Dribs and Drabs… of INSANITY

So I’m a thousand years behind (or just one episode now, whatever), but I have some scattered thoughts from last week.

Like… it’s nice to see that Abe and Theo have been spending their time at the Salem Costume Mart.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 10.08.39 PM

I didn’t realize they had hipsters in Salem, but in the grand tradition of all things Days, they do it completely bonkers and it’s a 60-year-old and an 8-year-old.

It was also nice of Gabi and Julie to coordinate their ugly outfits (based on the patterns of someone’s mom’s china) before meeting up to talk paternity tests.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 10.10.14 PM

I also loved Sami being like, “You’re listening to Julie? She hasn’t had a paternity test since Nixon was in office!” Because obviously it’s a totally normal thing that everyone does all the time.

While we’re on the subject of visuals…

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 10.12.20 PM

…did Chad use some reject art his father left lying around (look at that chess-y thing behind Rafe!) to decorate the coffee house that everyone just remembered he co-owns?

But nothing could top the glee I (almost) felt at this.

Screen Shot 2013-02-25 at 10.13.44 PM

That junkie demanded Nicole hand over her jewelry, and she took off her earrings, and then he was like, “The necklace, too!” And she seriously said, “It was my mother’s…!” Guys, I swear I could hear her finishing, “…CAMEO!” in my head. But she never did it. Talk about a letdown.

Though there was that gem of a line that came later: “It’s the only thing I have left of my mother’s, and I’m not gonna give it to this crazy hop-head!” Sometimes I feel like there’s a writer or five from, like, Dragnet on staff here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

7 Comments on “Dribs and Drabs… of INSANITY”

  1. UnderYourWing Says:

    if i hear one more time whats her face is scared a paternity test will ‘harm the baby’ i will puke. it’s a freaking blood TEST for chrissakes…. i know its nit picky but some of the sheer stupidities on this show make me insane….. yeah, getting a needle in her arm will harm the baby…….

    • mykleraus Says:

      I think there’s something about how it actually CAN be dangerous, because they have to take fluid or something, but I’m not sure. But of course Days has to have everyone shrieking about it like they’re asking if they can impale Gabi on a sword.

      • UnderYourWing Says:

        i thought about that also after i posted…..that maybe the procedure was more invasive but i was too lazy to look it up on the net……none the less i have kinda had it with gabby already….and nick is gonna get his no matter what he thinks…. he is just evil…….that should be interesting…some year…

  2. UnderYourWing Says:

    ok here: zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz:

    Fetal Cell/DNA Prenatal Paternity Test
    A Noninvasive Prenatal Paternity Test Sampling Only the Mother’s Blood
    Faqs
    This prenatal paternity test uses only the mother’s blood – and samples from the alleged father(s) – to determine the paternity of the child as early as 10 weeks into the pregnancy. No blood is taken from the alleged father(s).

    Unlike an amniocentesis or CVS which could cause problems in the pregnancy and/or fetal injuries, induce labor, or terminate the pregnancy, this test is noninvasive. You do not need to have an amniocentesis or CVS to do this test.

    This test is both cost effective and safe, and is a doctor-recommended alternative to an amniocentesis or CVS
    The collection of all specimens for this test is safe and noninvasive for both the mother and unborn fetus……

  3. Dan Says:

    In the past, I remember people telling me a paternity test use to be dangerous, but I’d imagine things have changed. I didn’t have a problem with the conflict on the show. I did find it humorous that Sami is an expert on paternity tests.

    It’s nice to see that they continue to use Julie in Nick’s story. It continues that nice offscreen relationship they supposedly developed while Nick was in prison. Now, if they really wanted to get me to love them more, they would have Julie compare Nick to her son David. I thought Julie sashaying into Sami’s office after announcing she and Sami share more in common then either would like to admit was soap opera at its best.

    Regarding Common Grounds, I know this is probably unpopular, but I miss the Cheatin’ Heart. It was like a clean version of some of the dive bars I use to hang out in after college. I wish they had let Sonny revamp the Java Cafe and let Adrienne keep the bar. Have you heard Mar of MarDar is introducing a coffee shop to nuAMC? Jane’s Addiction. Because everyone hangs out in a coffee shop in soap land.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I miss the Cheatin’ Heart, too. This show could really use more of a nighttime spot. I do think a coffee shop is a vital meeting place in the contemporary soap world — it’s a viable public setting that doesn’t require people to have much purpose in being there, nor does it necessitate eating a meal. Just feels like the Brady Pub and Common Grounds are a little redundant right now. I would love to see a Chez Rouge type of place again, too.


Leave a Reply

