A Christmas Miracle

In the spirit of Christmas, I’m going to run down a list of some Days-related things for which I’m grateful. This might require me to pause several times to refill my wine glass/finish the bottle, so bear with me.

I’m grateful for the sense of community and history in Salem. As up and down as the storytelling might be, that core of what Salem is, what the Horton family represents, and what this show has meant to viewers has always been preserved (which is a miracle in itself, given the decision-making behind the scenes). For example, I didn’t think Maggie addressing the camera was corny, but touching.

Screen shot 2012-12-27 at 5.19.09 PM

I love that we have Julie, Doug, Justin, Adrienne, Caroline, and others floating around (like Maxine showing up at the Horton celebration!) to enhance that feeling. It really makes an enormous difference in the texture of the show.

On the same note, how wonderful was that little moment when Kate answered the phone and it was Bill on the other end? It was totally unnecessary for story purposes, but it was such a great nod to history.

Screen shot 2012-12-27 at 4.55.50 PM

(Am I crazy for hoping that this means the current writers recall how good John Martin was during his brief 2010 appearance as Bill and might be thinking of bringing him back?)

I’m grateful that Kristen is back. Eileen Davidson and her troop of characters were a big part of what got me into Days in the first place, and she’s brought a certain spark with her that can’t be discounted. Her return has also breathed some life into John and Marlena (and a somewhat fresh dynamic — go figure!) and even Brady.

While we’re on the subject of Brady, I’m grateful that Madison and Ian are gone and just about entirely forgotten.

I’m grateful that Jennifer’s hair looks decent for the first time in years.

I’m grateful that we got to see Stefano in a Santa hat (?!) —

Screen shot 2012-12-27 at 4.11.39 PM

— so much so that I’m not even going to gripe about how stupid it was for the DiMera “kids” to  gather in Kristen’s hotel room instead of the DiMera mansion, or WHY THE HELL IS STEFANO STILL IN EUROPE AND WHAT IS GOING ON WITH JOE MASCOLO IF HE’S FILMING SCENES BUT NEVER ON???

Oops.

I’m grateful for the representation of Will and Sonny, both as characters and as a couple. In spite of all the blunders Days has made, they’ve proven their commitment to featuring these characters and telling their story (even if that story is as slapdash as most of the other crap in Salem — hey, it’s equality!). It’s something I genuinely never expected to see in Salem, especially in such a non-token capacity.

Most of all, I’m grateful that I still have “my show.” These soaps have been dropping like flies, often rightfully so because of shoddy writing and mismanagement. But Days is still kicking, and it still feels like Days, and the pieces are generally in place for it to be as kickass as it was in 2009-2010. So let’s get on it, show. I want to be able to write these sorts of sentimental lists and mock the crap out of you for years to come.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “A Christmas Miracle”

  1. Joanna Says:

    Here, here! Agreed on all points. I loved Maggie talking to the camera. I legitly teared up numerous times during these Christmas episodes. Any close-up on the Tom and Alice ornaments will make me misty-eyed. Will and Sonny’s mistletoe moment was totally natural and sweet, and only stupid Nick was flustered by it. The rest of the Hortons recognized it as the chaste, family-party appropriate smooch that it was.

  2. fluffysmom Says:

    I really liked all of the off screen character mentions. Sometimes I feel like they want us to forget characters ever existed once they leave Salem. There are a few I’d like to forget ever existed.

    • mykleraus Says:

      It adds so much texture to the show… and it’s free! Do you hear that, Ken Corday?!

      (Honestly, since about 2009, they’ve been great about this stuff. When I started watching in the mid-90s, they never even mentioned the off-screen folks.)


Leave a Reply

