Appendicitis Would Be More Fun Than This

Jennifer, I feel the same way.

Screen shot 2012-12-14 at 8.17.10 AM

Seriously, what in the hell is going on with this show? We’ve fallen into one of those bizarre lulls where it feels like nothing is happening even though stuff is happening every day. The Kristen stuff, regardless of how you feel about the Kristen/Brady pairing, at least has momentum and stakes. There are secrets, people are taking actions, etc. But the other two main stories right now… yikes.

I was a big proponent of the Jennifer/Daniel/Nicole story when it was about Nicole’s pregnancy. It had glitches, but I thought the drama worked and was an interesting use of Jennifer and her grief over Jack. But now that the baby drama has been cleared up and the focus is on the “great love” between Jennifer and Daniel: I do not care. At all. I found them pleasant enough during the first go-round, but this is just so deathly boring. I don’t care about Daniel’s hands, I don’t care what Maggie thinks, I just don’t care.

Other things I don’t care about, at least not nearly as much as I think I’m supposed to: whether Gabi and Nick get married. Who gives a shit? I liked the idea of this pregnancy story, in that it ties Will/Sonny in with Gabi as she tries to move forward with her life. And I see the potential for lots of interesting complications down the road. But I’m not even sure what I’m supposed to be hoping will happen. If this wedding falls apart… The kid gets to be raised by Gabi and Nick anyway, and also by Will? Is Sonny seriously going to dump Will because he had sex with a girl before they got together? I can see all the secrets spiraling into something interesting, but right now: Snoozeville. Right now, I’m basically watching a story about Sami helping Gabi pick out flowers while Eric teaches the couple about how pre-marriage counseling works. Oh, and Will is walking around the Pub being shifty.  I swear, if anyone gets offered a job modeling cosmetics, I might do something rash.

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Appendicitis Would Be More Fun Than This”

  1. Dan Says:

    I’m playing catch up on last week’s episodes. I felt like most of the stories are moving. There was a lot of nice plot movement in the younger story with Chad revealing to Sonny Gabi’s role in Melanie’s stalking, Maybe they’ve waited to long to play that beat, but I really liked all that came out of that. It gives Sonny a reason to be suspicious of Will / Gabi. There was also some nice Justin / Chad interaction in the fallout. I think I’m surprised by the motivations and character interactions.

    I also was surprised by some of the John / Marlena material. I found it enjoyable. Marlena admiting she feels she cannot act in her normal ways around Kristen was fascinating and helped bond Marlena / Eric. I like the Eric / Marlena bond and I hope they play it more. It would be nice to see more of that nuclear family (Marlena / Roman / Eric / Sami) as Marlena’s other family (Marlena / John / Brady) gets decent play.

    Has anything particularly earth shattering happened? No. I am hoping we are building toward something.

    • mykleraus Says:

      It all just feels oddly sleepy to me. I’m not sure why. I think there are a few leaps in emotional logic that I haven’t been able to make fully, which isn’t helping. The intermediate beats of Gabi’s pregnancy story are interesting to me, but the overall stakes aren’t quite there for me. But there are foundations lain if they do the work to kick stuff into gear.


Leave a Reply

