The Saylum Wimminz Buk Klub

“HESTER PRYNN WAS A STRONG INDEPENDENT WOMAN JUST LIKE BEYONCÉ, Y’ALL!”

I’m at a loss for words, so I’ll just quote our very own Roman Brady: WHAT DA HELL?

“Yes, I was just incarcerated for murder like two days ago, but it was actually a good thing, because I had time to finish reading The Scarlet Letter for my book club. I hope Abigail remembered to pick up the crudités!”

In what world are Hope and Billie close enough to be in the same book club, too? I know they’re on good terms now (because Billie is not currently attempting to steal Hope’s husband), but that seems a little… forced, no? I’d question when this thing started, but between Jen, Billie, Adrienne, and Kayla, they’ve all been offscreen enough during the past year to make that part of it plausible.

You know what? I’m just going to leave this screenshot of Billie as my final word on the matter (pardon the Hulu writing, but this was too good not to use):

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “The Saylum Wimminz Buk Klub”

  1. Dan Says:

    If you look at it in terms of Jennifer being the central focus of the group, then I think it works. Kayla and Adrienne are Jennifer’s sisters-in-law, Hope is Jen’s cousin, and Billie is her friend. Was it bizarre? Yes. More bizarre was there choice. The Scarlet Letter? Really? I liked the connection to Eric / Nicole and even the Gabi storyline, but the whole set up was as bad as that awkward breakfast between Carrie, Sami, Lexi, and Jennifer.

    • mykleraus Says:

      You’re right. The group made sense, and it was nice to see all those women together. It was LESS insane than that “breakfast club” that we never heard of before or after that one episode, which I guess isn’t saying much.

  2. Joanna Says:

    I LURVE that book club and want to join. It was something that real people actually do, in like, their real lives. Sure, it came out of NOWHERES, but I’ll take it as a little slice of realistic life injected into the usual Salem mayhem. P.S. Your spelling of the book club is maj. amaze. You’re a funny kid.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Ha, thanks. I figured that’s how at least 60% of them might spell it.

      I like the slice-of-life stuff, but it’s often so hilarious in contrast to how these people spend their days. Seriously, when was Jennifer settling in to read a book, between mourning her husband and running all over town harassing a pregnant woman and Daniel?

  3. Jayme Says:

    This was brutal. I put this scene in the same category of the ‘Sonny wants to start a speaker’s corner and wants John to talk about boning Kristen’. We will never see or hear about this bookclub again.

    Furthermore, way to take 5 of some of the most famous female characters in daytime and have them in the most boring scene imaginable. AND it was in Alice Horton’s house. They might as well have been at a quilting bee.

    • mykleraus Says:

      It was just sort of SO mundane in comparison to what these women are usually running around doing. I don’t have time for a book club, and all I do is go to my normal job and go out drinking and go to the gym (and write about this ridiculous show). If I were spending months at a time being brainwashed into being a crazed princess or mourning the love of my life or whatever, no WAY am I finding time to read the classics with my pals. (Also, don’t give me the audiobook excuse, because none of these people ever drive anywhere!)

  4. Jayme Says:

    SAME HERE! Remember those couple of scenes with EJ and Sami just hanging out, drinking wine and just shootin’ the shit? DO THAT! Or at least have them reading something more topical like 50 Shades of Grey. Mind you, the show tapes so far in advance that I’m sure it wasn’t even published yet. The Scarlet Letter was probably a new release.


  5. […] she take Billie’s place? What, is it written in the Saylum Wimminz Buk Klub charter that, “at any time, no fewer than two (2) members must have been forced into drugs, […]


Leave a Reply

