Fun With Parole Hearings

What I love about soaps: that a character who hasn’t been seen in 30 years can just pop back in (played by the original actress!) as a totally natural fit for the current storyline. Hi, Jessica Fallon!

What I also love about soaps: that Hope can have multiple lengthy conversations with Nick about his prison term for pills-induced psychosis and violence, without even needing to mention her OWN recent prison term for pills-induced psychosis and violence. Because, you know, it happens to the best of us.

I’ve seen mixed reactions to this Nick stuff around the internet, and while I admit that five straight days of “No, Nick, you have to go to the parole hearing!” and “Melanie, aren’t you scaaaared of Nick Fallon?” has been rather tiresome, I really love this as a scenario. We’ve had such fun, varied interactions — Julie and Maggie at odds, Marlena consulting with both Nick and Mel, Chad getting a little DiMera-ish as he tries to protect Mel — and it picks up seamlessly not only from where Nick’s story left off in early 2009, but also from Melanie’s most recent story. Plus I don’t think anyone has mentioned Sami at any point during these scenes, so, A+!

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “Fun With Parole Hearings”

  1. Dan Says:

    I love how messy it has all become. I like how the news has spread through Salem the way it use to on the soaps. Similarly, I find myself shocked that the show is still having people find out Carrie and Austin left town because it was sudden and the show is treating it as such. I also like the way people are slowly finding their way to Jennifer and Brady to give their condolences and learning Stefano is alive.

    As you’ve said, Nick’s introduction is seamless. Building this off of the Andrew story was brilliant. I particularly loved the moment where Melanie told Julie she didn’t get the letter because she was chained to a pipe. That actually made sense! Maggie being torn over her love for Melanie and her love for Nick was good. I died when Maggie said, “No I took the boy in because I felt luke warm about him.”

    I’m just thrilled that the show seems to be developing something over the course of multiple episodes. Back in April, I recall meeting Cameron, revealing he was Celeste’s secret son, bumping into Abby, and having Lexi learn she was dying in the course of an episode or two and then not being seen again for at least a week.

    • Dan Says:

      I also wanted to mention I was shocked they remembered Nicole was Trent’s widow because I certainly had. I thought Nicole playing that angle worked well and I was impressed in how the writer played that.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Yes! Those are the touches I love. Doesn’t have to be some big, huge thing, but it’s such a natural ripple to play, particularly given her tie to Daniel.

    • mykleraus Says:

      The pacing and the “ripple effect” seem much improved, on top of the actual content. That stuff helps me enjoy the show even when the actual stories might be, er, not brilliant.

      • Dan Says:

        When I rewatched Wednesday’s episode, I noticed Hope returned to see Nick and mentioned her own problems dealing with life in prison and her pills. It was actually a really well done scene.

        Start around 29:20

      • mykleraus Says:

        I missed that! I can’t decide if I’m pleased or disappointed. 🙂

  2. Kathyj Says:

    Dan – Totally agree and wonderfully said. I want stories not people jumping into bed just because they can. I guess the Sami/Rafe/EJ/Lucas people must have their due – give them some of the air time but not all.

    • mykleraus Says:

      There’s no reason those characters can’t be in actual stories that don’t involve Sami playing musical beds. The baby switch was one of the best stories on this show in the past two decades. They need to give them something richer than “Who will Sami be with?”


Leave a Reply

