A Very Brady Intervention

So here we are: the first Days AK (After Kristen). And look what they got us — Shane and Kimberly!

Screen Shot 2013-11-19 at 8.41.56 AM

Of course, there’s always a weird comedown after a great climax like we got with the Kristen/Brady wedding and its aftermath. I was a little worried to start Monday’s episode, fearing that we’d be back to an hour of Daniel and Jennifer mooning at each other across the nurses’ station while Maggie stood in the background, clapping her hands like an idiot. But so far, so good.

The Brady family intervention for Theresa might not be another “Sex Tape in a Church” scandal, but it’s good, solid Days. I find Theresa interesting, even if I do think she’s been used a little cartoonishly, but anchoring her to a bunch of characters we recognize and know so well really helps. We had Caroline, Kayla, Kimberly, Shane, Hope, and Roman (I was going to complain that he’s the only “impostor,” but the guy has been playing Roman for sixteen years, so…) coming together for troubled Theresa. I loved how they acknowledged what a shitty upbringing Theresa must have had, with Shane jetting all over the world and Kim being such a basketcase — Shane telling Theresa, “Your mother is a very fragile person” was so perfect and also goes a long way toward explaining why Theresa is the way she is. I really hope this marks a turn for the character; she can still be troubled and scheming, but maybe they can tone down the bravado and she can have some actual goals now, too.

The less said about JJ playing that guitar, the better, though.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “A Very Brady Intervention”

  1. UnderYourWing Says:

    …..goes a long way toward explaining why Theresa is the way she is……
    if only i CARED.. zzzzzzzzzzzzz…..perhaps it’s time to give up the ship here.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think a big part of the problem is that they introduced her in the most annoying way — as a foil for Daniel and Jennifer. I kinda wish Theresa’s arrival had created real story for someone like Kayla or Hope.

  2. Shell Says:

    I think it has been a pretty fun week. I roll my eyes every time Jennifer Horton is on screen. I’m fairly sure I’m supposed to be rooting for her, but I find myself hoping ann destroys her life and she only appears on camera as a pile of non-speaking goo in the corner. Even when her actions are justifiable she still come off like a sanctimonious nut. I think I’m still mad at her for causing the death of Nicole’s baby!!! Ok, I know, but there is no way she didn’t put Nicole under a huge amount of stress. Stress that killed her baby!! #teamnicole. Maybe she will breathe some life into 1-Dumbensional Daniel.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I like Jennifer in mother mode, generally. I really, really do not care to watch her and Daniel making goo-goo eyes at each other or being torn apart yet again. They’re too old for this junior high bullshit, and I’m not nearly as invested in them as I am in a couple like Hope & Bo.

  3. UnderYourWing Says:

    hope and bo who???:(

  4. UnderYourWing Says:

    heh!


Leave a Reply

