Everything Was Beautiful and Nothing Hurt

I am so happy right now, and it’s all because of this:

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 12.14.28 PM

They actually went to the trouble of doing a real wedding for Gabi and Nick! We had St. Luke’s and actual guests and formal clothing and DRAMA! Chad interrupted the wedding, Nick tried to cover, people milled around gossiping and trying to suss out the truth, and finally, Will had to come clean in front of the whole church. And then there was more.

The fallout has been grand, too. We’ve had gems like:

  • Sami screaming at Gabi and referencing how she recognizes this routine because she pulled it herself;
  • Rafe getting pissed and blaming Will for Gabi ever thinking about the abortion;
  • Victor referencing how this was almost as bad as the time Carrie broke up Sami’s wedding to Austin by exposing the truth about Will’s paternity;
  • Lucas trying to make Will be accountable for his part in this while projecting his own regrets about his own teen fatherhood;
  • Victor hilariously guessing that Maggie’s insecurity came from “a distant in-law in cheap cruise wear”;
  • Kate cutting Billie off before she could say “great-grandmother”;
  • Nick overhearing Lucas admitting that he went to jail to cover up Will shooting EJ;

and MORE. This has been so damn good. When was the last time we had a bride in a white dress breaking down in hysterics on this show?

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 10.46.32 AM

 

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 10.43.27 AM

The answer: Too damn long.

I’m deliriously happy with this show right now. Even with the immediate fallout over, there’s so much spark in Salem — especially with both this and the Kristen/Brady relationship having hit climaxes that are now echoing. There’s a life to the show that wasn’t there a month ago, and it’s so damn nice. On Wednesday’s episode, we had unexpected treats like Chloe and Kristen meeting and Hope’s hilariously weird “straight from the horse’s mouth — and by horse, I mean that B-I-T-C-H Kristen!” Kate is being used, Billie is insanely wandering around town behind her mother, and we even got Stefano on a phone call berating Kristen and referring to Brady as an idiot. Not to get ahead of myself (but I always get ahead of myself), but if this momentum keeps up, 2013 might be as good as 2009-10 were.

Meanwhile, I don’t know if someone on the writing staff shares my sense of humor, but there were two hilarious callbacks to Days comedy gold this week. We got Cameron channeling the spirit of Carly Manning to lecture Abigail about doctor-patient confidentiality, and there was this:

Screen shot 2013-01-16 at 12.15.19 PM

I have no idea if anyone else on the planet remembers this, but I will never get over the time Julie bellowed, “I HOPE WE’RE NOT TOO LATE!” as she and Doug made their return to Salem by barging into St. Luke’s in the middle of Roman’s funeral. (Also, I think they brought a tiger with them, in case anyone wanted to hold a circus in the midst of a serial-killing spree, and we know how that turned out.) I’m just going to pretend that the Days writers are reading this blog, determining what I find hilarious, and finding ways to integrate those things back into the show. Dear writers: if this is indeed the case, I really loved the time Marlena tumbled off the terrace, fell 900 stories, bounced off an awning, and landed on Sami. A reenactment of that is probably the only thing that could make this show even better than it’s been this week.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Everything Was Beautiful and Nothing Hurt”

  1. fluffysmom Says:

    I love all of the delicious soapy goodness this week. I loved seeing a real church wedding with guests. I’m so happy that Days is must see TV again. So much good stuff finally! I love your take on it!

    • mykleraus Says:

      I know they can’t always afford to get this many people in a single place, but I think they need to make the effort for climaxes like this. They did a decent job with Nicole’s lies being exposed, and this one was much better than that. It makes a huge difference in the feel of the show.

  2. Dan Says:

    + 100 to everything you said. An amazing week to be a DAYS fan.

    And this is why when others rally for a new headwriting team, I’ve kept the faith. The show is finally hitting its strides and the foundation for future explosions are there. Now that the main players are positiond, I’m looking forward to where we are going to go from here.

    Reviving MarDar’s Will shot E.J. twist in the baby story is wonderful because you know it will certainly screw over the E.J. / Sami reunion once E.J.’s blackmailing Will over the secret comes out. If I have to endure the endless chronicles of Sami’s coochie, I want Sami and her harem to be reactionary characters.

    It’s dawned on me that Eric being a priest was probably a budget decision as well. If Eric is a priest, they have a reason to show St. Luke’s on a regular basis besides weddings and funerals. St. Luke’s is a fairly large set so if they can have multiple scenes on the set, I assume they can use it more. When was the last time a “Days” couple actually married in the church? Nicole / E.J. 1.0.?

    In response to your question about hysterical brides, I believe the answer is Stephanie Johnson’s paternity confessions before her wedding to Nathan. Some of my favorite “Days” scenes ever. Sony really should put out a Hysterical Brides DVD with Stephanie, Gabi, Sami, et al.

    Excellent blog entry. I’ve been waiting for it since Monday and you didn’t disappoint.

    • mykleraus Says:

      I know you and I are probably the biggest TomSell defenders out there, so I’m kinda preaching to the choir here, but I’m so with you. You could tell they were setting up for something (not always as elegantly or effectively as they could have, granted), and it all made sense here. Even the lovely little scene of Eric bemoaning what a mess his first wedding as an officiant was and Caroline comforting him — those are the fallout scenes I want to see, and they don’t require anything more than some forethought and careful writing.

      I actually thought of Stephanie as I wrote this entry, but I found that reveal a little disappointing just because of how they staged it. Because she was just trying on the wedding dress at home and no one else was present, it kind of felt like “Crap, we can’t pull together another wedding, so we’ll just take some shortcuts.” I hated how Nathan left, had an offscreen confrontation with Ian, and came back to yell at Stephanie. The pieces were all there, but it didn’t land as well as it needed to for me. (That said, the writing within the actual scenes was very strong, and both Hennig and Hapka was REALLY good. I just wish it had been more climactic or public or something.)

      And I think you’re right about EJ/Nicole round 1. I can’t think of anyone else getting married in a church since then. Philip & Melanie’s wedding wasn’t bad at all, with actual people present and Mel almost going AWOL and then Carly shooting her, but it was awkward in the Kiriakis living room.

  3. Alana Says:

    YES!!! This week totally reminded me why I love Days. The humor, the drama, the history. It was AMAZING. For the first time in I don’t know how long, I got to be on Sami’s side (Gabi’s “I’m a good girl who does bad things” routine is getting old, and I loved seeing her really laid out). Love love love love it. My favorite one liner besides the cruisewear thing was Victor telling Sonny that Sami was likely forgetting the “inconvenient truth” of her past. Hilarious.

  4. fluffysmom Says:

    I loved Victor’s inconvenient truth line. I’m waiting for someone to call Sami out on her many paternity secrets.

  5. Erin L. Says:

    I am actually finding myself excited to watch the show again like I was during Nicole’s fake pregnancy and baby switch. Not so much fast forwarding any more.


Leave a Reply

