Hate That I Love You

I wanted to hate this on the grounds that they’re finally doing this story — a story I wanted them to do when Abigail was a teen — when Matthew Ashford isn’t even on the show to play Jack.

Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 1.28.24 PM

But… but… it’s really quite good.

I thought they did a deft job explaining how and why Abigail already knows about Jack’s long-ago rape of Kayla but JJ doesn’t. I love the track they’ve sent JJ on, going from Kayla to Abigail to Adrienne to researching Lawrence Alamain’s trial (I’m not even going to comment on the stupidity of Jennifer carefully storing those Sooper Seekrit Filez in her living room, but whatever) and then going back to Kayla for confirmation. JJ was a total selfish jackass pushing Kayla to open up to him about her own rape, but it’s in character, and Casey Moss sold it. And Mary Beth Evans really layered those scenes with how torn she feels between her revulsion at the past and her responsibility to family.

Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 1.31.12 PM
Screen Shot 2013-10-08 at 1.31.37 PM

Even though I wish it were being played with Ashford around as Jack, the specter of that character and his complicated history is strong. It’s 25 years later, and they’re mining fascinating story from that act. This is the kind of stuff I continue to watch this show for. And, as a bonus, Daniel is only tangentially involved in any of this; it’s a story about Jennifer’s family, and while we’re of course having the Dannifer angle crammed in there, it’s a relatively easy-to-ignore cramming, which is sort of a miracle.

(I hope I’m not jinxing this by heaping on praise…)

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Hate That I Love You”


  1. This has been so beautifully executed. I especially enjoyed Judi Evans’ performance. You could see it wasn’t just about Jack and was about their father raping her also. I wish that would be brought up and we could see JJ deal will this all as the third generation. Especially considering his other Grandfather Bill, also has a past – he raped Laura.

    Oh yeah, also… we met Amanda Corday. Thoughts? Haha

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yes! I thought Adrienne’s part in this was very well done, too. It’s kind of horrifying that all three woman involved in this (Jennifer, Kayla, and Adrienne) are rape victims, but that’s sadly sort of the norm in Salem.

      I’m working on a post that includes Amanda Corday, but I’m trying not to be mean. Trying.

  2. Dan Says:

    The show has done a wonderful job featuring it’s strong female cast. Mary Beth Evans, Melissa Reeves, Judi Evans, Kate Mansi, and Kristian Alfonso have killed this material. Moss is doing well for a newcomer given the amount of material he is given. It has been wonderful seeing this show return to true family drama. It will be interesting to see where it goes from here.

    I think my favorite line was from Adrienne about Jack growing up privileged getting everything he wanted but love. I really think now is the time to bring on Alex Kiriakis and his mama, Anjelica Devereaux. My dream casting would be Linda Dano. I think she would capture some of Anjelica’s wilder elements while make the character emotionally explosive. Imagine Anjelica taking J.J. under her wings while Alex got involved with Theresa and Abigail.

    I hope they acknowledge that J.J. learned about Jack’s rapist past because of Jennifer’s rape trial. I understand J.J.’s anger, but I think if you’re going to use a detail like that to reveal this, you have to play both sides of it. J.J. berating Jennifer when Jack’s past is tied to Jennifer’s is painful to watch. I will say I love how they haven’t gone about ruining Jack. There was a great line last week from Jennifer about Jack “being at his best when talking about himself at his worst.” Such a powerful, honest statement about the man.

    On a side note, I miss Louise Sorel and Crystal Chappell. I wish they were around to play the Jennifer/Lawrence angle.

    I’m curious about where they are going to go from here. The obvious angle (J.J./Jennifer/Daniel/Theresa) has been slowly simmering so I’m not convinced we are going there. Now that they seem devoted to imaging J.J. in Jack’s

    • mykleraus Says:

      I would love for Anjelica to walk back into Salem with Alexander in tow. Linda Dano is a good choice. (Honestly, there are probably far too many actresses who could sink into a role like that.) There seems to have been a real effort to establish Jen’s family as a tentpole of the show, and this is a natural expansion of that — and also of the Kiriakis crew, who are very relevant. Also, if we’re adding to Jen’s clan, I could take any combo of Bill, Laura, Mike, and Jeremy, too.

      This whole Theresa/Daniel angle feels like such a half-assed subplot, like they meant to tell the story and now they’re just kind of going through the motions. I like the idea of a Theresa/JJ pairing down the line, with Jennifer and Theresa hating each other, but in no way does Daniel need to be a part of that. I’m hoping this is just a blip that quickly gets swept under the rug, because there are far more compelling stories to tell.


Leave a Reply

