Messy Messes

Okay, Marge. Get it together.

Screen Shot 2013-10-02 at 8.05.19 AM

Seriously. I appreciate that they’re playing the fallout of this, and I suspect Marge is going to attempt some deranged type of revenge, but her refusal to accept the truth in any sort of way is pretty insane. Of course this was all some elaborate conspiracy in which every person in Salem participated just so that Sami could shoot a random police officer and get away with it. That’s way more likely than the fact that your husband was actually kind of a bastard.

I keep thinking it’d be fun if Marge developed a connection with Lucas, and when she learned that he’s Sami’s ex and the father of her children, decided to use him to exact some kind of convoluted revenge. You know nothing hurts Sami more than seeing one of the men who’s supposed to be dangling from her garters move on with someone else.

And this has nothing to do with anything, except that it occurred in the same scene, but this is a bold fashion choice for a lawyer in the Midwest, isn’t it? (It’s a bit hard to see here, but he’s wearing a very pronounced plaid with a striped shirt. Click to make it bigger and examine for yourself.)

Screen Shot 2013-10-02 at 8.05.40 AM

Did Justin start moonlighting as a lounge lizard when I wasn’t looking?

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Messy Messes”

  1. Dan Says:

    I’m falling behind again. Surprise, surprise.

    Regarding Justin’s suit, yikes! And this is from the new designer. In his defense, might this look better in the typically blue offices that DAYS features? I would think the pattern might help him stand out while not necessarily clashing with the set colors.

    I sort of get Marge’s disbelief. I mean the story is a bit illogical, it is DAYS after all. From the beginning, Sami and E.J. were hiding/tampering/creating evidence to make Joe look bad. Yes, we as the audience know he’s bad, but I don’t think there is any real reason to believe it’s true on Marge’s end. Personally, I’m not even sure if the Gloria Nash story was true backstory or something Stefano fabricated in order to get Sami off the hook. Of course, I’m sort of missing your main point: Sami had to have a reason for shooting Joe. Sami has never proven HOW she knew Joe was crooked, so I think Marge has some wiggle room.

    Regarding Lucas / Marge, I had thought of a similar story for Lucas and Meredith Hudson, the sister of Rafe’s dead fiancée who appeared for a hot second in the summer/fall of 2009. Meredith was a similar psycho and I thought she would have been a good catalyst for Sami/Rafe/Lucas angst once the first round of the baby switch came to a conclusion.

    • mykleraus Says:

      All true. It still bugs me how that mistress came out of nowhere. I just wish they’d planted the nurse once or twice so it would have been payoff when it all came together.

      I’m not sure Sami needs to justify having known Bernardi was crooked, because they proved (“proved”) he was attacking Rafe, right? I just hope this is the end of all this. It’s making my head hurt.

      I love your idea about Lucas and Meredith Hudson! That would have tied things together nicely. I often forget they even gave Rafe that backstory, because it was so random and has never been mentioned since.

      • Dan Says:

        At first, I hated the mistress angle. I thought it was a lame way to wrap up the story. On the other hand, I’m going to embrace the ambiguity; it allows me to believe that Gloria Nash was a complete ruse in order to get Sami off the hook. In general, I have major qualms about Sami’s murder story, mainly the failure of everyone to acknowledge that Sami and E.J. dug their own grace, but the end wasn’t the most aggravating for me.

        I thought the fact they proved Bernardi was on the take was what got Sami off. Trask implied the razor was inconsequential because it could have been tampered with in the process. In the end, it was a classic DAYS clusterf#ck.

        I adored the potential of Higley’s Salem. The problem was the show would build these interesting story directions and then fail to follow through. Did you see the couple photos of Lindsay Hartley and James Scott? And yet they never were a couple onscreen. Similarly, I think I mentioned it was implied early on that Melanie was going to be revealed to be Nicole’s daughter by Trent and the original casting call for Patton’s Will implied Will was going to be a college age jock who caught Melanie’s eye. At this point, I think the plan was for the second act of the baby swap to be Sami learning Melanie was Nicole’s daughter, while winning over Melanie’s love and keeping the secret from Melanie and Nicole. Of course, the Melanie/Will relationship would also have been complicated by Sami and Nicole’s machinations. Of course, none of this actually happened. I think the original Nathan/Melanie conflict (Melanie’s role in Nick’s imprisonment) was going to be the original conflict in the Will/Melanie story.

        But back to Meredith Hudson… I got the impression Emily Hudson was suppose to delay the baby story longer, but, instead, the show went in other directions for whatever reason. I believe Emily’s backstory was going to crossover with Arianna’s backstory. Emily had died on her wedding day after learning some dark secret that would have ruined Rafe’s career. Arianna went to prison for drugs. I think Emily learned Rafe had protected Arianna or something along the lines and Meredith was going to believe Rafe had killed Emily to protect his sister. It’s a shame because I think Meredith had worked at a hospital in Florida so she could have been a precursor to Anne Milbauer. To wrap this long detour up, I thought Emily/Meredith Hudson was going to be a problem for Sami/Rafe.

      • mykleraus Says:

        I definitely thought there was going to be a Will/Melanie connection early on. I sort of fell out of the show in 2008, at the height of RoboJohn/Ava/all that other random stuff. When I came back, Melanie was front-and-center, and Will was on his way back. I thought for sure Sami was going to have to deal with Will having a Sami-like girlfriend. I also thought Will might turn out to be the father of Mia’s baby at first… I will say that I’m glad they brought Will back as 15-16 rather than 18-20.

        I’m a little fuzzy on the details of the Emily/Meredith/Rafe stuff, but yeah, I thought it was going to amount to much more. I remember there also seemed to be some set-up for a Rafe/Carly connection, when she rescued him.

  2. UnderYourWing Says:

    “Here’s all you have to know about men and women: women are crazy, men are stupid. And the main reason women are crazy is that men are stupid.” ….G. Carlin

  3. UnderYourWing Says:

    how Anyone can keep THAT much track of this show is beyond my comprehension of being able to comprehend all/any that detail……or minutiae….it’s insane. no offense to insanity in general or particular…..
    then again I know practically EVERY line in Every Mel Brooks and Al Pacino movie….so, there ya go…..kinda sorta…..in a way.


  4. I loved Justin’s coat!! It reminded me of something the real Justin would have worn (real Justin = the Justin we knew from 1987-1991). 80s Justin was a wild party man-whore. 21st century Justin has been dowdy, vacant, and asexual.


Leave a Reply

