blue again for a while now but I just wanted to comment on that because it bugs me.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I appreciate when they pick and choose where to spend the money. I can handle that damned blue room being every place ever (okay, sort of handle it) if I know they’re going to splurge on stuff like this once in a while. It’s been better the last year or so.

      You’re so right about Sami being the new Kate. It’s a MUCH better fit than trying to make Sami the new Marlena, which was the agenda from 2009-2011. And yeah — the blue streak reappeared a little while ago. Is it weird that I actually kind of missed it? It’s just so over-the-top.


Leave a Reply

