Just Be Glad She’s Not Singing

So Julie sits Lucas down and tells him that Nick Fallon — the charming nerdy Horton cousin who officially won our hearts when he killed Willow Stark but then took some of Hope’s pills, went nuts, and abducted Melanie after murdering her father — is up for parole. And Lucas is like, “That’s good for Nick, but I’m not sure Melanie will be so happy about it.” And Julie’s all, “The Hortons need this! And fuck Melanie! We OWN THE TOWN SQUARE!”

Then she tracks Melanie down and does this whole “I know you care deeply about Abigail, and she just lost her father and really needs her family around her, so if you wouldn’t mind, could you please help expedite the release of a man who almost raped and/or killed you?”

And it was great! It felt like vintage Julie — manipulating for a purpose that she sees as totally justified. I could see Sami pulling the same stunt in 20 or 30 years. As you can see in the above photo, Melanie was not as pleased… to which I say, it was still more tactful than the time Julie barged into Roman’s (I think) funeral and screamed, “I HOPE WE’RE NOT TOO LATE!!!”

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Just Be Glad She’s Not Singing”

  1. Dan Says:

    The stuff with Julie was amazing.

    Regarding Reilly’s Julie, despite my dislike of James E. Reilly’s writing style, I will say that he was always very fond of the Horton family and often tried to reestablish their presence on the canvas. That said, I found his interpretation of Julie to be immature and downright nasty at times. It amazes me to think that the performers who played out the Julie / Bonnie feud are giving stronger performances much different from the ones they delivered under Reilly. I prefer Tomlin and Whitesell’s version of Julie, acting on impulse without thought to protect the ones she loves. Hopefully, we’ll see more of this.

    I like how the story is growing organically out of the Andrew kidnapping situation and Jack’s death. Julie’s involvement with Jennifer after Jack’s death gave her plotting Friday a bit more weight as Julie is protective of her family. I’ve always wanted them to feature Maggie and Julie more as yin and yang matriarchs of the Horton clan. Maggie more traditionally maternal, while Julie not being afraid to deliver some tough love.

    I also liked the way the material was delivered. Labine or Lemay said the best villains believe what they are doing is the right thing even though they are doing something that is wrong. This was clearly evident in the way this set of scenes played out and I cannot wait for the next installment.

    That said, I do wish they would’ve recapped Nick’s backstory a bit more given that those events happened several years ago and some new fans may not be aware of the history between Melanie and Nick. BTW, I post on the SON boards as dc11786.

    Signed an unapologetic Tomsell fanboy

    • mykleraus Says:

      Reilly definitely got certain visions of characters in his head and didn’t deviate. Julie was Loudmouth Old Meddler, so that’s what we got especially during the SSK storyline. On the plus side, as nutty as the stuff with her and Bonnie was, at least it was about her wanting to protect Mickey and the family.

      I’m hoping we get a bit more of a recap when we see Nick. I’m really excited about his mother Jessica’s visit! She had pretty serious mental health issues, too, so I hope they tie that all in.

      Oh, and I post on SON as… Michael. Very mysterious! 🙂

      • Dan Says:

        Reilly’s characterization could be one note and I could tell he was one of the few writers that had a genuine love for the Horton family. I just wish his stories had a bit more pep in them.

        The only reason I mentioned SON was because we both commented in the Nick / Melanie thread and I’m never sure if people realize crossover connections over the Internet. I find your posts on that board interesting as well.

        Hopefully, I haven’t come off as too much of a nutcase, but since we are talking about Julie and Nick at least I’ve remained on topic.

      • mykleraus Says:

        Not a nutcase at all! I mean, besides the fact that you willingly watch this show. 😉

  2. Jayme Says:

    I need to find a screencap of Julie after the explosion when Jen told Adrienne about Jack’s death. She looked INSANE. And they cut to her TWICE!

  3. Tony Says:

    This post , bravo randomly one of the best I’ve ever read on the blog .


Leave a Reply

