Every Day Should Be a Days-aster

Well, that was a good party, wasn’t it?

Oh wait. It was an awesome party.

Seriously, this show hasn’t done something of this scale in, what, four years? The last thing like this that I can remember is the plane crash that killed Grandpa Shawn.

I knew there was a BIG EFFING EXPLOSION coming, so maybe that colored my view of the episode, but there seemed to be actual tension building throughout, in a variety of storylines and locations. I thought Roman was going to shoot Sami accidentally. I thought Nicole would be the one who wound up trapped in the elevator. I thought Gabi would kill Andrew to shut him up for good. (Of course, because she’s an idiot, she instead risked her own life to help him, presumably so that she could tell him not to say anything. Like I said: idiot.) Plus we had Kate’s barbs to Lucas, Doug and Julie being cute, and Kayla desperately trying to hump the recently widowed Abe to the tune of a real, actual song, “I Only Have Eyes For You” — and not even a Kelly Moneymaker cover of it! Is the budget okay?!

The quick-cutting in the final sequence was really effective. To go from Madison being hurled against the wall, to the chandelier maybe falling on Daniel, to the kids down in the tunnels, to Abigail in the elevator, to Sami falling off the catwalk — well, it actually has me excited to watch after the Olympics, and not just to make fun of it.

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Days of Our Lives, Soap Opera, Television

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Every Day Should Be a Days-aster”

  1. Jayme Says:

    Eeeeeeee!!!! This episode was SO EXCITING!!! I don’t even care if the logistics of the explosion don’t quite make sense (the tunnels explode and fireballs come shooting through the ballroom? Is the ballroom underground too?) Oh well, I couldn’t care less! They owed us a big ol’ explosion since the safe house blow up was pretty much a blinking flashlight in Roman’s eyes.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yeah, I don’t think the fireballs and all that crap are ever going to make sense, but I’m just telling myself that a gas line blew and I guess that can be the result. Whatever — for once, it was worth it!

  2. Jayme Says:

    Best Marlena screen cap, ps. Now this bitch knows what’s important; that plate is totally shielding her hair!

  3. Alana Says:

    I really liked it too! I legit didn’t know what was going to happen, and there were so many moving pieces that actually made sense together (Brady no showing the wedding because he is saving Melanie, Sami no showing the event because she is with EJ running from Roman). We watched the entire explosion sequence in slow motion and it was amazing. Marlena flinging her plate of food behind her head was my favorite part.

    • mykleraus Says:

      Yes! Everything actually made sense! And we didn’t have to sit through a week of everyone aimlessly milling about the party to get to the cool part.


Leave a Reply

