That’s the Point, Sonny!

Not only are they not backing away from the gay content of the Will/Sonny storyline — they actually seem to be flaunting it.

Screen shot 2013-02-03 at 10.28.22 AM

The straight couples rarely get stuff as explicit as that almost-sex scene between Sonny and Brian. I was truly impressed that Brian managed not to laugh when Sonny pulled away and said, “It would only be sex.” So?!

Someone should probably let Chad know that Brian has taken over his apartment, though.

Screen shot 2013-02-03 at 10.31.10 AM

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “That’s the Point, Sonny!”

  1. Dan Says:

    Chad wishes his studio was as big as Brian’s. I will credit the set design team / production staff for throwing the young people into studios so that they can utilize living area and bedroom area in a single set. Wise move for a show on a budget. I’ve always thought they should have an apartment building that several characters reside in that they simple redress depending on who lived there.

    I’m half-n-half on Sonny’s ‘it’s just sex.’ It’s not like Sonny was living the life of a monk in Salem before Will. Sonny had slept with other guys in Salem. I sort of wish it was revealed Sonny / Brian had fooled around before Will / Sonny hooked up, but I believe that would be a direct contradiction to what Sonny said to Will this past fall. Anyway, I get the point that Sonny seems past the one night stand stage, but I wish it was tied back to the fact how quickly Sonny and Will rushed into their relationship.

    I didn’t like the execution of Brian’s insinuation. It was so one-note on a show that hasn’t been one-note in the past few months. I get that they are playing Will as passive, Sami confronted him about it, but I just hate that Brian walked into the Pub dropped the bomb and left. Really? Why did Brian do that? There was no build. I would rather have seen Will gotten snarky with Brian first and then Brian dropped it in a game of one-upmanship. Instead, Brian looked like an ass for kicking an already wounded Will.

    Never thought I’d end up dissecting a man on man on man love triangle on the most conservative soap still on the air.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I reeeeeally don’t get why they don’t develop a centralized apartment building over the Town Square or something. Guiding Light tried something similar, but they had everyone living in a hotel, which made no sense — but they had a set they could re-dress accordingly, and it seemed like an economical way to show various residences.

      I was fine with Brian spilling to Will like that because it felt like he was annoyed he didn’t get with Sonny and was lashing out. It could have had more shading, but it didn’t bother me, especially because Brian’s POV is so inessential to the larger story.

  2. Dan Says:

    re: apartments. I don’t get it. In the 1980s, Tomlin wrote “Search for Tomorrow” and had everyone living in Liberty House, an apartment building, after the flood. For a show on a budget, redressing the same apartment would make such sense.

    re: Brian. I guess I wish Brian’s POV was more essential to the story. There are legitimate reasons Will and Sonny work, and don’t work as a couple. It would be nice to see a legitimate threat to them outside the baby story. Overall, I’m engaged in the story and am eager to see where it goes.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The main thing I’m not buying about Will and Sonny is that they’re some TRUE LOVE 4EVER couple. They dated for what, two months? I would buy that it feels like true love to them, but they don’t know that for real (yet?). I do hope Sonny and/or Will gets a legitimate alternate love interest at some point, but for what they wanted here — Will thinking that Sonny has moved on, thus motivating him with regards to the baby story — I suppose this works fine, especially because the Brian actor just picked up a primetime pilot and won’t be around long-term anyway.

      • fluffysmom Says:

        Why don’t they move more people into the building where Sami lives?! There used to be more than one apartment in Daniel’s building too.

        I think Brian is cute. I’d like to see more of him.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Remember when Daniel’s current building was in “the bad part of town” and Carrie, Jonah, etc., all lived there? Everyone and their mother (literally) has lived in that building now.

  3. fluffysmom Says:

    Most of Salem lived in that building at one point or another. The rooftop was popular too.


Leave a Reply

